We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for touring Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Della Rovere
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Location for touring Tuscany”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very nice hotel. Serving fine food...... but to be honest, after the first night we popped across the road for the next 3 nights to the local restaurant above the local bakers and chemists. They didn't speak much English, we barley speak Italian, but we somehow managed to get by, drinking excellent local wine, eating brilliant rustic food and served by great staff. I can't remember the name of the place but I don't think they get many tourists...... but MANY locals..... always the best places to go.

Sorry I have reviewed the place across the road more, but it was the highlight of my holiday, along with the translations from Italian to English of the Hotel swimming pool regulations..... Have a read, it will make you chuckle! The hotel was lovely though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest
we thank your for your review and we hope to see you again at Relais della Rovere on next summer to discover our park and summing pool ...you will welcome!
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    152
    43
    14
    4
See reviews for
78
245
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Relais Della Rovere has so much potential, lovely old buildings and situated in Tuscany. My room was a standard room and was fairly basic, just a room and bathroom. I noticed as did a number of other guest that there was no kettle for tea/coffee in the room, which was a little strange. Presumably they have them in more expensive rooms. The room was clean, bed was very hard so a little uncomfortable, but from talking to other guest travelling in our party I was not the only one with a hard bed! Breakfast was lovely, very plentiful and the staff in the breakfast room were attentive. We had a set menu booked on our final evening and as some of us were allergic to the food provided as the main course we asked if we could have a vegetarian option. We were told that we would have to pay an additional nine euros for this. We had little choice but to accept this and were presented with a small,bland vegetarian dish which would have cost far less than the original meal that others in our party had. This was the final straw for me and we felt taken advantaged of. The staff in the restuarant were also quite rude. This hotel could be an ideal base from which to see Tuscany, close to Sienna, Florence and other surrounding towns but it is not as isolated as some of the pictures make it out to be, It is surrounded by roads. The cafe/bar directly opposite this hotel sell snacks and the staff are all lovely, very friendly. There is also an pizza/pasta restuarant accross the road that is quite pleasant for a relaxed, informal meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelliiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest
we apologize for the inconvenience to the restaurant but we hope your stay at Relais della Rovere will remain a beautiful memory.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This spot was great and in a great location for exploring Tuscany. The staff is friendly and willing to help in anyway they can. It was quiet and the room was nice. They also set us up with a very fun cooking class in Siena which we'd definitely recommend. My only complaint is that they just need softer sheets!

Room Tip: We didn't like our first room, but simply asked for a different one which they nicely gave us th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoLo828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you for your suggestion and we are happy you spent good time at Relais della Rovere.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

After a week touring Italy and staying in 3 star hotels, we were ready for a luxurious experience. This hotel did not dissapoint. Very good and attentive staff, excellent restaurant, beautiful and historic property, large rooms with nice furnishings, spa bathtub, free parking, good wifi in the rooms, comfortable bed and linens, good breakfast, very quiet and peaceful. Overall, a great hotel !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferkoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,
merci pour votre commentaire, mais surtout nous sommes particulièrement heureux de votre bon séjour au Relais Relais della Rovere.
Salutations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bnei Tzion, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel ticked all the boxes. The location was excellent, very close to the Chianti region (about 20min), Florence (about 40min) and Siena (about 20min). It was remote enough to be nice and quiet but close enough to all spots of interest to prevent the hassle of commuting (not that driving around the Tuscan countryside can really be called a hassle).
The room was luxurious, the staff friendly and accommodating and the food excellent.
Point of notice - we stayed there on a B&B basis, so we didn't really get to sample the hotel's facilities. The pool looked very nice, but it was too cold outside to swim. The hotel restaurant also seemed nice, but we didn't get to eat there.
All in all a very good hotel. I'd recommend it to anyone seeking a romantic retreat with some style.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
all your information we wrote about Relais della Rovere will be usefull for your next clients.
Many thanks and we hope to see you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our 2 nights spent here were wonderful. The grounds are beautiful: lovely courtyard, huge pool area, olive trees and a view across the valley to the old town. The building served as a convent in its' early history and the facilities are carved out of the ancient walls. My room was spacious, quiet, and had everything I needed. We ate at the on site restaurant Il Cardinale one evening and it was delicious. A small bar serving cocktails and small appetizers was open every evening before dinner. Breakfast was served in a lovely room and was generous. The desk staff were wonderful in recommending routes and special towns to see in Tuscany, it is a central locale from which to discover both Chianti and Tuscany. Highly recommended!
Note-the facility is not accessible for the most part, many unusual levels and step ups as you would expect with an ancient building. There is an elevator but from the elevator to my room there were two small landings with steps.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guests
we really thank you about your careful review. We hope to welcome you again at Relais della Rovere, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel was really beautiful. Very serene and the grounds were just really pretty. Our room was very spacious. My hubby didnt love that there was no shower- only a big tub, which i loved.The staff was super nice and helpful. the restaurant was yummy and the people really friendly who worked there. One night when we got back pretty late - 3:00 am, we got locked out of the gate and we had to ring the bell 100 x to no avail to get in. i think the guy fell asleep behind the counter. :) i had to call using my cell phone which thank god i had with me or we wouldve been sleeping in the car that night. Theres a restaurant across the street which was ok, and a cafe with very nice people working there. The only bad thing for us was it was about a 40 min drive from florence where we went every day we were there, so just beware if your driving and want to visit florence. other than that- highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSIE1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellarovere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Della Rovere, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Client
each review is useful to give information to our next guests, so you are right that Relais della Rovere - a peaceful sanctuary - is located close to Siena/San Gimginano/Monteriggioni and Chianti area and more far for Florence but easy to reach every day in half and hour. We hope to see you again at Relais della Rovere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
1.0 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
913 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#4 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
67 reviews
2.7 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
630 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Sabolini Hotel
Villa Sabolini Hotel
#2 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Tre Perle B&B
Le Tre Perle B&B
#6 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Della Rovere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Della Rovere

Property: Relais Della Rovere
Address: Via Piemonte 10 | Localita la Badia, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Della Rovere 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Relais Della Rovere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Della Rovere Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Relais Della Rovere Italy/Colle Di Val D'Elsa, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing