We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Cape Agulhas - Southernmost Tip of Africa
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.84*
and up
Cape Agulhas Tour from Cape Town
More Info
$408.51*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour of Cape Agulhas from Cape Town
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Been here a couple of times and always make the trip to the top of the lighthouse, then take a drive past the actual cape on a rocky beach - always fun to collect shells there. Peaceful little town, Struisbaai harbour is very close, worth the visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fymoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    130
    36
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier Western Cape
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit the southern most tip of Africa!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautiful beaches, a great walk alongside the sea, fantastic views from the top of the Lighthouse - well worth the climb to the top! Before leaving the area stop off at the harbour in Struisbaai - you could be lucky and catch sight of the stingrays who come up close to the edge of the water. Have a meal at the Pelican and watch the fishing boats land their daily catch!! An area of un-spoilt natural beauty that still remains!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaceValleyBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ok if you're in the area”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had time to kill so made the trip but it wasn't all that exciting. At least I can say that I've been to the southernmost point in Africa!

Unless it's on your bucket list, I'd probably give it a pass as there are more beautiful things to see in South Africa.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I took a friend of mine for a whistle tour of Cape Town, Hermanus and Agulhas and this was one of the experiences we really enjoyed. Short walk (or drive) to the most Southern tip of Africa and the sound of the oceans meeting was truly inspiring. Stop at the lighthouse and chat to the friendly Tourist guide in the little shop, she is really knowledgeable about the area and history! A definite yes for a visit. Visit the little shop, Suidpunt Potpourri - super buys in the shop!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank outofafricaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Special place”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I didnt really know what to expect when we set of to the most Southern point of Africa. The trip started of well when we drove into Struisbaai. The area had a tropical Island feel with beautiful white beaches and turquoise waters. From there Cape Agulhas is just a few kilometres down the road. A short drive down a sand road to a small parking spot and an easy 150 m walk on a decked path brings you to the sign that marks the spot. There is definitely a special feeling to be there. If you are anywhere close to this area, make an effort and you will definitely be rewarded with a great experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank savistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Agulhas - Southernmost Tip of Africa also viewed

Overberg District, Western Cape
Cape Agulhas, Overberg District
 
Cape Agulhas, Overberg District
 

Been to Cape Agulhas - Southernmost Tip of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing