We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifetime memory!”
Review of Arnolfo

Arnolfo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $127 - $220
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our house, it consists of four floors with a roof terrace and two private dining rooms, the main dining room, with a view of a Tuscan hill with great charm, Arnolfo Restaurant can accommodate up to thirty guests, a private room and a maximum of eight persons. These rooms can be combined to accommodate up to a maximum of thirty guests. There is availability for the exclusive use of the house, the two dining rooms and the terrace for a drink, The upper floors have four bedrooms, reserved for guests of the restaurant can accommodate up to a maximum of eight persons.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

The two Sicilian brothers Giovanni and Gaetano started Arnolfo in 1982 in the old historic part of Colle di Val’Elsa.

The restaurant has a beautiful indoor dining room but this warm summer evening the dining took place outdoors on the terrace with a stunning view of the Tuscan hillside.

We were cheerfully greeted by Giovanni and a young lady who led the way down the stairs to the terrace. Maybe 10 tables on the terrace and 4-5 knowledgeable waiters/sommeliers to serve and make your dining an unforgettable memory – we really felt spoilt from the start and the wow-factor is sky-high.

My husband and I both choose the set menu “Contemporary evolution” for 160 Euro/person mainly based on fish and shellfish. We started our culinary adventure with a glass of sparkling Ferrari wine whilst admiring the view and then choose a bottle of white Tuscan wine to accompany the menu. Crispy and tasty bread snacks were served followed by different pre-starters from the kitchen. Then the dishes were served in a nice pace – all in all the dinner took 2 ½ hours as the service was efficient but we never felt stressed. You might think that eight dishes plus extra free starters will fill you up but the portions are well balanced. Of course the dishes are exquisite and beautiful as paintings as you can expect from a place like Arnolfo. Well, it’s a lifetime culinary memory well worth to invest in. In total our experience costed 460 Euro….

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cajsawarg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaetano T, Proprietario at Arnolfo, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018


Your reviewit's so detailed, thank you for sharing your experience.
WE are really proud of our team who works with passion and love.
We look forward to welcoming you again
Have a beautiful Summer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 575 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2018

Party of 4 choose the meat tasting menu without wine pairing - after the 6 amuse bouche we were treated to an array of Tuscan cuisine at its best - outstanding presentation, service and food - even managed a photograph with the owner & chef

2  Thank DJ2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaetano T, Proprietario at Arnolfo, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Thank you for using your precious time to share your experience.
I feel even more proud of my team when I read reviews like this one.
We work hard and try our best in order to give you an unforgettable night.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

We eat at fine restaurants throughout the world. Blue Hill in NY, Centro in Lima, Noma (original) in Copenhagen, Frechette 58 in Modena. Unfortunately we wasted a lunch in Tuscany (and some money) on Arnolfo.

We chose the ala carte menu vs the full tasting menu. Some of the starter chef's tastings were interesting but frankly nothing special. Two people in our party ordered a shrimp appetizer and neither thought it was properly cooked (too raw). One woman in our party had the temerity to request butter with the bread basket and was promptly and snootily (at best) informed that Italy is "not known" for it's butter, when she insisted, butter was served but we were assured it was "French" butter and not Italian, because again, Italians are not known for their butter.

I ordered a ravioli dish for my main, and it was just uninspired.

Two people in our party ordered the beef entree and seemed happy with it, and the wines we ordered were fine.

Frankly, the bread basket with breadsticks and a nice flatbread, was the most interesting and flavorful element of the meal.

The setting and room is very nice, but the staff, though attentive, is pretentious, patronizing and not at all warm or genuinely friendly.

If you're looking for a very expensive "formal" dining experience, with small portions, and food that's trying to be "inspired" and not really succeeding at it, and a staff that's like an all male Italian version of "Stepford Wives" - this is your place. For us, we'll go back to NOMA, Blue Hill or Centro, and enjoy truly innovative food in a more casual, fun and relaxed environment.

And when we're in Italy again, in September, we'll stick to small, family owned Osterias and Tratoria's for the wonderful food and atmosphere that we've always loved about eating in Italy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NYtravelingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaetano T, Proprietario at Arnolfo, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Dear.
You missed few informations.
You had a reservation for dinner and you wanted to cancel it 2h before your schedule arrival.
Since you were supposted to pay the penality we suggested you to move the reservation from dinner to lunch, finding a compromise for you.
We prefer rather than get the penality to have our costumers sitted at the table.
That night we had 2 empty tables because of you, considering that you travel all over the world and join a lot of Michelin stars restaurants you must know the economical loss you caused.
I'm surprised about your "butter complain". Italy isn't known for butter, espetially not in Tuscany, as you could notice during your stay, we have got plenty of Olive trees, that's what we have, that's our tradition.
Since we have 4 Relais&Chateaux rooms we keep butter for breakfast, Great French Butter. They are one of the best in this field.

You arrived already biased, there was no way to make you change your mind.
In my opinion it's not polite compare different restaurants, everyone has his own philosophy, I'm sorry you didn't like ours. But most of all I'm sorry because you made fun of my Team, they are good people, hard workers, you made fun of people without any reason.
("all male Italian version of "Stepford Wives" ??????)
We are happy to hear constructive criticism in order to improve our work but this is not the case.

Enjoy Italy in September

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

Outstanding quality and presentation of food. You will appreciate the personalised service of all the staff including the chef who personally introduced himself to everyone. A world class experience!!!

1  Thank BlancheHeperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

This was an excellent way to spend a 30th birthday! The food was sublime and well worth paying the money for.
I would say that the service was pretty slow - we arrived at 8pm and didn’t leave until after 11pm ... I think they hurried the service up when they noticed I was practically asleep on the table!
All fantastic food and well worth going! We have eaten at 6 Michelin starred restaurants in 2 weeks, and our assessment was that it was good but we couldn’t 100% get on board with the fact that it was a 2 starred restaurant - it wasn’t significantly better than the 1 starred, but was still very good.

1  Thank GabriellaFenella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnolfo also viewed

Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 

Been to Arnolfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing