We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to discover Tuscany.”
Review of Bosco della Spina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bosco della Spina
Ranked #2 of 3 Murlo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2007

We spent there 4 nights during our stay in Tuscany. The room was great, with a lot of space, great view and atmosphere. The staff was very helpfull, for example we got a good advice about free parking near Siena. The breakfasts were fine. The evening meal we had there was very special, and they have the best Tiramisu we have ever tasted. It is eazy to reach south Tuscany and the Chianti area from there (by car). Of course, when the resort is full, it could be a little noisy there - one night we heard kids voices from the neighbour room.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2pizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 150 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. Yes, the scenery is lovely. If it wasn't this would be a 1 star review. The room was clean. The staff seemed to be a bit over worked and genuinely not interested in how anybody's stay was going. You need to rent a car to get here, however noone can give you directions to anywhere. The town has no other restaurant, so if you stay here, you eat here. A bit over priced. Why they can't arrange fresh fruit rather than stale dried fruit for breakfast, i'll never know. Extra charge to clean the kitchenette, yet no cleaning fluid or sponge is provided for you to do it yourself, No internet access unless you want to get charged ridiculous dial up rates. Pool is small, gym is a joke. For a real tuscan experience, I would stay in a large town like Pienza, Montepulciano, Siena or Lucca and rent a car to explore the farmlands. Bosco della Spina wants to charge resort rates without providing any service. Not guest oriented at all.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank xianachanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Coventry, UK
13
Reviewed August 1, 2005

Tuscany is such a wonderful land! We booked a suite in this country Inn because we wanted to relax away from the hectic atmosphere of Italian art cities, always crowded with tourists. We love trekking, the woods of the area surrounding Siena are great for this and the staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful: they gave us maps and showed us the different routes we could follow.

The hotel was elegant and simple, the food excellent and most of all I enjoyed diving into the swimming pool after the day spent trekking. I would advise this hotel to anyone who loves arts, nature and relax, I am definitely going back there, there are so many things we didn't have the time to see.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2005

I don't recommend this place. They charge a lot for what you get. The web page looks wonderful and we had one of two story places but there were a lot of problems. The front door won't latch and we had to slam it many times to get it closed. The bathroom door downstairs stuck to the floor and had to be forced close. The shower up stairs didn't have a door and the water would pool in the middle of the bathroom were there was no drain. The bed upstairs made so much noise every time my friends moved that they got no sleep and I could even hear it downstairs. They have a kitchen but they provide no dish soap and if you don't tell them not to clean it, they charge you and extra 10 euros a day. They have beautiful grounds but you aren't allowed to have a picnic and can only eat in your room. There is no town close to walk to and it is inconvenient to things you would want to see in Tuscany. I would suggest staying somewhere in Chianti, like Greve.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Divebree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2005

We found Bosco Della Spina to be the wonderful experience one would expect from Tuscany. . The atmosphere of outdoor dining under a canopy of vines was very charming, and the service was excellent, and the staff were always cheerful, even when swamped with orders.

The food in particular, was excellent, with superb use of exceedingly fresh produce. Of note were the truffle dishes, which were definitely some of the best we've had (no offence to the French).

The apartment we stayed in was charming, well-equipped with a lovely view of typical picture-postcard view of the undulating Tuscan countryside. Usually late sleepers, we made it a point to get up to watch the sunrise everyday.

As for the pool, we found it to be pleasant-it was white and clean. We noticed that the pool was cleaned at least twice a day....and it looked fantastic at night.

Overall, we'd recommend Bosco Della Spina to anyone who'd like a charming and pleasant Tuscan retreat. We've travelled to many other resorts in Europe and Asia, and stayed in various places in Italy over th years. We're used to,expect and demand good service .We found Bosco Della Spina to be a place worth returning to.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidayhedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
532
Reviewed July 11, 2004

While this place is set in the beautiful Tuscan countryside. The owners are charging 4 star prices but not really giving you any service at all. The pool is very dirty. The lounge chairs were filthy. The rooms were OK, minimal. The best part was the food. They really worked hard in the restaurant. The main waiter was very good. Other than that, we saw better places to stay during our two day's in Siena. Personally, I would not recommend Bosco Della Spina.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 20, 2004

We never declare to be a 4 stars hotel: we are a residence but we don't rent just for weekly stay and the price includes also breakfast and daily cleaning (like an hotel) so to explaine this, sometimes we declare to be a country hotel but without declare the stars (beause we have not stars).

About prices: we have a little more expensive prices than other residences of same category because in the prices are included breakfast and daily cleaning. The prices are also more expensive than an hotel with same services because the rooms are very big (apartments instead of rooms), the details are very accurate (the forniture has been designed personally from the owners, both architects, and realized from local artisans) and there are all comforts that we consider indispensable to stay really well (a good bed, the view, a good temperature and the silence).

The service is not so perfect (for exemple we have not a porter and the bar is not open all day long and it is also possible that sometimes the swimming pool is not perfectly cleaned), in compensation the owners and the staff are at your complete disposal to help you to search best cities to visit, to organize your tours and to give you the directions.

The restaurant (how also the guests admit) is very good and our kitchen is very famous in Siena’s area because it is genuine and respecteus of old recipes.

We offer our selves like a small, family-run hotel where it is possible to enjoy of little thinks like silence, country view, good food and relax.

We really think that this guest's experience is not representative.
The owners of Bosco della Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murlo hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo di Murlo
Albergo di Murlo
#1 of 1 in Murlo
113 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fattoria Casabianca
Fattoria Casabianca
#1 of 3 in Murlo
799 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Countryhouse Suites & Apt. Vescovado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo I Pianelli
1.7 mi away
La Palazzina
La Palazzina
#1 of 9 in Murlo
63 reviews
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo Bagnolo
Agriturismo Bagnolo
#9 of 9 in Murlo
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosco della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosco della Spina

Address: Via della Tinaia 13, 53016, Murlo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Murlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Murlo
Price Range: $61 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosco della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Resort & Restaurant Bosco della Spina is situated 20 km south away from Siena, between Maremma’s woods and “crete senesi”. In a wonderful area of Siena still uncontaminated and peaceful, the hotel has been designed by their owner’s both architects to allow you enjoy the wonderful landscape of the Tuscan hills. The resort counts with 14 accommodations: apartments from 2 to 8 people for a total of 64 beds for short stays and also for just one night with hotel-services (like an hotel daily cleaning and breakfast are included).Either in the old cellars, in the covered terraces with their pergola or in the extremely comfortable and relaxing restaurant with its central fireplace, the excellent conventional cuisine can be appreciated. Cuisine, that follows with tradition and great care the classic Tuscan recipes with products coming directly from the owner´s family orchard (just a few meters away from the restaurant). Also very enjoyable the Tuscan red wine from their own production or either another wine from their restaurant-cellar that have been selected among the best Tuscany wines.You can also relax in the silence of swimming pool, on the terraces or in the gardens where a lovely Tuscany landscape can be appreciated with the sound of the refreshing fountains. Otherwise you can engage in gastronomic and cultural excursions because the hotel is near Siena but close to Montalcino, Pienza, Monteriggioni and Chianti area too.The hotel facilities counts also a wine tasting hall, a library and 2 conference rooms full equipped (from 30 to 100 pax) where it is possible to combine a relaxing stay with a business meeting.The familiar but also professional hospitality will ensure you a pleasant stay and our staff will help you planning your tours and excursions whenever you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bosco della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing