We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, friendly hotel - good value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Locanda del Ponte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Locanda del Ponte
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monticiano
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly hotel - good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a weeks stay at this hotel. We booked a standard double room but were given a free upgrade to a large superior double room with a hydro-massage shower! The room was always cleaned spotlessly and was very comfortable, although quite dark. There was a mini refrigerator which was really helpful! We had no trouble with the AC.

There was an elevator for our luggage and plenty of parking spaces at the hotel. The pool was lovely and always very clean, very refreshing on a hot day! The pool bar was open from around lunchtime until early evening and did drinks and snacks. There is a bar in the hotel for drinks in the evening, but there is only a small selection of drinks available.

Breakfast was continental. It was simple but very good. We only tried the restaurant for an evening meal once and enjoyed it.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Siena is around 20 minutes away, and there is ample parking at the Station for 2 euro for the whole day. The town centre is then just a short bus journey away. The hotel is handily located near a main road which made exploring so much easier (and we didn't notice any noise from the road at night or whilst relaxing around the pool).

Overall we enjoyed our stay, and it is definitely good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    146
    79
    34
    27
See reviews for
92
204
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent a super weekend in this hotel that provides a lovely big pool, tennis court, table-tennis, italian bowls. Comfortable spacious family room, friendly polite staff and good quality reasonable priced restaurant. The hotel has plenty of covered parking. Siena is a twenty min drive away and has ample (payed) parking.

Room Tip: request room on the river side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I do not know who gave 4 stars rating to this hotel. There is no elevator, so you have to carry your luggage upstairs by yourself. The room is EXTREMELY dark even for hotel room. WIFI does not work well. The breakfast was poor. The only good thing is a price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a great 3 night stay here in May. Gorgeous large room on the first floor and large bathroom and large shower. Views from room looked over a lake and lots of greenery. We had a corner room so lots of light and also a view to the garden and pretty rose beds. There was a swimming pool but unfortunately it rained every day when we were there and was relatively cold -14C - which we didn't expect for mid May! The location is great - 15 mins south of Sienna just off the main road, in the countryside without the Sienna prices - we got a fantastic deal with booking.com and didn't mind the driving. We just needed a base to explore Tuscany as we were out every day exploring. The breakfast was continental and sufficient for us and they were quick to fill up anything that was running out. The evening meal was ok - its not 5 star - just a country restaurant but did the job after a days exploring. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a first floor corner room - facing the street - we enjoyed the views and would request it aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottish-German
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely old hotel restored from an old farmhouse. Our stay was in a great location to explore Tuscany. Hotel was clean, comfortable, and pleasing to the eye. Food was OK, breakfast was continental, with the usual cheese slices, salami, ham slices, croissants, bread, fruit, cereal etc. Room was comfortable, OK in size, although shower was fairly tight , but when you are only spending a short time in the hotel, it's not that important. I would have no hesitation in going back again. The only not so good thing about the hotel was the size and choice in the bar. A special thank you to Dino, who never tired of helping us with his knowledge of the area and was excellent throughout our stay. Overall I would give this place 4 out of 5, perhaps some wouldn't, guess it depends on how particular you are. I loved it and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Probably best to have a room at the back of the hotel, as at the front is a main road, even though t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexTrueblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

There was nothing wrong with the very nice restored farmhouse, the swimming pool, the quiet environment and the good location for trips to all the famous cities as Siena.
The showercabine was far to small (such a stupid steamcabine), no real bar (depending of front desk personel to get some drinks from the restaurant) and the swimming pool closes at 19:00. But worst of all was the chaotic service in the restaurant and the bad breakfast buffet: poor choice dry bread, cold scrambled eggs, sometimes fruit or yoghurt.Staff was more busy with themselves in stead of taking care of the clients.
Laundry service was not 24 hours but stuff was brought back spread over 3 days !
There was a 4-star sign but I would give it a 3-star max.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
443 reviews
308 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place is a nicely remodeled old farmhouse with lovely rustic rooms, AC, modern bathrooms (some with bathtubs, others only showers), a refreshing pool and lovely grounds to sit and relax.

Downsides are their restaurant in general (not cheap at as other pretend to say, the primi are reasonable but why to pay 5€ for "contorni"? I'm sure there will be more surprises on the "conto" as e.g. "pane e coperato" 4€/person (not on menu) or only bottles wines available? - usual tricks of restaurants to overcharge....

Another downside is their breakfast compared to other (even cheaper) hotels we stayed on this trip: Salami from Lidl, the cheapest pressed ham (no “crudo), only the Tuscan salt-less bread and the coffee “Americano” they offered tasted like water – cappuccino to order but not much better....

Average service limited English, personell smokes more outside than they work. Also remember that you need to pay 3€/day/device for Internet and 2€/towel at the pool if you don't bring your own from home. The hydro showers are absolutely too tiny (for kids only?). The road you can't hear much (which is a plus)

However I can recommend this place only for short overnight stays even the rates are very low (around 50-60€)

For dinner I recommend to drive 20mins down the highway to Paganico and visit "Il Castelluccio" or even better but also a bit more expensive "3 cantoni" on the road to Arcidosso

Room Tip: standard rooms have only tiny shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticiano
8.0 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.5 mi away
Albergo di Murlo
Albergo di Murlo
#1 of 1 in Murlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
10.5 mi away
La Melosa Resort
La Melosa Resort
#1 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
10.8 mi away
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
#2 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Ponte

Property: La Locanda del Ponte
Address: Localita Ponte a Macereto | Localita Ponte a Macereto, 53015 Monticiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monticiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monticiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Locanda del Ponte 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the enchanting atmosphere of the Tuscan countryside, only 19 km from Siena, stands Locanda del Ponte. An old Tuscan country house, where history, art and culture meet up to delight sight and spirit. Completely renewed, thanks to a careful reconstruction, the Hotel offers a special kind of hospitality which joins tradition and innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Locanda del Ponte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Ponte Hotel Monticiano
La Locanda Del Ponte Italy/Monticiano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing