We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paul the welshman”
Review of The Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Queen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Todmorden
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“paul the welshman”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was booked into this hotel by my company as I was told in was the only hotel in Todmorden on arrival it looked o.k. however looks where as far as it went after being given my room key and entering the room the first thing I wanted was a shower turned it on and a dribble of water came out took me ages to shower as the dribble did stop occasionally . went to turn on t.v.no remote also some of the lamps in the room did not work .When I told the manageress about these problems with the room .(the one with red hair she has a real attitude problem) She replied that that was just the way it was with the showers and as far as the telly remotes go there are not any .However she did say that she would get the lamps fixed it never happened .The food is just average and takes a long time to arrive Because I was just staying Monday to Thursday night I decided to just get on with it. However when my company told me that I would be staying for another 8 weeks that was it I found another hotel and moved there. All the problems with the rooms at this hotel could be put right quite easily if they wanted to but it seems that the owners /management have no interest in doing so . I would only stay at this hotel again if I could not find anywhere else in the area .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    57
    40
    14
    14
See reviews for
32
76
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brixworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We popped in for a casual drink. It has a very comfortable and well furnished lounge area up a flight of stairs. The Hotel itself is near the top of a short steep hill. The drinks were fine and pleasantly served.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Den C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

On arriving the hotel is in a great location next to the station and apon entering it is very nice inside. The girl behind the bar was most helpful in booking us in. The room was described as a classic twin and the photos on the website are inpressive, however our room was very small more of a single with a double bed, but was clean and tidy. The shower was the first disapointment as it bearly dribbled out water, there was no sign of a remote for the tv, i went back to the bar to ask for one, the nice girl had now been replaced by a pink haired one who told me there are no remotes as guests steal them, on asking her how am i to operate a tv mounted on a wall without one she said there are some buttons on the top but i would have to stand on a chair to reach (H&S issues), i also asked for a hair drier to which she said she would bring one up, but it never arrived. Website also states wifi in bar, there is not. The avertised home cooked food is no better than pub chain grub, Chicken Salad with what tasted like previously frozen chicken, but it was cheap. Sadly breakfast was no better because of poor quality Ingredients.

Room Tip: Room 8 is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossendale, lancs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Generally a great experience. Easy to park, simple, friendly check in / check out at bar. Arrived in room 5, very spacious, clean, fairly newly decorated, well thought out layout, lighting etc, and good quality, comfortable bed. Breakfast was well presented and served promptly.
There are 3 very minor reasons why this gets a 4 not a 5.
1) Rooms 5-10 are over the main bar, and can suffer from noise until the bar closes. If you want a quiet room, go for 1-4.
2) The water pressure in the shower wasn't great
3) An otherwise delicious breakfast was somewhat let down by surprisingly poor quality sausages.
We were staying to attend a friend's 40th nearby, and this met and exceeded our needs. We'd certainly stay here again when an overnight stop in Todmorden is planned.

Room Tip: Rooms 5-10 are over the main bar, and can suffer from noise until the bar closes. If you want a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asharah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We arrived in Todmorden and parked in the adjacent railway car park which turned out to be free, although there are signed everywhere about£2 day taickets.......... On entering the hotel bar/reception area we were quite impressed - nice range of hand pulled beers and some tables nicely set for evening dinner............... then it started to go wrong........... Although we had booked and paid on line via Expedia there was no trace of any booking! Seemed to have happened to a few more people as well. Thankfully, the Tourist Information Office round the corner fixed us up with what turned out to be the only one remaining room in Todmorden, so all was not lost. Although this may not have been the fault of the hotel, the staff didnt seem too bothered and after an apology did nothing at all to try and help us find alternative accommadation. We did return later for a beer which was reasonably pleasant. Will maybe give it another go one day but will ceratainly ring up to get the booking confimed. The North View Mews Cottage, Halifax Road (2 bedded apartment turned out to be excellent by the way; and half the price of the Queen Hotel).

Room Tip: ring up to confirm booking if you book on line!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodbeer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
179 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just had a day out in Hebden Bridge, which is lovely place, but didn't really fancy having our tea anywhere there so decided to hop back on the train and stop off at The Queen Hotel on our way back home. We had called here in the past but just for a drink and thought it looked really nice so decided to give it a go. It is a really nice pub that has been tastefully decorated and is very warm and inviting. The menu was really good with plenty of specials on the board too. My husband had a steak that was really nice and I decided on the Hotpot with Red Cabbage which was very tasty and made a nice change as not that many places do Hotpot. On a Saturday evening they do a special offer, 2 grill meals and a bottle of wine for £20 which sounds really good value and worth giving a try.
We will definitely eat here again and would highly recommend The Queen Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanvc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have staying for some years and the renovation has improved it somewhat. The hotel is located just in front Todmorden train station so parking can be a bit difficult. It may not be located on your GPS ( satnav in UK) so search for the train station. Room and bath is pretty standard so price on the higher side but choices are few around here. The swimming pool in the basement is gone.

Room Tip: The room above the kitchen can be too warm even in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wreckit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todmorden
4.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
373 reviews
7.7 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
281 reviews
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
9.7 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
211 reviews
9.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Hotel

Property: The Queen Hotel
Address: Rise Lane, Todmorden OL14 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Todmorden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Todmorden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Hotel Todmorden, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing