We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tuscany Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bosco della Spina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bosco della Spina
Ranked #2 of 3 Murlo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tuscany Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Modern day castleand winery nestled in the beautiful Tucan countryside. Large clean rooms, friendly staff, nice views. super value with great food at the restaurant. Loved their house made wine. One of the reviews was not kind - but it seems that the hotel took it to heart ... the towels were new the rooms were very clean including the shower which worked great (yes it is small) the Sky TV was included. Very relaxing atmosphere. We were there late April 2012.
We would love to return.

Room Tip: Two couples - get the suite - private rooms, baths,a common area with a private patio overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    42
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I found my stay most wonderful and can't believe complaints about there being no airconditioning as this is Tuscany and as we don't use air conditioning in our NYC apartment we didn't mind the air at all. The pool has a view onto a small valley where we spent a lot of time and the food was out of this world as we understand they get all the ingredients locally and is cooked by the owner fresh every day. The service was friendly and the room was much bigger than expected compared to other places we recommened. The only con we felt was that thé bathrooms were small with no bathtubs. I highly recommend this place to people who lové nature and à location with personality as they also make their own Wine on thé property, its very spécial!..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthewevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Warning: NO AIR CONDITIONING!! Rooms are too hot for tuscan summer eventhough they have cooled floors. We reserved for three nights expecting comforts of a resort as they claim but they only have a small pool. We spent the first night in a standard room and in the morning we found that the shower did not work well, water went everywhere, and worst of all the cheap towels had HOLES!!! This was too much adding the unbearable heat. We got upgraded to a superior room that was duplex with terrace but the heat problem remained unresolved. We checked out one night before and headed for perugia. The hotel has severe design problems like cooling, doors not closing in the showers, and no air circulation. Breakfast was very dissapointing..cheap products, no options to choose from! The second morning we brought in our own fruits and cereal. We do not recommend anyone this hotel. THIS IS NOT A RESORT.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RvelezVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We staid for 3 night in this place with two kids (2 & 4)
Pros: Beautiful view, close to Sienna, nice driving.
Cons: Poor maintenance, dirty pool (sad because is beautiful) dirty bathrooms with mold, dirty shower (my daughter found hair in the drain) the toilet didn't have a seat.
No AC, it was hell in that place, we requested a fan that was broken and noisy, poor ventilation, we opened one tiny window but we got hundreds of mosquitos, my 2 year old got red spot everywhere (no one slept that night), it has a little kitchen but you can't really cook in there (some times I have to cook for my kids)
Breakfast was ok...

We were so happy living this place. This was the only bad hotel during our trip : (

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themotherof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is a great inn. I took my 81 year old mother there for 5 days. We liked everything about it. Location is wonderful, calm and relaxing. It is located in a small village in the middle of Tuscany with fabulous views. The staff are great, very accomodating. The owners daughter in law was especially helpful and kind. The food is really outstanding. There is good variety with several changes each day, and everything seems incredibly fresh and is cooked perfectly. Also, the wines are great. And, all this, at reasonable prices! We enjoyed it so much, that we ate at the restaurant 4 out the 5 nights we were there. The night we ate out the owner's daugher in law recommended a great local spot. Room (deluxe double) was great, lots of space and a good terrace. Pool/grounds are very nice, and well maintained. The only thing which could have been a little better was the breakfast, but it was sufficient, and the coffee is very good. Don't think twice about staying here

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was a great place in all sorts of ways. The apartment was great, the terrace and views were outstandingly beautiful. The pool was just right (lost sun at about 5pm, which was perfect because still plenty warm enough). Our rooms were cleaned every day, with fresh towels provided. Clean, comfortable space to hide from the day-time sun from time to time.

It was great to have a kitchen in the apartment (sparsely equipped, but still perfectly adequate). Great breakfasts with lots of choice and FREE, amazingly. Dinners were perfect. Staff were friendly and caring, at the same time giving us lots of space, All in all, a wonderful, friendly, warm place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace: stunning views and table and chairs so you can eat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The change between June and July must have been extraordinary, judging by our experience versus the last review...or maybe the bad one had its desired effect!
We thought this place is superb: really well-designed rooms that offered spacious and superbly practical accommodation for a family of four, a beautiful setting in the Tuscan hills south of Sienna and in easy reach of gems such as Montepulciano, and excellent, simple food.
Yes, breakfasts are relatively basic (no hot options, for instance), but they are plentiful. Dinner makes up for it with sensible prices and good quality, and the wines (Sangiovese/Cabernet Sauvignon) are excellent, with very low levels of adulteration and filtering, leaving just sensational flavour.
At the end of the day, this is an inn rather than a luxury hotel, so details like the size of the pool may be fair comment albeit unfair, but there were absolutely no issues of cleanliness while we were there, and we found the service delightful.
A big plus here is the ability to use your family room as an apartment, in effect, cooking for yourselves if you want to keep costs down or not be tied to set restaurant timings; we used this a couple of times and had lovely family meals on the large patio overlooking Murlo Castle down the valley (absolutely wonderful setting), but indulged in the restaurant a couple of times and were not disappointed.
We most certainly SHALL be back - one of the best places we have encountered in Italy, out of many.

Room Tip: The Super Family rooms provide privacy for four behind roll-down electric screens, but could accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murlo
0.4 mi away
Albergo di Murlo
Albergo di Murlo
#1 of 1 in Murlo
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
3.6 mi away
Borgo Antico
Borgo Antico
#1 of 7 in Monteroni d'Arbia
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
#2 of 4 in Buonconvento
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
8.4 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 39 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
13.5 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosco della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosco della Spina

Property: Bosco della Spina
Address: Via della Tinaia 13, 53016 Murlo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Murlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Murlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosco della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Resort & Restaurant Bosco della Spina is situated 20 km south away from Siena, between Maremma’s woods and “crete senesi”. In a wonderful area of Siena still uncontaminated and peaceful, the hotel has been designed by their owner’s both architects to allow you enjoy the wonderful landscape of the Tuscan hills. The resort counts with 14 accommodations: apartments from 2 to 8 people for a total of 64 beds for short stays and also for just one night with hotel-services (like an hotel daily cleaning and breakfast are included).Either in the old cellars, in the covered terraces with their pergola or in the extremely comfortable and relaxing restaurant with its central fireplace, the excellent conventional cuisine can be appreciated. Cuisine, that follows with tradition and great care the classic Tuscan recipes with products coming directly from the owner´s family orchard (just a few meters away from the restaurant). Also very enjoyable the Tuscan red wine from their own production or either another wine from their restaurant-cellar that have been selected among the best Tuscany wines.You can also relax in the silence of swimming pool, on the terraces or in the gardens where a lovely Tuscany landscape can be appreciated with the sound of the refreshing fountains. Otherwise you can engage in gastronomic and cultural excursions because the hotel is near Siena but close to Montalcino, Pienza, Monteriggioni and Chianti area too.The hotel facilities counts also a wine tasting hall, a library and 2 conference rooms full equipped (from 30 to 100 pax) where it is possible to combine a relaxing stay with a business meeting.The familiar but also professional hospitality will ensure you a pleasant stay and our staff will help you planning your tours and excursions whenever you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bosco della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing