We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Firlane House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Firlane House
Ranked #3 of 12 Bredasdorp B&B and Inns
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
“Good experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed over in Firlane House, Bredasdorp for 1 night and the total experience from arrival until departure was in our opinion fantastic. Accommodation, food, staff and the personal touch from the manager, Dirk created a homely feeling. We will most definately return in future and will recommend Firlane House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
37
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sadly the worst review I have ever had to write.
Perhaps the circumstances were against us but this was the poorest of all the places we have stayed in on our holidays to South Africa. A shame as at first sight the house is attractive, has nice gardens,quietly situated and had good parking.
We arrived on a public holiday week end. The whole town seemed to be involved in a local wedding and we were told when we arrived that the bride and groom were staying that night - but had asked that no other wedding guests should stay. We had no idea of this when booking of course. The manager (Dirk?) was apparently away for the week end and upon arrival we had to telephone for assistance. The owners daughter gave us a nice welcome but then returned home. We basically rattled around in a large empty house for the rest of our stay.
We had reserved Tswana room and had asked for bath gowns as an extra.
Tswana room is dark and basically overcrowded with dark furniture. It was also very very dusty - mainly in the carpets. We suffered from the dust each and every time we disturbed anything. Light bulbs did not work and on day 2 our expired shower gel was not replaced.
The balcony was large but tired. The bathroom was strange in so far as it had windows around virtually half of it, the shower was OK.
We enjoyed our scrambled egg and bacon at breakfast.
We were charged R 150 each, per night (total R 600) for the bathrobes on top of the R2360 for the room. A very expensive experience and undoubtedly our most disappointing in four years of coming to South Africa.
Unfortunately we were not able to express our views to anyone (only the kitchen staff there) when we left.
Such a shame. We did however enjoy visiting Arniston and Cape Agulas as well as the Shipwreck Museum and enjoyed dinner at Julians.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a 1 night with group in this house. I think it's best offer to stay in Bredasdorp. All rooms have interesting decoration. Also we were happy with our breakfast. It was fantastic!
The owner Dirk was hospitable with us, shown us the interesting restaurant "Julian" in the town.
I guess that Firlane house and Bredasdorp is interesting alternative to stay for one-two days between L'Agulhus, Hermanus and Garden route!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr_cheaptrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

As a returning guest, I was dismayed at the reception on my arrival at Firlane House. I was asked my name and a double check had to be made IF there was a booking! As I was the only guest booked into the guesthouse, this is shocking. Previously Rosa would sms to check my ETA and greet me by name on arrival. The whole experience including "your limit for the room is R650" when enquiring about a room change has clinched my decision to never return. As a guest, it is unprofessional to state that all previous staff had been asked to leave etc etc. The increase n room price is astronomical with no visible changes except the poor reception on arival

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank judith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spend a very good night @ firlane house in bredasdorp. We can truly recommand the view to a starshinning sky @ night and to take a look in the awsome garden. Our stay was finished by a great breakfast- scince then we eat our scrambled egg in firlane style :0)!
Thanks Swetlana & Christoph

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schwafelbacke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in this lovely guest house for 6 nights. Initially we booked the Tsonga Room, and were pleasantly surprised when our awesome host, Dirk, told us that they are upgrading us, at no extra cost, to a bigger room (Tswana Room) with a huge bathroom (with bathtub) and a balcony, because we are staying there for so long.

From the moment we set foot at the guest house, we only encountered smiles and excellent service. The breakfast was delicious and a great reason to get up early in the morning.

The location of the guest house is perfect. It's just off the main road in Bredasdorp, on a beautiful, leafy and quiet street. It's easy to find and there's ample parking space.

The rooms are very comfortable and has everything you might need. Also, the free WIFI was a big plus.

What we liked most about staying at Firlane House, is that your every need can be met, but that we never felt that the staff was overbearing. Also, you can make use of Bredasdorp Fitness Center for free while staying here. (The Fitness Center is an excellent facility, and just around the corner from the guest house.)

We will definitely stay here again, and will recommend our friends and family to do so, too. Thank you for everything, Dirk.

Room Tip: I'd recommend booking a room on the upper floor, as it's more private and you can't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _LiEsL_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A lovely overnight stay here. Very nice gardens to walk round and a stunning centre piece pool. The rooms are well presented with comfortable beds. Our bed was a bit big for the room. We had a small balcony to sit on and enjoy the cool night air. Lots of hot water in the shower and the separate bath. Our host was very helpful with local information about attractions and places to eat. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bredasdorp
14.4 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
769 reviews
19.8 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 12 in Bredasdorp
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
6 on Kloof Guest House
6 on Kloof Guest House
#4 of 12 in Bredasdorp
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doornbosch Guest House and Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firlane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firlane House

Property: Firlane House
Address: 5 Firlane, Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Bredasdorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bredasdorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Firlane House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Firlane House is a four star guest retreat for tourists and business traveller alike. The facility is perfect for a rejuvenating break or a romantic getaway. Relax in one of our spacious luxury rooms or treat yourself with a romatic weekend away in our luxurious executive suite. Enjoy a fantastic breakfast where you are spoilt with choice. The house is the ideal base from where to explore the Southern Overberg with its game parks, whales, sharks, fynbos, bird life and fabulous kite surfing opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Firlane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing