We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Greoux les Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Lovely hotel. Staff, rooms, food (breakfast a little basic), but all round and value for money this hotel is well worth staying at. The rooms even have air conditioning, which is unusual in the Gorge du Verdon.

Room Tip: A couple of rooms also have a little patio leading onto the garden making it easy to get to the pool...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jas5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Alpes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 199 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

It has the amenities: swimming pool, spacious room, bar and restaurant, air conditioning, etc. They could work a bit more on the very poor breakfast (which reminded us why is still a 2-star). It is a good deal for a stay in the area of Greoux les Bains. Now about the restaurant: it seems that the chef was a “un-official missed Michelin star guru” as he tried so hard to produce something very exquisite, but completely missed to succeed: we had the same 6 side dishes to two different mains (and all the rest of the menus were having the same, as we could notice) and everything was tried to be presented in a very unique way (and not succeeding even that), forgetting that the main feature of a good dinner is…taste. Hotel OK, restaurant a failure.

Room Tip: If you want to have a good dinner in Greoux, try another restaurant and not the hotel's restaura...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelers_Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with my parents in law, with my father in law in a wheelchair. Upon reservation, we were expressly assured that this hotel was completely accessible by wheelchair. In truth, it barely is.

Lets start from the parking lot: the handicapped spot is in the middle of gravel (perfect for a wheelchair...), and the ramp leading to the hotel is obstructed by plants. The reception is down a flight of stairs, and thus not accessible. The lady at the reception was very nice and welcoming.

The handicapped-accessible room used by my parents in law (room #5) is only accessible from the door on the balcony. (there are steps in the indoor corridor). This wouldn't be such a problem if it wasnt for the fact that:
1) The balcony door could not be opened sufficiently without moving the sofa, placed right in front.
2) The furniture in the room completely blocked the navigation of the apartment by wheelchair! We had to move the table and chairs outside.
3) The balcony door could not be closed from the outside. The only way to secure the apartment was to close the electric shutters from the inside and leave from the inside corridor.

The bathroom posed problems. The shower had no plastic seat, a necessary instrument for someone in a wheelchair. The sink was very fashionable, but completely inefficient for a handicapped person. My father in law could not wash himself in a dignified manner, and ended up getting his clothes wet in the process.

Upon checkout, we presented these problems to the (different) lady at the reception. Instead of welcoming our suggestions for improvement, our feedback was negated, with claims that their rooms were completely up to specification. This may be true, but for 130€ a night, one would expect a hotel to go BEYOND the minimal standard required by law. The lady became increasingly aggressive after I told her that I would leave this review.

The room my wife and I stayed in, #31 for 90€ a night, was relatively clean and comfortable. Outside the window, we were presented with a lovely view of a wall with pigeon holes filled with excrement.

We did not try the restaurant, but we did experience the awful smells coming from its kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Domdada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Lovely 2 star hotel (deserves 3 stars) with an excellent personnel. Everyone was incredibly welcoming and hospitable. The owners know how to make their guests feel welcome.
The bedroom was large and the bathroom big (useless shower though and the bathroom fittings were not great) but this is cheap (price wise) hotel. The room was very quiet and clean.
I beleive that we had a rennovated room.
The restaurant was very good and the breakfast was plentiful.
Location wise great for visiting the surrounding Var region.
Useful parking (free) at the rear of the hotel.
The pool was closed when we visited (out of season) but certainly looked inviting for the summer months.
I would recommend the hotel and return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manil0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Great hotel in central position with good car parking. Amazing wet room for our bathroom. Due to bad weather we used the hotels restaurant for dinner & food was first class - try the trio of foie gras - it was stunning - 25Euro menu excelent value & house wine as recommended by the patron good quality. Would return again if in this area - stunning scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Already planning a return trip. This is a really nice town. Hotel is great. Stayed in a park-side room and I think the room was new. Just renovated/built. Large room for the price with a terrace. Very good value for money. Staff are friendly. Lots to do if you are an outdoor type person.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yasdaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank geonatade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greoux les Bains hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Borghese
Villa Borghese
#1 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lou Paradou
Hotel Lou Paradou
#3 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
169 reviews
2.1 mi away
Club Domaine de Chateau Laval
Club Domaine de Chateau Laval
#8 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Colonnes
Hotel des Colonnes
#4 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Mas de La Cremaillere
Le Mas de La Cremaillere
#5 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa la Castellane
Villa la Castellane
#7 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: 19 avenue des Alpes, 04800 Greoux les Bains, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Greoux les Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Greoux les Bains
Price Range: $128 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Verdon Regional Park, the hotel is close to the most famous destinations in Provence : Luberon, the Gorges du Verdon, the lavender road, Valensole, Castellane, Lake of St. Croix du Verdon, lake of Esparron, L'Occitane en Provence Manosque, Aix en Provence city of arts and culture, Roussillon, Les Baux de Provence, ... A few minutes from the CEA Cadarache ITER, L'Occitane en Provence, the EDF dam ...The Hotel Des Alpes has all overland by bus (free shuttle Hotel - Marseille - Manosque - TGV Aix en Provence - Aix en Provence bus station) and by plane (Marseille Marignane Airport - Airport Nice). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Alpes Greoux Les Bains, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing