We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenuta di Mensanello

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tenuta di Mensanello
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

This was our second visit to Tenuta di Mensanello and it was every bit as good as last time. I even brought my parents along because I knew they would love it. The apartments are basic, but have everything you need. You don't need a/c because the big stone buildings stay nice and cool during the day and it gets cool at night so you can open the windows (there's netting to keep the bugs out). It's so peaceful and lovely and the staff are so friendly. The pool was lovely and refreshing and never busy. It's in a great location too, within driving distance of most of the main towns in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinytate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    47
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SE England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed in a six person apartment near to the main house. The apartment was spacious and adequately furnished with modern appliances with two well equipped bathrooms. Everything was clean and well maintained, and although there was no AC it was comfortable enough in the very hot weather we had during our stay. No problem with insects in the house as insect screens on all windows did the job. Excellent pool and attractive gardens a few paces from the apartment. Restaurant was popular and we enjoyed our 5 course dinner - quality Tuscan fare with wine, coffee, liquers all for 20e per head. All the staff were friendly and helpful; particularly Carla and Elena who were there to help at all times. Surrounding countryside is stunning, and although a working farm Mensanello is quite idyllic.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

We were blown away by our stay at Mensanello. The staff was amazingly accommodating, allowing us to book the same day as arrival, and staying up late to welcome us. Our apartment was amazing value, by far the best deal we had on our entire trip to europe. It was scrupulously clean, even though they didn't have advance warning of our arrival. The furnishings weren't brand new, but we didn't even notice - everything was comfortable and well stocked. The view outside our apartment was unbelievable - the perfect tuscan getaway. The pool was wonderful and huge - everything was set up for our enjoyment. It was a wonderful spot that we will dream of for a long time to come. Yes agrotourismo means staying on a working farm, but when it's an olive oil and vineyard, life doesn't get much better. We were able to get amazing wine and oil from the reception desk, and couldn't have been happier. As others have mentioned, it's about a 30 minute drive to Florence, so we were able to use Mensanello as our base, and travel to Florence for dinner. Definitely will recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whereinthew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

The Villa is far enough from the little town but not too far. When you arrive it is on top of a lovely little hill surrounded by little forests and culitvated land like vineyards and olive trees. It is in a fabulous location where no one bothers you. The apartments are all separated so you truely have your own space on the top of a hill. The rooms are organized and clean. Each apartment is unique and shaped to its space. There are amazing old trees everywhere you look and they make you feel at peace. An organized layout of the land and great people working there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTaylorSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treviso
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

My friends and I stayed at Tenuta di Mensanello last weekend. I choose this holiday farm for the location (close to s. Gimignano, Siena, Florence...) and also because we could rent a big flat.
The internet pictures look quite different than the real aspect of the house! Anyway the flat was clean and well furnished but the garden and the main building of the Tenuta (where restaurant and swimming pool are located) weren't well-kept.
The dinner s were simple and the food was good but they can improve their manniers as the girls looked a little bit bored and even if we pay an high total cost for the flat & restaurant we payed up to the last penny (also for the last bottle of wine, cost 5€!!!!).
Elena at the reception is friendly girl and gives helpful information.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D79Treviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid, España
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

I spent15 days In Tenuta and i was very disappointed. The pictures of the houses in the web site seemed quite nice, but our house was poor, not clean, and quite careless. Although the owner noticed us that the house was far form the main complex, we can't imagine that we were complety isolated, and surronded by wild pigs very near the house. Our house wasn't a comfortable place to stay outdoor, because was in an abrupt forrest, and very near the wild pigs, so the smell and the bugs made you imposible to stay outside. Inside the house there were a little and very old forniture (the table was plenty of wood warms...). The sofa was unconfortable and old. The mosquito nets were completely broken, so that was a paradise for bugs. The placement of the complex is perfect to visit tuscany area. I don't recomend this house if you travel with childrens.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the house
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank prnavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

This picturesque farm village offers rustic villas restored with all the modern comforts. Our location in the countryside offered a peaceful home base for exploring the region, perfect for our family of 4 traveling by car. The unit was clean and the staff was friendly and customer service oriented. On site is a beautiful pool within close proximity to all the rental units. We have stayed several times and will surely return again.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CN33469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
0.0 mi away
Villa Sabolini Hotel
Villa Sabolini Hotel
#4 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.2 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Agriturismo Nerbona
Agriturismo Nerbona
#2 of 21 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Agriturismo Borgo Santinovo
Agriturismo Borgo Santinovo
#1 of 21 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Pieve di San Martino
La Pieve di San Martino
#6 of 21 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Mensanello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Mensanello

Property: Tenuta di Mensanello
Address: Localita Mensanello 34, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Expedia so you can book your Tenuta di Mensanello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Mensanello Italy/Colle Di Val D'Elsa, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing