We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at here for two nights in the middle of November. We were a little uncertain about whether or not we'd chosen the right town for a transition spot between our travels in southern Tuscany and our ultimate departure from Pisa airport, but we were delighted with both the town and the hotel. Our room was spacious, modern and very comfortable and the bathroom was fantastic. Reception was warm and hepful, and the sitting area in the lobby nice and comfortable. We treated ourselves to the spa -- a massage for me and just the wellness path option for my husband -- and it was probably the best relaxing massage I've ever had. Very close to San Gimignano, where we went for dinner one evening.

The town itself is beautiful, with the upper and lower historical town centers. It's an easy walk from the hotel (which is right by the beautiful, rounded old city gates) to the crystal elevator which takes you to the lower town.

We also found the hotel very reasonably priced, as it was low season and we prepaid for the room. We would definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milgreen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    231
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
108
548
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Palazzo San Lorenzo was one of the nicest hotel we've stayed in! Quiet, excellent location, lovely service.
Great value. We wish we could have stayed longer. After a full day of traveling around the Tuscany region it was wonderful to come back to the hotel, parking was a pleasure - they have a little lot walking distance from the hotel. Wonderful restaurants also walking distance and a lovely breakfast buffet in the hotel. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel Palazzo San Lorenzo is an absolutely beautiful, sleekly-modern, spotless facility! Great breakfast buffet is included with the room. The town is lovely and it is also in a particularly beautiful part of Tuscany. it is very close to many other charming hilltop towns as well. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 695SuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palhoca, SC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The way between San Gimignano and this amazing Hotel is one of that things that you think "how is good being alive to see how awesome is the world". And I have no words to describe the staff, the room, the medieval atmosphere, everything, I´m sure we´ll return to this fantastic place. Nowadays, I would book this Hotel with my eyes closed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHennrichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a short stay here in October, and would happily recommend this hotel as a place to stay when touring the area.

The hotel is located on a narrow road in the upper part of the old town. There is room outside to briefly park a car to unload, then the car park is round the corner, outside the old town wall, a very short walk away.

The hotel has been fitted out in an elegant contemporary style, that is quite smart. I personally enjoy and feel comfortable with this style, but if you are looking for a rustic Tuscan style, this isn't the place for you.

The room was certainly spacious enough for us and our 2 small children (we booked a triple room) and the main bed was very large. There was adequate wardrobe and storage space, and the bathroom was spotless and well appointed.

From the window, we had a view over charming adjoining houses built into the town wall, over their lovely tiled roofs, with San Giminiano framed beautifully in the distance (only a few kilometres drive away).

Colle Val d'Elsa is a small pretty unspoilt town, surrounded by stunning countryside. It is a convenient base to tour Florence, Sienna and the surrounding region.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is alright for an overnight stay if you are touring the Sienna area. We stayed here for 6 nights in September and was very disappointed with the feeling of the place. On arrival you are given a welcome drink. This is served on the lower ground floor in a bar that is very clinical and no atmosphere. The second day of being there, I wanted to have somewhere that I could relax and read a book in the sun. I asked at reception and they said that they had no where other than the bar courtyard and that didnt open until 6pm and there are no chairs out there anyway. She suggested I go to a square in the town to sit. There is a reading room inside but it would be nice to have somewhere you could sit outside.

You cannot fault the rooms they are very modern and clean except perhaps the bathroom where the showerhead was terrible to control. Unfortunately this hotel has no soul. The staff are not at all friendly, there is no feeling to the place. A reasonable breakfast is served in the restaurant, but as you enter you are not greeted with a Bonjourno or a smiling face, you have to find your own table and guess where you get the coffee from, as this is served at the far end of the second room. It does depend a bit on the staff as the last 2 days we were staying here there was a young blonde headed waitress who made the effort to ask you if you wanted coffee for the rest of the staff it seemed that it was too much to even give you a smile.

The spa pool is only open from 1pm to 6pm and its at a cost of 20 euros each. If you have some form of spa treatment than it is free. I had treatment on 2 of my days and found it to be very good.

Colle di Val d'Elsa has very little to offer there is not a lot here especially evening time when you want to have an evening meal. There is however a very nice wine shop where the owner is very friendly and welcoming. We would not come back to this hotel. We stayed in cheaper and friendlier hotels elsewhere in Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmtravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Perched at the top of the hill just inside the city walls, this place is classy and quiet. Spent a couple days here while touring Sienna and other Tuscan towns. Hotel is away from the crystal makers but getting to town center is easy. Most comfortable bed we slept on in two weeks! Breakfast was good with a lot of variety. Parking for our rental car was just down the hill but very convenient. We did not eat in the hotel restaraunt so cannot comment on that. Great little local restaurant across the street that we loved!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view so ask before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
1.1 mi away
Relais Della Rovere
Relais Della Rovere
#2 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
13.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#3 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
16.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa

Property: Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Address: Via Gracco del Secco 113, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy (Formerly Palazzo San Lorenzo)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo San Lorenzo is located in Colle Val D'Elsa between Siena & Florence - San Gimignano & Chianti. Is a perfect mix between ancient charme and modern comfort. 48 Rooms furnished in a warm contemporary style with wood floors, comfortable beds and marble bathrooms. Palazzo San Lorenzo offers a restaurant in the ancient chapel of the building, a wellness centre with heated jacuzzi pool. For business offers also 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa Italy/Colle Di Val D'Elsa, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing