We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Julians

Julians
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Bredasdorp
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Africa
Level Contributor
214 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A bit of a suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Julians has a shop as one enters the restaurant; it is a delightful gift and home store with some original items too. There are also paintings around the wall of the restaurant for sale if it takes one fancy. The food was good enough and we walked to and from the restaurant on both occasions. The only irritating thing was the loud croaking of the frog from the atrium

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaConcerned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    37
    12
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved the vibe! Awesome food. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed this place! Huge menu.. Too many dishes to choose from. Try the snoek spring rolls for starters!! A must. We had lamb chops, pork neck and rump steak for our maincourse. Really tasty! Pretty decor!! Beautiful ceramics. Beautiful bar area. Friendly owners and cat :) I would vote it one of the best in Bredasdorp

Helpful?
Thank nadia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely combination of Good Food and Art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had dinner there for the first time this evening and was very pleasantly surpised. The restaurant is situated behind the art galery where Julian's original pottery works and other decor is displayed and sold. My first chocie [fresh linefish] was not available but my second chocie - a roasted butternut and mushroom salad - made me glad they were out of fish. It was delicious and beautifully presented together with an assortment of oven-roasted veg including beetroot and sweet potatoes. The wine was lovely and very affordable. The complimentary canape was also most welcome. On my way out I also purchased some handmade pottery for my collection. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonetaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

A perfect place to have a meal. Just had my birthday dinner at this restaurant and was brilliant from starter to dessert. We were served a starter of carpaccio and parmesan on puffed pastry which come on the house and is a different surprise with each visit. The owner suggested a lovely red wine at a very reasonable price. Mains were the best lamb shank I have ever had in a restaurant and a chicken liver salad with beetroot and feta....winner!!Great restaurant, good service and perfect location.Thanks so much for making my birthday special. I can recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabeau V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
“Julian's Restaurant Bredasdorp, Western Cape, fynbos country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Julians 22 All Saints Street, Bredasdorp, South Africa: A friend and I found ourselves in a tiny town, Bredasdorp, in the Western Cape, South Africa, attending Cape Floral Kingdom Expo. Looking for a place to eat out, and not really expecting much, we were pointed towards Julian's Restaurant for a good meal. Wow! Really attractive and arty as one walks in the door. Overall, the waitress was very efficient and friendly and delivery of wine and food never took too long. A wonderful fire kept us warm, and the ambiance was outstanding - art for sale, and one in particular really tempted me, everything creatively displayed, with richly coloured walls. A lovely little outside courtyard with a simple yet attractive design, for viewing, not for seating, separated the smoking and non-smoking rooms, but each could be viewed through large windows. And the meal? A single bite of something special was brought to the table along with the wine, different on each night. This most delicious mouthful starts the evenings taste adventure! The main meals were superb - and special mention must be made of the Moroccan Vegetable Strudel I had on the last night - what a taste sensation! LIndsay's rump steak she says, was like silk! The bill arrived with the most delicious little chocolate ball to sweeten it, but prices are in fact very reasonable, and we kept going back - the taste, artistic arrangement of food on the plate, great menu, good wine and good prices, easily puts Julian's at the top of my list of best restaurants I've ever eaten at! Julian himself wanders around and engages the patrons, and this personal interest is really well received by all. If you're interested, there is also a fantastic art and crafts shop to wander around attached to Julian's. Really great buys for the overseas tourist.
A restaurant not to miss if you ever find yourself in the stunning Overberg mountain area of the Western Cape - fynbos country!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnoTorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julians also viewed

Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
 
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
Bredasdorp, Overberg District
 

Been to Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing