We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Della Rovere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2009

A very nice hotel with wonderful staff. As commented, the rooms are large but spartan and the grounds beautiful. The location works well for day trips to Sienna, Montepulciano, Montereggerio, etc.

The staff provided the best service we received while in Italy and were tipped accordingly. For a country location for Tuscany travel, on a budget, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelalotandalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 456 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2009

Relais Della Rovere is a beautiful little hotel in Colle Di Val D'Elsa. It's a great value, the rooms have pretty views, the staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and it's within walking distance of the town, where there's a great restaurant -- Ristorante L'antica Trattoria.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhefter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

LOCATION:
South-east suburb of Colle di Val d’Elsa – about twenty/ thirty minutes walk into the centre of the old town. Gorgeous converted abbey with substantial grounds, swimming pool, outdoor restaurant and café close to the pool. Ample parking available in the grounds.

SERVICE:
All staff were lovely, welcoming and helpful.

ROOMS:
Heaps of character, very clean and spacious, well furnished, with wooden beams, AC, mini bar, TV, seating area. Huge, well equipped bathroom and roll-top bath. Views over the grounds.

RESTAURANT:
Breakfast was the best we had in Tuscany (we stayed in 7 hotels!) – cereals, rolls, yoghurts, croissants, cheese, cold meats, freshly cut / prepared fruit – plus eggs, bacon, quiches etc which most other hotels we stayed in didn’t stretch to.

Dinner was excellent - we found the service was good, the setting lovely (in an outdoor courtyard), the menu had a very good choice for us, and the food superb. We stayed at the hotel for three nights, ate there for 2 nights but opted to walk over the road to the Il Cassato Pizzeria for the third night, which was quite good too.

THINGS TO DO IN THE LOCALE:
Colle di Val D’elsa is a quiet town, not so busy as some with tourists – you should take the glass lift up from the lower town to the higher old town. This would be a good base to visit Siena and the hilltop towns – we particularly liked Monteriggioni, San Gimignano, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano, and Castellina in Chianti.

SUMMARY:
A wonderful hotel! I would stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We spent 2 wonderful nights at the hotel. Had read a review regarding location and were initially disappointed that it was not more rural however on entering the grounds there was no awareness of the built up area around. Our room and bathroom were large, modern and very clean. We ate in the courtyard garden both nights, the food and service were excellent. The pool area felt very relaxed with well tended gardens. A comfortable hotel with very friendly and attentive staff. Would return.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank MrsPerfectScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We stayed 4 nights at the Relais Della Rovere. The hotel itself is nice and very convenient to visit Tuscany (close to motorway...)

The staff is very nice and does its best but is quite bungling and disorganised:
- for e.g. one says "yes" and the other says "no" to questions we asked (I still do not know if there is some icecream at the bar: but I did not manage to get some in the afternoon...)
- we reserved in advance a table at the restaurant of the hotel for a diner at 9 pm but when we arrived we were told to wait another 30 minutes (just examples...)

The worst of the stay was the view from the room (see picture) and some blood on our sheets when we arrived (see 2 pictures). Even more serious, they first refused to change the sheets (which was done after we insisted).

Another cleanlees problem was the swimming pool that was quite dirty.
Finally the air conditionning device leaked all the time: we had some water in the room (we moped up with a towel...)

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jefrfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaisdellarovere, General Manager at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2008

Although not surprised we are really sorry and upset about french guests comment on August the 5th. In a way, sadly to say we were all expecting it…
We had some signals about having to deal with peculiar and maybe difficult (not to say rude) customers the moment these guest arrived in our hotel. We would like to explain why:

The guests booked a room with us ( room 206, one of our best standard rooms, which is also published on our website), and after having seen the room, immediately complained about the view from the window; this maybe because from that window you can see one of our extensions with other rooms for guests.
The couple asked for a change of room, and to that we answered that our last possible available room was a luxury suite, that we would have been happy to offer with a supplement (although reduced in price). Our offer was refused.

It is important for us to specify that the price payed by french guests was already a special rate, because the booking came trough an Expedia fee of 112,75 Euro, against our normal rate which is 229,00 Euro. This doesn’t mean that we thought of them as second class customers, and as a matter of fact , knowing that the following day we would have had a room free, we immediately offered the change of room for the day after. While we were referring all this to the french guests wife, we were noticing that the french guests would not let us finish what we were trying to say, interrupting all the time in a particularly rude way

After having reassured our guests about the change of room the following day, we thought to have solved the upset. But… The following morning the couple complained strongly about some blood stains on their bedding.
We immediately asked if they had signaled the fact to our receptionist on duty, and the answer was that they did report and the receptionist answered that nothing could be done about it.
Strangely enough, knowing and trusting our personell, when asked, our receptionist on duty told us that nothing at all was reported to him that evening.
At this point , I personally went, together with a receptionist and a cleaner to check : with our surprise we saw some very fresh blood stains on the sheets. This looked pretty much like a stain produced that very morning.

With the help of some pictures we would just like to state the following:

1) See yourself in the 2 pictures the view from room 204 and evaluate the distance of the other building
2) The picture with the blood stain seems suspiciously altered because our sheets are white and these look brown…Was maybe this an attempt to alter the reality?



We choose to stop this narration here. We are not detective fiction writers looking for a culprit.
We have been on the market for 25 years and it does not amuse us to aknowledge, every now and then, to meet this type of customers. In our experience we know it can happen….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This is a beautiful old building that have had a perfect conversion in to hotel. All the common areas of the hotel are great, and apperantly a number of the rooms are also very nice. However, we stayed in one of the "superior" rooms which was big and clean, but very basic in decoration and furniture.

The hotel is not to far from the city centre, but I would not recomend walking to the city as you will have to walk along busy roads before you enter the city.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mtogsverd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We stayed in Siena one nite and decided that we wanted to stay an extra nite but our hotel in Siena (which was nothing special at all) was booked so we had to find somewhere else to stay. We weren't initially thrilled with having to book at the Hotel Della Rovere since it was about a 20 min cab ride from the heart of Siena, but when we got there - wow were we impressed! This was the nicest room we stayed in in all of Italy; clean, modern, just gorgeous, with stairs that led up to a huge washroom. Not only that but I had my most memorable meal out of a two week stay in Italy at this hotel's restaurant. The pistachio pasta is out of this world. Mark my words - though the hotel is not right IN Siena, it's still fabulous and well worth the trip. And know that you'll get a meal that you'll be thinking about as a highlight of your stay in Italia!

Stayed: July 2008
Thank valsy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
1.0 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
949 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#3 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
83 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Sabolini Hotel
Villa Sabolini Hotel
#2 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Tre Perle B&B
Le Tre Perle B&B
#6 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera
Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera
#5 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Della Rovere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Della Rovere

Address: Via Piemonte 10 | Localita la Badia, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range: $99 - $1,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Della Rovere 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Della Rovere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Della Rovere Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Relais Della Rovere Italy/Colle Di Val D'Elsa, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing