We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The realization of a dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The realization of a dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This small 4 star hotel is the culmination of a dream of two long-time partners: Silvano and Ferdinando. They are dedicated to making your stay perfect. From the romantic entrance to the beautiful grounds and pool, to the comfortable rooms and common areas, the physical space could not be better.

Breakfast is delicious and generous, and their restaurant, which only serves in the evening, is the best in the area. I had an old Tuscan dish, called Il Peposa, which I had never encountered before. The recipe dates back to the Renaissance, and the dish is a braised peppered beef served with a creamy potato puree. I started with a hand-made ravioli stuffed with ricotta and spinach, coated in sage butter. Silky! My wife had the best papperadelle with cinghialle. Generally this dish is just flavored with cinghialle, but this had big chunks of meat. Delicioso!

The most important thing to stress, however, is that Silvano and Ferdinando will do everything in their power to make you happy. Their service is really special!

And who can forget Zorro, their pet donkey? We were told that a previous guest even left him a tip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2travel10471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    36
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
123
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in July and loved every minute from start to end. The most appropriate way to sum up our experience is to recount the conversation I had with Silvano (our gracious and charming host) the night before we departed when I asked him what time we had to check out of our room in the morning....he replied "we're not that kind of hotel....what time would you like to vacate your room?".

The rooms are nicely furnished and comfortable, the pool is lovely and the gardens are fantastic. After a morning spent cycling around the Tuscan hillside (with an excellent local guide found for us by Silvano) we tended to collapse on a lounger on the garden by the pool and simply marvel at the beautiful views across to Bagno Vignoli.

Breakfast was excellent, the food was good (if a bit on the pricey side) and the wine list excellent.

There is an easy and well lit path across a footbridge into Bagno Vignoli which has a good range of restaurants....an easy 10 min stroll from the hotel.

All in all an excellent place to stay in Tuscany and highly recommended....we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomaschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had planned to stay in Montalcino but did not like that town at all. So as per our likes we went out into the countryside and found this gem. It was very difficult to find because the town politicians told them to remove their sign but once we found it we were soooo happy! Everything was great - the rooms, bathrooms, pool, breakfast all for a very good price. Easy to walk into the small town through the footpaths and we loved the donkey Zorro...We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahoe1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I spent three nights in Hotel Osteria dell'Orcia (extending one more
night) and it has been a great experience.

The staff is really helpful kind and professional (and speak well at
least English and German), the hotel is very well decorated and clean
and the position is fantastic.

We also had dinner twice and we were both times very pleased,
recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea_crotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a great place to stay and near to many great towns without being in a tourist trap. Hotel staff really nice, food was great, room was clean. Only complaint is that walls are paper-thin so you will hear your neighbors TV and until late people downstairs were socializing which you hear every word of. At 11pm, don't expect peace and quiet. The owners should put a curfew in.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We extended our stay so we could soak up more of the beauty, ambiance and peace of the area and this small hotel. Spotless rooms and great food. The owners and management were probably the most gracious and accomodating we have ever been lucky enough to stay with. They would go out of their way at every opportunity - we felt truly special.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlrw524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarteano, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Beautiful location outside of Bagno Vignoni, an ancient thermal spa town with magnificent views of te Val d'Orcia. Silvano, the manager and the chef, Eliana as well as the front of house staff are all extremely attentive and make you feel completely relaxed and at home. Silvano and Nando speak excellent English and Silvano also German, so this makes life somewhat easier for those who struggle with Italian!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuscanJDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglione D'Orcia
2.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
5.3 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Villa Armena Relais
Villa Armena Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
11.8 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia

Property: Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Address: Podere Osteria,15 | Località Bagno Vignoni, 53023 Castiglione D'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castiglione D'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castiglione D'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osteria dell'Orcia - a former 16th century post house, along the antique pilgrimage road "Via Francigena" where, along with the centuries, kings and princesses stopped to shelter and rest.A total refurbishment was carried out at the end of the 90s with a minute care to preserve the originality of the buildings and yet to include the comforts needed for the descerning travellers.16 lovely and well decoreted appointed bedrooms, all with its marble bathroom and Jacuzzi showers, restaurant and lounges, gardens and natural settings are an ideal environment to relax, wind-down and recharge between visits to art cities and heavy traffic.Local products and ltasty typical dishes are prepared with passion by Eliana, served in the intimacy of our restaurant, accompanied by selected local and tuscan wines, from the rich and generous regions of Montalcino, Montepulciano, Montecucco, Scansano and Maremma. During the warm season breakfast, lunch and dinners are served in the garden overlooking Bagno Vignoni and its colorful tuscan hills.The panoramic pool immersed in flowered gardens, at the bottom of Bagno Vignoni, along the banks fo the river Orcia completes this lovely property.An ideal stop in a strategic position for bikers and hikers with many itineraries along empty roads in company of an artistic nature with musical notes of singing birds and light breeze and its luxurious floraWellness and well being in Bagno Vignoni with its roman spa baths and several beauty-farms availble at the doorstep of our Osteria dell'OrciaITALIANO ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia Italy/Castiglione D'Orcia, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing