We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good Hotel in Unpromising Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Della Rovere
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really Good Hotel in Unpromising Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stuck between the tourist traps of San Gimignano and Siena, Colle Val d'Elsa is the ugly sister hilltop town of the region. Which is a pity because on the outskirts, in an unpromising residential quarter next to the main road, lies a really good hotel with 5* qualities in a 4* establishment. Set in a residence of the cardinal who went on to be Pope Julius II, this is a really first class original hotel with a number of really nice touches. The staff are very professional and helpful with all manner of queries. You do need a car to make the best of the area because it's a 15 minute drag out of town. But with that caveat, it must be a winner in anyone's list of places to stay in the region. The restaurant is classy, set in an undercroft, albeit with a limited menu - so really good for one night but not several. It does have an extensive and interesting wine list but there were good relatively inexpensive wines as well as stuff for Russian nouveau-riche lookalikes. It is a surprisingly quiet location and the bedrooms and beds are good for a good night's sleep. Walls are not that soundproof though - which is the reason to knock off a rating point. Breakfast is comprehensive if in the Italian continental style. Good scrambled egg is the stand-out.

Room Tip: We had a room in a converted out house, very spacious; so apart from one room next door with the typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest
we thank you for your review full of useful for the next customer at the Relais della Rovere**** and we hope to see you again at Relais della Rovere****
We welcome,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    148
    42
    12
    4
See reviews for
73
239
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived as was a very atmospheric historical group of buildings and gardens. We stayed in one of the superior rooms in the garden which was spacious and clean but lighting was poorly designed, and the shower was a disabled one which was not good for normal use. However interior of hotel is lovely and staff were good. We ate in the Cardinale restaurant in the cellar- good quality but on expensive side. Drinks in the bar were expensive but nice nibbles came along with them. Breakfast was also a good selection of everything required.
Good value for money - would return if in the area.
A short drive to centre of "new town" and then a glass lift up to the fabulous old town of colle di val d'elsa- untouched for hundreds of years.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest
many thanks for your attention about all our services We hope you'll welcome again at Relais della Rovere*****
Friendly Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for four nights. The room was not as clean as expected, otherwise bog standard. Bathroom was large and good, the only problem was lack of showercurtain - so the floor got unnecessarily wet. Breakfast was very good, but hard to get the attention of the waiters. The hotel is a short walk (15 minutes) from Col de Val d'Elsa and a great location for exploring Tuscany by car. The highlight of our stay were the restaurant in the basement: "Il Cardinale".
The food was superb and great value for money. Across the street from the hotel is a large family-restaurant which is a good alternative - even more reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ofHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
any suggestion is important for us and we hope you'll come back to Tuscany again on summertime to discover Relais della Rovere and all our services.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very nice place to stay right in Tuscany countryside.

Not too far away from historic Siena and also San Gigmniano.

Rustic farmstay touch, large ceilings, spacious rooms, suites, diversified breakfast with local dishes.

They have preserved so much history in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivekAnand73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest
we find in your review a new word about Relais della Rovere:..... so much history in this hotel.....you are so right!
Our Relais is an old Abbey of the 11 century later house of Cardinal Giuliano della Rovere (Pope Giulio II°) that after an accurate restoration is now a superior four stars hotel.
Many thank for your stay and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This has to be the most amazing places in Colle di Val d'Elsa! The staff is wonderful, the owner (Marco) has given us a very special place to stay in Tuscany, thank you for sharing your beautiful work with us. The breakfast was great, very nice setting; the rooms are perfect and full of history. Great location too, easy to get around. Can't wait to visit again! We stayed for 2 weeks, perfect place for day trips around Tuscana.

Room Tip: If you have a chance to visit with the owner, Marco, don't be afraid to ask questions about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNUDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
a long stay at Relais della Rovere can offer many great experiences! We hope to see you again, you'llbe WELCOME to us. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very nice hotel. Serving fine food...... but to be honest, after the first night we popped across the road for the next 3 nights to the local restaurant above the local bakers and chemists. They didn't speak much English, we barley speak Italian, but we somehow managed to get by, drinking excellent local wine, eating brilliant rustic food and served by great staff. I can't remember the name of the place but I don't think they get many tourists...... but MANY locals..... always the best places to go.

Sorry I have reviewed the place across the road more, but it was the highlight of my holiday, along with the translations from Italian to English of the Hotel swimming pool regulations..... Have a read, it will make you chuckle! The hotel was lovely though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest
we thank your for your review and we hope to see you again at Relais della Rovere on next summer to discover our park and summing pool ...you will welcome!
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Relais Della Rovere has so much potential, lovely old buildings and situated in Tuscany. My room was a standard room and was fairly basic, just a room and bathroom. I noticed as did a number of other guest that there was no kettle for tea/coffee in the room, which was a little strange. Presumably they have them in more expensive rooms. The room was clean, bed was very hard so a little uncomfortable, but from talking to other guest travelling in our party I was not the only one with a hard bed! Breakfast was lovely, very plentiful and the staff in the breakfast room were attentive. We had a set menu booked on our final evening and as some of us were allergic to the food provided as the main course we asked if we could have a vegetarian option. We were told that we would have to pay an additional nine euros for this. We had little choice but to accept this and were presented with a small,bland vegetarian dish which would have cost far less than the original meal that others in our party had. This was the final straw for me and we felt taken advantaged of. The staff in the restuarant were also quite rude. This hotel could be an ideal base from which to see Tuscany, close to Sienna, Florence and other surrounding towns but it is not as isolated as some of the pictures make it out to be, It is surrounded by roads. The cafe/bar directly opposite this hotel sell snacks and the staff are all lovely, very friendly. There is also an pizza/pasta restuarant accross the road that is quite pleasant for a relaxed, informal meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelliiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest
we apologize for the inconvenience to the restaurant but we hope your stay at Relais della Rovere will remain a beautiful memory.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
1.0 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#4 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.7 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Sabolini Hotel
Villa Sabolini Hotel
#3 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Della Rovere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Della Rovere

Property: Relais Della Rovere
Address: Via Piemonte 10 | Localita la Badia, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Della Rovere 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Della Rovere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Della Rovere Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Relais Della Rovere Italy/Colle Di Val D'Elsa, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing