We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arniston Seaside Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bredasdorp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arniston Seaside Cottages
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed in the Brown Cow unit.huge living area which the tv/in door braai/ kitchen / dining room.2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (both have huge showers and 1 an additional bath). Water pressure in the shower fantastic.Making a booking was a dream and the staff very friendly.

3 Negatives:
Do not let the 'seaside' fool you.Could hardly sea the ocean between 2 houses.The accomodation is 1 street away from the ocean so nice and close.
There is an interleading door to the other apartment.Could lock it from ourside.luckily we put the pram infront of the door as the next morning one of the staff unlocked the door and tried to come in.Had to shout to stop him.
Becareful using the indoor braai,it does not pull all that well and you are left with a lot of smoke in the apartment and then EVERYTHING smells like smoke.

Lastly,they seem to have a crime problem. They warn you at reception and have notice in the apartment.Luckily we had no issues at all!

Will go back though

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaconiemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

These cottages is very simplistic but very functional.

Bedroom:
Double bed was very comfortable. Crisp white linen. Good pillows. Had a electric blanket for winter stay's. Safe in the cupboard. Dressing table with hair dryer

Bathroom:
1m x 1m size shower & clean. Shower presure good. Everything in bathroom was new. Had heated towel rails. Behind mirror good size vanity.

Living area & Kitchen:
Kitchen had all the utilities. Stove & Oven & Kettle & Toaster & Microwave & frige freezer. All the crockery & utensils. The television area has satellite with movie & sport channels with 2 comfy chairs. There is also a fireplace which makes the cottage warm and cozy in the winter.

Outside Braai Area:
Good braai (BBQ). You can buy some good braai wood at reception. A basket for R20. ($2) (£1.50) (€2). Outside furniture is sement good solid. Under a thatch umbrella. There is washing lines.

Our stay was for 5 nights. There is a little tiny store for necessity 's if you forgot something. For meat you have to drive to Bredarsdorp. Cottage was very comfy. Staff was very friendly. Would always return. Price well worth it. This is sea cottage life. Enjoy every one. Rest well !!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nita1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The apartments are not spectacular, for sure, but for the price, it's more than you need. If you don't need luxury and want to save some money in the accommodation, really worth it. The have, towels, tools, homeware and everything you need (for sure not soap and hotel's stuff). Our flat had security, fireplace and braai (you can check on the web which flat have what). By the way, don't try to make a fire if you don't have some branches/whatever-you-can-use besides the paper and wood ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haidee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Having read the reviews of the cottages, I was somewhat apprehensive. My fears were unfounded - we had a beautiful spacious cottage with wonderful sea views.
Obviously, the accommodation is nothing like the hotel - but neither is the price!
I would recommend them as excellent value for money - particularly for family groups.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bew151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed in Cottage 1D for one night on 14 January 2011. I was a bit apprehensive, based on previous reviews, but I found most of these to be unjustified.

Many people called the furniture, structures etc. 'tired' - the only thing coming close to 'tired' was the receptionist! (Shame, must've been a long week...).

I think they may have acted on some of the complaints in previous reviews and have upgraded some aspects...our bathroom was very new and modern, and had a lovely huge shower cubicle, and even a towel warmer rail!

The kitchen / bedroom / lounge was all in one (carpeted throughout), but nice and spacious, with granite kitchen tops and all the kitchen appliances you could need. The bed was very comfortable, with good quality squeaky clean bedding. And the small balcony provided a lovely view of the sunrise.

I'll agree that the cottages should not be marketed as 'luxury' - I think most of the negative reviews stemmed from expectations not having been met. But they are definately very comfortable, very clean, and well-located (just a short walk to the spectacular main beach and caves).

The cottages are value for money - we stayed in another self-catering place prior to arriving in Arniston, where we paid slightly more and did not even get bedding or towels, or a cleaning service. And compared to the rates of other places in Arniston, rather reasonably priced.

Would I go again? Yes. In winter, I may want to stay in one of the downstairs units (which have fireplaces).

Just as a note: if you have not been to Arniston before, please note that the hotel has the only two eating facilities in town (bistro and bar / restaurant) - very good food and fabulous views. There are also no shops / cafes or petrol stations at all - with the exception of a vendor selling all-sorts from a small garage-like structure at the back of the hotel!

Hope you found this review helpful...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank justdanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Mammes, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Although a friend suggested the Arniston Resort and Spa, we opted for the Arniston Cottages, hoping for something more casual and private. We were not disappointed, ended up with an upper level unit under the thatched roof (no fireplace, alas) but a balcony offering a sea view, perfect for coffee in the morning. Little to do but to chill, take long walks and breathe fresh sea air--if you need a break, do not hesitate to make your way here!

Room Tip: These are well-appointed self-catering units, better equipped than some personal kitchens. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeDee077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We arrived in Arniston just prior to sunset. After viewing the Southern Right Whales for an hour we decided to find a room. We saw a sign for Arniston Seaside Cottages and pulled in. We phoned Mary who was came to the office in 5 minutes, gave us some fire wood and a key and told us to eat at the Arniston Resort and Spa hotel. After a fabulous dinner we turned into our cottage for the evening. Much to our surprise it was huge! A two level 3 bedroom 2 bath house! Although, the cottage wasn't heated, each bed was equipped with an electric blanket making for a very cozy nights sleep. The kitchen was well equipped and looked like it would make a great vacation stay during the summer months. The next morning I ventured out back onto the patio to discover a very private area containing a grill, outdoor shower and a great spot to enjoy an evening meal. The public beach is just down the road a very short distance away. We only stayed the one night and continued our road trip the next morning. It was a fantastic surprise to come upon without any prior planning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nauti_Gal_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bredasdorp
0.1 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
14.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
15.6 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Firlane House
Firlane House
#2 of 12 in Bredasdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
14.4 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 12 in Bredasdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cape Agulhas Backpackers
Cape Agulhas Backpackers
#1 of 4 in Struisbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arniston Seaside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arniston Seaside Cottages

Property: Arniston Seaside Cottages
Address: Huxham street | Arniston, Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Bredasdorp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bredasdorp
Hotel Class:3 star — Arniston Seaside Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Arniston Seaside Cottages Hotel Bredasdorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing