We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Volets Bleus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Volets Bleus
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

There are very few (in fact this may be the only one) places that I hav stayed in more than once. With so many places to go this litte gem has dragged me back and I will surely go there again. The rooms are huge in this big old french style house. You can almost touch the canal and there is always a sunny and a shady spot to watch the boats go by with a beer (there's a trust system in the house if you want one).
The hosts are great and always full of helpful tips and recommendations.
There are only two real restaurants in the village but both are excellent and if not they offer a beautiful meal in the b&b.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Friendly & helpful hosts add to the charm of this house. We felt very spoilt to be able to share a meal here, especially on the day of our arrival, as it was so interesting to see how the hosts easily make all the guests feel welcome & all shared part of the meal with us. They serve a 5 course dinner & it was all delicious, including the wine. Our rooms were spacious with large bathrooms. We had a room on the 1st floor towards the back & had a lovely view over the town & towards the distant hills. Across the road from the front door was the canal with a lock not far away. It was very peaceful walking along the canal towards the river & into the vineyards on the way back. The ducks & ducklings wandering along the canal were an added treat. We had a car & needed that to be able to explore the area. The town had a bar & a couple of restaurants but the restaurants were not opened much. If you want a peaceful little retreat this is ideal but if you wanted more action it would be better to stay at a nearby larger town. However I loved it & all the food in this part of France was superb. Thanks to Nick, Izzy & Greg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lovely old typically French house in a wonderful location on the banks of the Canal du Midi. I gather that each of the rooms is slightly different, but the room that we had overlooking the canal was perfect with a spacious bathroom.

We used this as a base to explore the area and so we stayed for 12 nights. On several nights we dined with Nick, Izzie and Greg and a selection of other guests from all over Europe and beyond who passed through, mainly staying for briefer periods. Our hosts were wonderful, conducting conversations over dinner in French and English as required. The wine and the company were superb. The food was wonderful and Izzie was so kind in preparing special meals for my wife, even going to the trouble of researching her condition in the internet to ensure that the food prepared was suitable for her.

Nick, Izzie and Greg were wonderful hosts. Their knowledge and enthusiasm helped us to enjoy the sights and facilities that the area offers and their easy going, relaxed way of making us feel at home made our stay in France so much more enjoyable.

Stay here if you can.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

A business, of any kind, takes its lead from the people that own it. So it is with Les Volets Blues. Lovingly restored, the building owes its charm to the attention to detail of its owners, and their sensibilities. We paid 80 Euros for their best room and it was worth every cent, very comfortable and a gorgeous view of the canal. The ensuite bathroom was as big as the bedroom. Bliss.

More importantly, they generously stayed up late to serve us dinner (very good, too) when we endured a horrendous train journey from Brittany and turned up hours later than planned. (French rail unions .... grrrr.) Izzy and Nick were the very soul of calm encouragement as we inched nearer Salleles-d'Aude, including being, at one point, sent a hundred miles in the wrong direction by a typically Gallic comptrolleur, and they also proved the perfect link to and from our boat hire at Somail, including taking us shopping for groceries on the way, and then dropping us over to Narbonne after we had disembarked even though we weren't staying at their property then. So much easier than getting a taxi, and so appreciated.

Quiet drinks with other guests in the gracious sitting room were a real pleasure. Such a nice way to unwind and settle in. Nick has a great knowledge of local wines too ... or is that Izzy? lol Either way, delightful.

Book it, if you can get in. You won't be disappointed.

Steve & Jenie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for one night very warm welcome & food was ok.
Just all felt a bit staged like a play, the evening meal we was with French guests & got a feeling that's now the guests these people want & not bikers.
Also a little pricey compared to the other b&b we had stopped in.
If your struggling to find anywhere else then you will be ok here but your wallet will be a little bit lighter than other establishments ..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flash231169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here both ends of a week on a canal boat as we did 5 years ago and it can only be described as excellent again. From the moment we arrived at Montpelier airport we were looked after. We were collected, taken back to the house , cooled down with a beer and glass of wine on the beautiful terrace overlooking the canal and made to feel welcome. What do we love about his place? The fabulous house, the lovely rooms, the warm welcome, the general atmosphere, all 3 hosts. We were collected at the supermarket with our provisions for the boat and taken to our boat - nothing is too much trouble! If you are lucky enough to stay here, have an evening meal if it is available. Food and wine are fabulous, as is the company of other guests and our hosts. What a lovely evening. Thank you again Izzy, Nick and Greg for your hospitality and your thoughtfulness. We hope to return before another 5 years.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trisha49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at Les Volets Bleus in late May as the first night of a bike trip from Beziers to Toulouse. We came across it by chance (my wife spotted the "chambres d'hôtes" sign as we cycled into town) and it turned out to be the hotel hightlight of our trip. The canal-side setting is deligtful, the building itself imposing and decorated with taste, our enornous room was furnished simply but comfortably. But. as many have said before me, the hospitality is quite exceptional. I would recommend any hotelier to consider taking lessons from Nick and Izzy on how to manage that fine line between too formal and too informal. Our welcome was just perfect -- we felt instantly at home, but with our own space respected.

We didn't have dinner at Les Volets Bleus so I can't comment, but breakfast was superb value for money (as was our whole stay).

Finally, thanks Nick for your recommended bike route from Salleles-d'Aude to Carcassonne. Just right and easy to follow -- our best day's cycling all the way to Toulouse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzzyE, Owner at Les Volets Bleus, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the kind words, and hope to see you again one day. All the best from us hear at LVB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salleles-d'Aude
7.5 mi away
Hotel du Mas
Hotel du Mas
#1 of 1 in Vinassan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
5.4 mi away
Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
5.8 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#2 of 22 in Narbonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
La Bastide Cabezac
La Bastide Cabezac
#1 of 1 in Bize-Minervois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Neptune-Le Somail
Le Neptune-Le Somail
#1 of 9 in Ginestas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
l'Olivier
l'Olivier
#2 of 3 in Salleles-d'Aude
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Volets Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Volets Bleus

Property: Les Volets Bleus
Address: 43 quai D Alsace, 11590 Salleles-d'Aude, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Salleles-d'Aude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Salleles-d'Aude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Volets Bleus is a fantastic town house on the canal in Salleles d'Aude - handy for Carcassonne, Cathar Castles, Canal du Midi, the Mediterranean, road cycling, mountain-biking, motorbike tours, wine-tasting, and much, much more. Rated 3 Epis with Gites de France, we offer 5 huge en-suite rooms, a generous continental buffet breakfast, home-cooked evening meals with local wines. Plus a shady terrace, secure garage and a warm friendly welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Volets Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Volets Bleus Hotel Salleles-d`Aude
Les Volets Bleus Aude, France - Salleles-D'Aude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing