We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Villa Ferraia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Ferraia
Wash, D.C.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed at a number of great places in Italy and didn't think they could be topped, until we stayed here. Vittorio and family are fantastic and they have designed the perfect Tuscany experience. Easy to get to and just 30 min from Siena (less depending on how fast you drive). There is plenty of parking and more than enough facilities to keep you and the family occupied if you don't want to leave the spacious grounds. It is also easy for day trips to Florence, Siena and other hill town sites in the area. Of extra benefit, Vittorio knows the Etruscan sites and is very helpful. The rooms are large by American standards and the attention to detail is superb. This is truly a 5-star location and the lodging, food, activities, service and support will make you never want to leave. If your bucket list includes a trip to Italy this should be the place you stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bulag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited in February and we loved it. It is absolutely beautiful and all of the conveniences of a large hotel. The accommodations and food were superb. There is plenty to do whether you spend your entire time at the villa or venture out to explore Tuscany. My trip to Italy also included Florence and Rome, which I loved. Had I spent my entire vacation at the villa, I would not have gone home disappointed. I loved it!

Room Tip: You can choose a suite or just a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I visited this Villa in May for a friend's wedding and it was gorgeous! The food was incredible, staff was gracious and the scenery was out of this world. I would absolutely recommend the Villa to anyone for a wedding, family vacation or girlfriend's getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mvchi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were fortunate enough to stay at Villa Ferraia for a week this past October. The pictures do not to do it justice. We drove through the gate and our jaws just dropped. We couldn't believe this was where we were going to be spending the next seven days. The drive up is an adventure. Most of the road is gravel/dirt and very bumpy but not so bad once you get the hang of it. We were greeted by Carolina and Vittorio. Both were very friendly and made sure we had anything we needed. After being shown around the property, we settled into our room which was more like a little house off the main house. The "room" was amazing. We had dinner that evening at the Villa. Patrizia is an amazing chef. Everything was great. I was completely spoiled after that meal because no other pasta tasted the same as her homemade pasta and Stefano's homemade sauce. Every morning we were greeted with a great breakfast and were offered eggs and hot beverages to order. Tatiana and Carolina were very gracious hostesses in the morning, getting us anything we needed and on some occasions helping us figure our where we would venture to that day. Vittorio took us on a tour of the property so we got to see pretty much everything about how the Villa is run. We met Stefano in the garden and he showed us around there. One night we were able to go to the Observatory and it was quite a show, despite being a bit overcast. The astronomer showed us several constellations and stars but the most amazing was seeing Jupiter through the telescope. Unbelievable. We were sad to leave but certainly hope to return again. Vittorio, Patrizia, Tatiana, Carolina and Stefano make you feel like family when staying here. I would definitely recommend it if you would like to splurge. As a side note, Vittorio mentioned he is putting together a Winter program and let us peak at the details. Another great offering from Villa Ferraia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cseventeenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Was there for 3 days on my friends wedding occasion. Property is really far away from any sound of civilization, but still nice, secure, clean and comfortable. Stuff extremely friendly and helpful. Food quality base on local ingredients that are absolutely fresh. Vegetarian friendly! Local red vine may trick you a wile, so take care;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergeyTripAdSergey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Beautifully located in the woods and forest of South Tuscany.
A small farmer village completely restored
Great tradicional food
Excellent view and perfect site for trekking and exploring the spectacular surroundings..very near to Siena and the famous S.Galgano Abbey

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bral51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The photos on Villa Ferraia's web site do not even come close to doing it justice! Everything was beyond expectation. Starting with the location and continuing on to the staff. Once you reach the top of the mountain, the views are spectacular! The villa itself was more than comfortable. Everyone in our party of 20 had their own space and plenty of it. The rooms were all lovely and very comfortable. The outdoor amenities were stunning to say the least. The pool was larger than expected ~ the kids (and adults) loved it! The hot tubs were all amazing, to sit and look out over the mountains in the nice warm water was an experience like no other. The pavilion was a relaxing place to sit, play cards, chat and escape from the sun for a bit. The observatory was really cool too! There was one night when the "professionals" came out and were able to show us the rings of Saturn along with many other amazing sights! I don't think the kids will ever forget it! There was so much to see and do we really didn't need to leave the property. However, we did venture out to Sienna and San Gimignano which were both easily accessible from the villa.

The best part of Villa Ferraia though is the staff. Tatiana is AMAZING! Every morning she met us with a smile and a wonderful breakfast! She continuously went above and beyond to make sure we had the best holiday ever!! My five year old ended up with some very itchy mosquito bites and I had not brought anything for it. Tatiana made sure that before the day was up, he had medicine for the bites. We arranged for several evening meals at the villa and Carolina and Stefano along with Tatiana made each one special! From the homemade pizza to the traditional Tuscan, each night was better than the previous. We had a cooking lesson with Stefano and it was truly one of the most fun evenings ever! (hopefully I will be able to recreate the food at home) Carolina is a hidden talent and is very knowledgeable about wine. She arranged a tasting for us on our last evening, it was a great way to end the trip. There was nothing they didn't do to make our stay one of the best ever.

Thanks a million times over to Patrizia and Vittorio for sharing their amazing Villa with us, and a million more thank you's to Tatiana for all the work you did to make this a great week!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rlmx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticiano
1.6 mi away
La Locanda del Ponte
La Locanda del Ponte
#1 of 1 in Monticiano
393 reviews
7.3 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castello di Tocchi
Castello di Tocchi
#4 of 8 in Monticiano
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Petriolo Spa Resort
Petriolo Spa Resort
#1 of 7 in Civitella Paganico
785 reviews
8.8 mi away
Agriturismo Il Mulino Delle Pile
3.4 mi away
Tenuta Il Santo
Tenuta Il Santo
#8 of 8 in Monticiano
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ferraia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ferraia

Property: Villa Ferraia
Address: Loc. Ferraia | Tocchi-Monticiano, 53015 Monticiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monticiano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Monticiano
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Villa Ferraia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ferraia Italy/Monticiano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing