We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and beautiful traditional Tuscan hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Locanda del Ponte
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monticiano
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and had a large suite on the top floor. The hotel is traditional Tuscan style with beams in the roof and old furniture. The hotel is conveniently located just off the main road and there is ample car parking space.

The hotel has it's own restaurant where the staff are very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Room 302 was a large suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saliboti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 417 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

We spent 10 days in Locanda del Ponte this summer. It is located by the road SS 223 what makes it easy to find when you leave the motorway. Locanda is a perfect place to sytay while sightseeing Tuscany-Siena is appr.20 km away, Florence, Montalciono, San Galgano, Montepulciano-places you really must see when in Tuscany.
The Hotel is really well-maintained. Stylish rooms (air-conditioned) and surroundings. The swimming pool is claen an makes a nice place to have some rest after sightseeing.
The Staff speaks English and is very helpful.
Italian breakfast-sweets, croissants, fruit, coffee, chocolate. But if you are used to "English breakfast" (sausages, scrambled eggs) you might be a little bit disappointed.
There are no shops nearby, so remember to do some shopping in the city.
I reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank je_suis_en_route
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We spent two days at Loconda del Ponte. Drove up into the hills off the highway to the village of Monticiano only to be told that the hotel was across the highway from where we turned off . The hotel is located in a very quiet peaceful setting with great pool area and grounds. Restaurant next to hotel had a very good dinner menu and wine list. The breakfast was very good,offering eggs any style. Internet access was very weak. Our room was clean and comfortable, bathroom likewise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Beautiful location set next to a river. The interior are beautifully decorated. The lobby had handcrafted woods, decor is rustic-Tuscan but very well kept. Swimming pool and boccie ball were in very good conditions. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with freshly baked tarts and cakes. The dinner at the restaurant was also superb.
The room had a great view of the fields. Very helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely go back at anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewMaster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We choose this hotel for a relaxing holiday after a long hard working period. The place is very nice, with a beautiful landscape on Tuscany hills.

We spend our time relaxing on the swimming pool and visiting Siena, a interesting Medieval city
We strongly recommend to everybody such a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElyFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

In summary: do not stay here - many hotels in the area are better and have lower rates.

The room was spacious, clean and with OK air conditioning. The beds were excellent. The bath/shower combination not particularly comfortable.

We choose the place for its advertised "fine Tuscany kitchen". What we got was microwaved deep frozen dishes, no fresh vegetables and horrible wines. An insult to Italian cuisine.

The pool was closed for cleaning 7 of our 14 day stay; so was the tennis court. Spa services are advertised but not available. The service level was minimal, staff at times rude and unhelpful. Internet service (€3 per hr) was slow (1 to 2 Mbit/s instead of 10 or 20). The pool area was dirty, and riddled with ants. Towels were available, but cushions were not; the parasols are worn out and too low.

The hotel is managed poorly, if at all. There are many hotels in the area that offer more at lower rates.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcodalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Good hotel but a terrible kitchen. Poor and unfriendly service in the restaurant.
Dessert was always the same (watermelons, melons, icecream and torte(pie) ).
Go eating elsewhere .

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dehaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticiano
12.9 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
446 reviews
5.5 mi away
Albergo di Murlo
Albergo di Murlo
#1 of 1 in Murlo
114 reviews
10.8 mi away
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
#2 of 4 in Roccastrada
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Antico Casale L'Impostino
Antico Casale L'Impostino
#2 of 6 in Civitella Paganico
115 reviews
8 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
358 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Bagnaia Golf & Spa Resort Siena, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Ponte

Address: Localita Ponte a Macereto, 53015 Monticiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monticiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monticiano
Price Range: $168 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Locanda del Ponte 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the enchanting atmosphere of the Tuscan countryside, only 19 km from Siena, stands Locanda del Ponte. An old Tuscan country house, where history, art and culture meet up to delight sight and spirit. Completely renewed, thanks to a careful reconstruction, the Hotel offers a special kind of hospitality which joins tradition and innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Locanda del Ponte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Ponte Hotel Monticiano
La Locanda Del Ponte Italy/Monticiano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing