We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A recommendation well deserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Antica Trattoria

L'Antica Trattoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A recommendation well deserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We found ourselves in this restaurant almost by accident. Having arrived to a nearby hotel we found the restaurant on the premises closed for the day and the manager recommended that we should try L'Antica Trattoria. He was also very kind to give us a postcard with his name on the back, 'in case the place was full'. The card came in handy, because even on Tuesday night we were gently asked for a reservation. The Trattoria is not big, just a few tables and gets filled up quite easily.
The food and service were equally great. The owner and his helper made us feel very much at home and sincerely helped us find the right meal and wine to go with it. Colle-di-Val-d'Elsa is not the most typical tourist destination, but if I'm ever passing by on the highway, I'll be sure to find time to make a stop for another delicious meal.
A big 'Grazie mile' to the owner and the staff!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    66
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Had lunch on a Sunday. Restaurant not busy but clientele were well to do citizens. Menu traditional with some additional interesting dishes. The Porcini (in season) and Pecorino antipasti was simple prepared and delectable. Prima was house speciality gren risotto .. a dish to savour . . main course another house speciality . . rabbit stuffed with vegetable and dessert Tiramisu . . excellent . . good and wide selection of wine . . the head waiter was very knowledgeable and discrete . . Prices for the quality was reasonable.

Also across the square is a nice bakery and gelato shop . . .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben-Saud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was an anniversary meal so we were looking for something special, and were willing to eat in this quite expensive restaurant. We had eaten here twice in 2012 and had had a good experience, but this year we we're put in a room on our own with no atmosphere at all. The main room which was lively still had spare tables. When we asked about this we were told that the tables in the main room were not for couples! We both had fillet steaks which were among the most expensive items on the menu. Sheila's steak was tough and grisly, but when we brought this to the owner's attention he shrugged his shoulders and made no attempt to compensate. We were left with the feeling that we were doing them a favour by eating there. From this bad experience we would like to exempt our waitress who was very pleasant, but we shall not be going back again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris and Sheil... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good and expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

It is a very nice restaurant on the main square . The food was great and service as well. Be informed that this is not a cheap restaurant, we have paid a lot for a dinner. But no complain about this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Atacan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Makes sense to spend a dinner there. Food and atmosphere are great and service is as need to be. We went for the menu which cost us 40 eur very reasonable including wine, dessert and coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Antica Trattoria also viewed

Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 

Been to L'Antica Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing