We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Meal”

The Shepherd's Rest Inn
Ranked #12 of 57 Restaurants in Todmorden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A traditional country inn, with real fires, dog friendly area, beautiful scenic views, traditional home cooked fresh food, lots of parking and real ales
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a lovely meal outside on a lovely Sunday Afternoon, food was wonderful, great outlook, service was good to say it was very busy, drinks a little expensive but the food reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    82
    26
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Waht more could one want?”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Five of us booked for lunch. A good choice of meals available. We each chose something different and each was of generous size and good quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancelot37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good. Only slight room for improvement.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Excellent initial reception. Although no booking had been made, we were greeted warmly and shown to a suitable table. Gareth was very experienced and recommended a brilliant beer. Well done. Food choice was fabulous and the quality and quantity were great. Only slight fault was not enough vegetables and too much gravy on my sides sunday roast but my pork steaks with black pudding and roast apple stack was the tops! I have marked tight and will let you know of any improvements in the near future as I will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wont be rushing back!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

After reading the reveiws i had high hopes which quickly crashed! Menu is far to large, it seems quantity of dishes available takes priority over a few good quality options. Me and 3 friends visited last week and although three of our meals were acceptable my friend who had ordered a simple cheese and onion pie had to send her meal back 3 times as the pie was cold in the middle, the first time you can forgive but for it to be served a second time still cold is beyond a joke. The gravey boat accompanying it was also cold, as were the chips on the other dishes we recieved!! The waitress however was quick to try an resolve these issues And imformed us thAt this was the 2nd time a pie had been sent bk that night for being cold and was quick to remove it from the bill. Overall what appeared from the outside to be a lovely county pub turned out to be a posh wetherspoons!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstiejade89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good value pub grub”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff were great, really helpful. The food was good pub grub at good prices. They even gave us some bar towels to dry the slide and swings in their kids play area ( which incidentally looks almost brand new).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shepherd's Rest Inn also viewed

Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Shepherd's Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing