We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful countryside just in front of our window.”
Review of Podere Il Tigliolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Podere Il Tigliolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had a great time at Tigliolo with beautiful Val d'Orcia valley just in front of our window. On the top of the hill there is a vine producer, with production worth tasting, round the corner Chiesa di Vitaleta, Belvedere farm, Pienza, Montichielo and other natural sights to see. Plus great meals every day you'll look great in a few days...

(Be prepared for the white road which is a bit dusty in dry weather).

Don't be lazy and enjoy dawn above the Val d'Orcia - the best place is above the Belvedere - from San Quirico 500meters, direction to Pienza, first parking...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mich1591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 154 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2011

This was the best and dreamed Italian vacation ever! Il Tiglio is excellent place: is beautiful located and manage by beautiful people, very nice and friendly. Staying there you can feel like at home, no one is interrupting; you can forget about busy city life and only relax. The owners are very helpful and you can count on them in every situation. I really do enjoy my stay there and for sure I will be back. Sylwia & Jarek

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylwia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Podere il Tigliolo is ideally place to rest for family with children.
It is silence, quiet and unforgettalbe views.
Everything was perfect..
The building itself and the rooms are very nicely decorated and charming.
Gardens are beauty and enchanting.
The owners are wonderful people.
Nearby there are a lot of beautifull places such as : San Quirico d'Orcia Bagno Vignoni Montalcino Montepulciano Pienza ets.
I loved this place and I will come back in Podere il Tigliolo in next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicepala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

It is a beautiful place - great to relax and enjoy good wine with a beautiful view of Montalcino. Very quiet and the only sounds you hear are animals :) There is a very nice pool by the house and it has never been crowded :)
It is close by to all places worth to see - so one can really enyoy val d'Orcia and south Toscany. Make sure you go to St Antimo Abbey - it is an incredible place!
Paolo the owner of the place will look after you very well - just tell him what you look for and he will help with a big smile - we enjoyed his wine and olive oil :)
I loved it! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our family have come back several times to tigliolo - the location is lovely - quiet, with lovely views and the apartments are spotless, gardens equally well maintained.

it has the added advantage of course to be close to so many places to explore - siena, florence - the list goes on.

you do need a car - there is a good 10 minute drive to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Podere Il Tigliolo is a lovely complex of cozy apartments in the deep countryside of the Val d'Orcia. It's a perfect base for hikers, mountain bikers and those of us who like to stroll the back roads picking wild flowers and then watch the sun set over Montalcino. It is run by a very nice family who keep it beautifully maintained and landscaped. We were there a bit off season so we had tons of privacy for a very restful and serene holiday. We look forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ippolita28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Tigliolo is an authentic farmhouse in the Val d'Orcia (splendid landscape)

Nearby you have a lot of beautifull places such as :

San Quirico d'Orcia
Bagno Vignoni
Montalcino
Montepulciano
Pienza ets.

Siena is only 40 km away and Firenze and Rome can also be visitid on a day trip

Staying at Tigliolo is very relaxing and you also have a swimming pool

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pienzacuiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castiglione D'Orcia hotels
3 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
258 reviews
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Aiole
Agriturismo Aiole
#15 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
45 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Bindozzino
Agriturismo Bindozzino
#2 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Casella
Agriturismo Podere Casella
#3 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
120 reviews
8.6 mi away
B&B La Colombella
B&B La Colombella
#2 of 9 in Castiglione D'Orcia
104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Pian di Meta Vecchia
Agriturismo Pian di Meta Vecchia
#4 of 35 in Castiglione D'Orcia
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Il Tigliolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Il Tigliolo

Address: Loc. Il Tigliolo, 53023 Castiglione D'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castiglione D'Orcia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Castiglione D'Orcia
Price Range: $63 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Podere Il Tigliolo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Tigliolo is an old farmhouse of the nineteenth century recently restored, tastefully furnished and with all modern comforts. The farmhouse is placed in the heart of Val d'Orcia, and in a few minutes you can easily reach very beautiful resorts, famous for their artistic in heritage and their wine and cookery traditions such as Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano and San Quirico d'Orcia. Other historic Tuscan towns are a bit far away: Firenze (100 Km), Siena (45 Km) and San Gimignano (70 Km). Moreover, the surrounding countryside offers the possibility to have a nice and healthy bath in the thermal baths of Bagni San Filippo and Bagno Vignoni, only 8 km away. It is the ideal place to pass a very relaxing holiday in contemplation of nature, with the advantage of tasting the most typical dishes of Tuscan cooking and its best wines. Il Tigliolo is formed by two different buildings one in front of the other and separated by a beautiful courtyard. It is composed of six apartments , each with its private entrance, kitchen corner and independent gas heating. The farmhouse, deep in the Tuscan countryside and surrounded by olive-groves and vineyards, offers a swimming-pool, a self-service laundry, a barbecue and a wide parking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Podere Il Tigliolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Il Tigliolo Italy/Castiglione D'Orcia, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing