We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely long weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bredasdorp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages
Ranked #2 of 12 Bredasdorp B&B and Inns
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely long weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a restful and lovely long weekend at Doornbosch Guest House, despite being unlucky with the weather. The house is very spacious, each room is lovely and more than comfortable and the setting is great. Heidi and Bertie are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to make sure you have everything that you want. We were very happy that the weather cleared up long enough for a horse ride. The organic honey is amazing! Thank you Heidi and Bertie.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Robin and Rifke

Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate the rain you brought with you, although we sympathise that it was not ideal for your weekend. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our horses. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Heidi Maritz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a wonderful weekend breakaway. Thank you Heidi for your hospitatily - the weekend was something to remember in the beautiful nature setting, spacious guest house and not too forget the horses! If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay and to get spoilt - this is the place to go!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lezanne_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our horses. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent one night at Doornbosch Guest House en route to Cape Town and had the unique experience of having the whole place to myself! The guest house is a tastefully re-created old Cape Dutch farmstead on the site of the original homestead. The three guest rooms are huge and very elegantly furnished and equipped, each one quite different. The lounge/dining room is enormous with equally tasteful furniture and decor. What's described as a 'kitchenette' next to this room is actually a spacious and fully-equipped kitchen! There is a large 'stoep' (verandah) at the front with sweeping, panoramic views of the Overberg Mountain range and a pool a stone's throw away. Spacious is a key word for this guesthouse!
The whole place is immaculately clean and lovingly run by Bertie and Heidi, a relaxed, friendly couple for whom nothing was too much trouble. Heidi looked after me very kindly and I spent a thoroughly absorbing time with her looking around the estate. I've come back to the UK with a jar of Doornbosch honeycomb to remind me of the sweetness of these people.
If you want to be right away from everything and enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Gill

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Heidi Maritz
Guesthouse manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Degerndorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

In January 2013 we have been in this beautiful guesthouse with an extraordinary interior and an amazing view in to the surrounding landscapes.

We enjoyed the quietness and Heidi petted us every morning with a hearty Breakfast ( fresh fruits, self made honey....)

Will soon be back

Thank you very much
and
Kind regards to the Doornbosch staff


Charlotte Holzer
Munich

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Charlotte

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you. I am glad Orthmar enjoyed his ride on our big gentleman Trinity.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Heidi Maritz
Guesthouse Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had great expectations of our recent stay at Doornbosch guest house (November 2012) - our stay there surpassed expectations. We stayed in the main guest house, which is extremely spacious, beautifully furnished, with a huge lounge/dining area, enormous bedrooms, all with the most gorgeous decor, and everything you could possibly need. The guest house is located in a large farm with stunning Cape scenery, including beautiful fynbos. The views from the veranda overlooking the pool at sunset are magical, and all you can hear are the varied sounds of the bird life. There is a great deal of interest in the area, including fabulous Agulhas wine farms such as Strandveld and Black Oystercatcher, the unique town of Elim and, of course, Cape Agulhas. But what made our stay at Doornbosch so special was the wonderful hospitality of our hosts. Heidi and Bertie, who manage the farm and guest house. They went out of their way to make it the holiday of a lifetime. Such warm and lovely people, we went on a game drive round the farm and were treated to a lovely meal and great company. For anyone planning a visit to the Southern Cape, a stay at Doornbosch is a must. Thank you for everything, Heidi and Bertie.

Room Tip: Room at the front adjourning the living room - huge and has a Victorian-style bath in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for a lovely review. We enjoyed having you visit us, your interest in farm and all our animals was refreshing. You even loved our old green Range Rover and our Border Collies. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

A beautiful house a lovely view and endless possibilities, what more could you ask for? I had such a wide variety of choice i did not know where to start or end for that matter. I got completely lost in the beauty and charm of this lovely place, that come time to leave i did not want to. We went hiking and horse riding on the most charming little round horse that took good care of me. We went on a game drive and what a very interesting time that was. All the different plant and animal life the live together. I will surely make this a yearly expedition it is more then worth the while.

Room Tip: All the rooms my friends and i loved each had its own unique style. For a large family or a huge gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Alexa657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our farm and the game drive. The lovely round horse was Trinity, I will give him a carrot when I tell him about your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I once said that money could not buy tranquility. How wrong could I have been!!!? Doornbosch Guest house was the ultimate in relaxation and country living, I bought tranquility! This tastefully decorated Cape Dutch style house with three spacious en suite bedrooms was amazing! The friends that shared the house were completely independant in their own rooms whilst the large living area with gorgeous fireplace gave us a comfortable place to laugh and share our purchases from a nearby wine farm. The views of the valley below the house and mountains surrounding are unsurpassed and the total package demands that you sit back and relax, breathing in the purest country air. A stunning quiet beach is less than 15 minutes away which was wonderful for a late afternoon walk. I cannot recommend this place enough! Thank you Doornbosch for making two nights seem like a two week break!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Oscarnicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, Manager at Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you and we hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bredasdorp
0.0 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 12 in Bredasdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Firlane House
Firlane House
#3 of 12 in Bredasdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Tirzah's B&B and Self Catering
#7 of 12 in Bredasdorp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages

Property: Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages
Address: Baardscheerdersbos Road number 1219, Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Bredasdorp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bredasdorp
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doornbosch Guesthouse and Country Cottages - our Guesthouse with pool - is in the heart of the rural Overberg, no more than a 2-hour drive from Cape Town, midway on the road from Elim to Gansbaai. Close to the white beaches of Pearly Beach and just a few minutes from the scenic mission village of Elim. Cape Agulhas, the southernmost tip of Africa is only 45 minutes away! The Guesthouses and the cottages are part of a 5000 hectare working farm with cattle, game, fynbos and organic honey. We also offer horseback riding through the game and fynbos as well as hiking and mountain biking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing