We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality not part of the program”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Hospitality not part of the program”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The facility itself is nice, new. The staff throughout is inexperienced and rather cold. It just felt like no one cared, things like the front desk clerk being on the phone throughout the whole checkin process, no hello, no welcome. At breakfast having to chase down he waiter for a coffee, again no good morning. Being charged $20 per person to access the indoor pool for 35 minutes despite paying almost $200 for a room. The spa staff was also cold and wooden, not your usual expecation. The word hospitality has not been taught at this hotel . A shame

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzo_san_lorenzo, Direttore at Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are sorry that you did not like the service received during your stay in our Palace.
Actually we don’t agree with the words “inexperienced” and “rather cold” but of course we are sorry that you felt this.
Anyway, if you want to try once again our service we wait for you at San Lorenzo.
Best regards,
Renato Zordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    245
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
115
583
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 6 days and use it as our base to explore Tuscany. It is a great place to stay. The rooms and bathrooms are large, clean, and very comfortable. It is a very quiet and private place. While it is in an old palace, the design inside is modern and simple. Beds are superbly comfortable. Although the air-conditioning was working, there were moments when we would have preferred a degree or two lower temperatures. The breakfast is excellent – great choice of fresh food in a very nice space. We also had a dinner in their restaurant and both food and service were outstanding. When booking, it is clearly stated that access to the pool, saunas, and spa is at extra cost. My regret is that we never had time to try it. The city is charming and quiet and ideally located for visiting Tuscany. Finding place may be initially a problem (maybe instructions on the web site would be helpful). You have to get to the upper/old part of the city on the top of the hill. For this, if coming from the Sienna Florence highway follow the signs for San Gimignano. Once you get to the top of the hill, and before you pass the city walls, you will see the sign for the hotel – turn left and then right into the first street. The hotel will be on your right. You can park for free either on the street in front of the hotel or in the large parking outside of the city walls (one minute walk – pass the hotel, go through the walled city gates and turn immediately left). There is a great restaurant right across the hotel (Oficina). I hope that I will have an opportunity to come back and highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valsimot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Will definitely stay there again. We love this town and this hotel made the experience even better. The service was everything you expect from a hotel of this quality and they were extremely helpful with helping us book our next hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolcatz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The apartment is fantastically located in a beautiful medieval walled town with fine views over the town and surrounding countryside. It is comfortable, clean and adequately equipped, although the air conditioning didn't cope well with the August heat. We found it spacious for four, and thought it a very pleasant place to stay.

We didn't use the hotel itself for much besides checking in and out, but the staff were pleasant and helpful.

The town is a real gem, especially as it doesn't seem to get overrun by tourists. Nevertheless it has a good selection of restaurants and bars. It's also a good base for visiting Florence and Siena, as well as some of the better known Tuscan hill towns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Really liked this place. Large, clean, quiet, modern rooms, big comfortable beds; helpful staff; the included breakfast was very good. Highly recommended.

You have to park in the small street in front, or at a lot nearby. We found a spot on the street about a 45 second walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Palazzo San Lorenzo in the tiny Tuscan town of Colle di Val d'Elsa last week.
It was a charming walled medieval town, not overrun with tourists and sightseers. No tour buses here, the streets are too narrow for cars much less buses.
The hotel was very modern in decor and the marble bathrooms were great. Breakfast included in our rate and was excellent for a start to the day. The town itself was in a great location for day trips in the car to Siena, San Giamanino, and Voltara. A nice quiet charming place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to see the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmommom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Quebec
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at this place from July 4th to July 8th. The staff were very nice and helpful. We appreciated the advice they gave us to make our trip easier to Toscany ! The hotel is located in the historic city center and is a big contrast with the comtemporary interior, in a good way. The room is large with free Internet access and is very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The free parking is near and large enough. The buffet offers American and European dishes for breakfast and it was good. The restaurant of the hotel ''Sopra Le Murra'' is just ok, but we found other good places to eat in the historical center. The ''City of Crystal'' is very charming, quiet and far away from the mass tourism. We recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmc1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
13.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#4 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relais Della Rovere
Relais Della Rovere
#2 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
3.3 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa

Property: Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Address: Via Gracco del Secco 113, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy (Formerly Palazzo San Lorenzo)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo San Lorenzo is located in Colle Val D'Elsa between Siena & Florence - San Gimignano & Chianti. Is a perfect mix between ancient charme and modern comfort. 48 Rooms furnished in a warm contemporary style with wood floors, comfortable beds and marble bathrooms. Palazzo San Lorenzo offers a restaurant in the ancient chapel of the building, a wellness centre with heated jacuzzi pool. For business offers also 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa Italy/Colle Di Val D'Elsa, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing