We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and beautiful surroundings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monticiano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Podernovo di Monticiano
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Hospitality and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

With many many apartments to chose from in the Siena area, our gut feeling took us to Podernovo. And, as many times, that feeling was exactly right! The apartment was cosy and rustic, the bed was comfortable and the very basic kitchenette and bathroom clean. But above all the hospitality of Diana and Tito exceeded all expectations. Whether we wanted to have a quiet time at the apartment, go food shopping at local venues or sightseeing around Siena, they gave us just the information we needed, thought along with our plans and made arrangements where necessary. We felt very welcome and taken care of. With all the extra needs and cares of travelling with a two-and-a-half month old baby, we had a great holiday, not in the least because of Podernovo and its wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We all arrived tired after a hectic year at work and school and we relaxed straight away. The setting is stunning - so peaceful and yet so close to shops and bars if you wish to go. A very beautiful place indeed!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glynis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We booked holidays at Villa Podernovo by phone and internet so we didn't know exactly what we would find. What a great surprise! The place is incredibly beautiful and very well maintained. The owners were very, very helpful in every manner, kind and aproachable. We were 10 adults and 8 children with ages ranging from 6 months to 5 years old. As we had the whole place for us they were very discret and patient with our mess... We had a great time in a private dinner prepared for us and the food was very delicious and fresh. We definetely recommend it to anyone that wants a relaxing, calm, enjoyable, amazing and unforgivable holidays!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good but different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabymary22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Lovely location near little village of Monticiano. Village is 6 or 7 minute walk away. Diana and Tito the owners were very pleasant and helpful. Monticiano is about 30 minute drive from Sienna. You do need a car to get around the area. Overall a great relaxing get away from it all location.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Villa Podernovo in July this year for three nights. The location is fabulous, in the hills of Tuscany and the 18th century complex has been carefully brought up to date whilst maintaining its rustic charm.

We were greeted by Tito, who is very welcoming and speaks excellent English which helps for advice and guidance for activities in the local area.

The apartment we stayed in was superb and well furnished. The bathroom was modern and clean with an excellent power shower, the bedroom was spacious and the lounge/kitchen area extremely accomodating (in particular the sofa was very comfortable).

The price of the apartment is very reasonable when compared to the size.

Monticiano is the nearest town/village which is a secluded spot with a couple of bars and restaurants if you want to stay local in the evening, and a local supermarket stocks everything for your self-catering needs (closes early on a Wednesday)

Small downsides
Really peaceful during the day to chill out, relax and have a glass of wine. Unfortunately for us, there was a young family in the room beneath us and the cries did carry.

Overall, definitely worth a visit (especially for the Brunello wine).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the villa as a group of 14 for an intimate wedding. From the moment we arrived at the villa late on Saturday night it took our breath away, we were literally speechless that we were going to spend a week at this stunning place! After exploring every room we couldn't wait to see the villa in daylight to truly take it in.
The grounds, the pool, the views....all were amazing. A very well maintained place with 2 lovely owners, Tito and Diana who couldnt do enough for us.
The rooms were all beautiful, quaint Tuscan style apartments with everything you could need.
I would not hesitate to stay again or recommend it to anybody looking for a spot of luxury and relaxing in true Italy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_nag_to_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I seldom write reviews on-line, BUT I cannot stress how amazing Villa Podernovo is and so I had to this time. My wife happened upon the villa when we were looking to travel to Italy in August of 2010. We booked a few nights, though neither of us had ever even heard of Monticiano, because it seemed like the quiet getaway we were looking for in our visit to Tuscany. When we were in Florence, the guy we rented an apartment from, who is a native Italian and has travelled extensively, had never heard of Monticiano. He said it didn't exist! Perfect! The directions the villa provided for us driving from Florence were perfectly simple and easy to follow - AS LONG AS YOU FOLLOW THEM PROPERLY. We arrived with no problems at all, and were instantly blown away by the Villa. We were greeted by Diana, one of the owners, and later met her brother Tito, who co-owns it with her. They are two of the greatest people we've ever met. Very helpful and accommodating, and with the perfect taste to transform a 18th century farm house into an extremely comfortable and charming villa. The two days there were two of the best days I've ever had... A real slice of heaven We loved it so much that we planned to have our 5th anniversary celebration there. We had never had a proper wedding, and wanted an opportunity to bring our families together. We couldn't think of a more perfect place. We ended up having over 40 people show up (from all over the world) and had the most incredible celebration ever! Diana and Tito helped us plan everything and made it very easy for us. They did an AMAZING job on our ceremony, and since we rented the villa for the week for 20 of the guests to stay. For many of them (including a few who have travelled very little) it was the experience of a life-time, and no matter how much of a trek it was for them, as soon as they all arrived it became clear why we chose this place... We couldn't have hoped for better time. I Travel a lot and don't often return to the same place, expecially within a year of being there, but will count this as one of the few places that I will continue to visit throughout the years. It's a perfect Tuscan paradise. We also took a trip to the winery that provides the wines that the villa sells. "Il Paradiso di Frassina" which I highly recommend. They play Mozart for the vines with impressive results - the wines are delicious!... It was a wonderful thing to experience. Monticiano is a perfect little village, away from it all, with some decent restaurants (and a few amazing ones within a 15 minute drive), banks, a couple of bars, a bakery, a salon, pharmacy and a supermarket where you can stock up on anything you need to eat at the villa (they have a great butcher in there too!) for a very reasonable price. Thank you Tito and Diana... We can't wait to see you again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feldyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticiano
2.4 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
341 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Locanda del Ponte
La Locanda del Ponte
#1 of 1 in Monticiano
405 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Prategiano - Maremma Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo & Casale San Galgano
3.9 mi away
Agriturismo Il Mulino Delle Pile
0.3 mi away
Albergo Da Vestro
Albergo Da Vestro
#1 of 2 in Monticiano
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podernovo di Monticiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podernovo di Monticiano

Property: Podernovo di Monticiano
Address: Localita Podernovo 35, 53015 Monticiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monticiano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Monticiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Podernovo is an eighteenth-century a farmhouse with swimming pool near Siena that we have transformed into a cozy vacation villa. It is located in the heart of the Val di Merse, a region between the Crete Senesi and the Maremma, less known than Chianti or Val d'Orcia but perhaps even more authentic and yet to be discovered. The villa is only 3 minutes walk from the village which has all the necessary services. At the same time it enjoys privacy and is surrounded by well-kept green areas and Mediterranean woodland. The rental of the villa is ideal for families and group holidays. The individual apartments are also available for rental when the villa is not already privately rented. Villa Podernovo is also a romantic location for rustic-chic, festive weddings in San Galgano Abbey, which houses the legendary 'Sword in the rock'. The abbey is situated only 7 km from the villa and is a unique venue for weddings. This makes Villa Podernovo an ideal location for wedding celebrations and for a honeymoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Podernovo Di Monticiano Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing