We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious interlude in a medieval Tuscan village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Palazzo San Lorenzo is possibly my favourite hotel during our month long trip through Italy in the lovely medieval village of Colle di Val d'Elsa. We were warmly welcomed and our hostess announced that we were being upgraded because I had requested a bath tub. The room was beautifully decorated in a modern minimalist style and every comfort. The bathroom was large with modern fittings including heated towel rail and a spa bath. The view of the Tuscan countryside from our room was stunning. The building was constructed in the 17th century as a hospital. The breakfast room and restaurant at the back of the hotel occupy what was the hospital chapel. I can't speak highly enough about this place. Breakfast was included and good, parking and wifi free, the location is ideal for visiting the highlights of Tuscany. This hotel is part of the Ross group of three boutique hotels located in Tuscany. We also stayed in Palazzo Leopoldo in Radda in Chianti. I would recommend that you use Palazzo San Lorenzo as a base to explore the surrounding area rather than staying in Siena or San Gimignano. And to add to an already perfect stay we found a wonderful restaurant L'Officina della Cucina Popolare, 4 seconds from the hotel, but be sure to book. We dined there the two nights of our stay in Colle di Val d'Elsa, it is a small restaurant and many disappointed people were turned away.

Room Tip: Room with a view and tub.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 936 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

Palazzo San Lorenzo is a charming hotel just inside the walls of the old town of Colle di Val D'Elsa in Tuscany, just 15 kilometers from San Giminiano and 20 from Volterra. The interior is fresh, clean, modern, featuring a tasteful and understated mix of modern and antique furnishings. The spacious rooms feature large flat screen TV's, upgraded rooms done in muted tones, oversized bathrooms, and a full complimentary breakfast. I highly recommend Room 201, which features views onto the city's rooftops and the surrounding Tuscan country side. Absolutely stunning property. There is a spa on the property which I did not visit. It does feature a pool, but at EUR 20 per use, that seems a bit high. Fast free internet service and free offsite parking round out the delightful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This hotell is a good choice for this beatuiful city. Very comfortable rooms and very friendly and service minded staff. The breakfast and spa was not the best, but all in all very good.
We will definitely come back to this hotel next time :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFongalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

peaceful an relaxing; very good breakfast, with healthy option; truly excellent restaurant

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRuk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I searched high and low for an out of the way town and hotel in and around Siena and Florence. Well I found a gem in Colle di Val D'Elsa. It is a new hotel, just opened over a year ago. The rooms were very large with a great deal of atmosphere. The Bathrooms were very modern and beautiful.
The hotel itself was situated within the walled city so everything was within easy walking distance. the town was very quaint and had enough eateries to satisfy a 4 night stay.
The breakfast setup was very good and had everything you would expect.
The staff was attentive and helpful. We checked in at 8:30pm and the hotel brought Wine, Cappucinos and pastries into the sitting room for us even though their kitchen was closed
If you want a quiet hotel that offers a Spa and relaxation, I highly recommend the Palazzo San Lorenzo.

Room Tip: get the deluxe comfort room.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdetzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Hotel is beautiful, new, elegant. The front desk was very helpful with our requests for information. The room was beautiful - modern but tasteful. Great view of the street. Comfortable bed and nice bathroom/shower. Our junior suite included daily entrance to the spa - totally worth it. Steam room with aromatherapy and colored lights, sauna, heated pool (Turkish bath?), many showers to rinse off. Very soothing atmosphere. We had massages as well which were very relaxing. Restaurant was very good. Breakfast was included for us - hot eggs, sausage, meats and cheeses, yogurt.

Walk, walk, walk around. The restaurant across the street is fabulous (Oficina del Cucina Populare I think) as are all the others we ate at - all walking distance. Great wine shop down the road from the hotel - Enoteca Il Salotto I believe. We were frequent customers and got to know Pietro and Patricia a little bit. We tasted chocolate, balsamic vinegar, and of course several wines. Just walk through all the little stairways, arches, and places it looks like you shouldn't go. The views of the countryside are amazing.

We drove from the hotel to Florence twice - once to bum around and once to get to the airport. About 50 minutes. We also drove from the hotel to Monteriggioni. There are various maps and travel guides free in the hotel lobby.

We drove to Colle di Val d'Elsa from Rome and while the drive was beautiful the GPS kept insisting that we were at the hotel but we were still outside the Porta Nuova (medieval gateway to the city) and traffic was one way out. We finally parked and walked in and there was the hotel just down the street! If you're facing the Porta Nuova on the right there is a road that goes down to a free parking lot for the hotel. On the left there is a small side street that will take you into the town, check with the front desk about that route. Hopefully this will save you some head scratching!

One last comment - they take the afternoon break seriously and nothing is open. Our first day we slept through breakfast and had to really search for a wine bar that had salads because we were starving. We made sure after that to make it to breakfast and also stocked up on some munchies at the local store. We ate around 7 or 8 which they consider early.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Hotel is just perfect. Very comfortable and quiet room, very nice bathroom with jacuzzi shower and great soaps and towels. The bed was so good! Nice sheets. What else can we say, we just loved it. Breakfast was more than fair for Italy, breakfast room is great with window ceiling. Staff was helpful and their advises for a restaurant revealed a jewel.
Great value also through online booking.
We will definitely go back if we have the chance to return to Tuscany.
Forgot to say a word about the village. Gorgeous typical fortified village.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonameBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#4 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
75 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
13.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relais Della Rovere
Relais Della Rovere
#3 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
450 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
663 reviews
16.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Gracco del Secco 113, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy (Formerly Palazzo San Lorenzo)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range: $108 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo San Lorenzo is located in Colle Val D'Elsa between Siena & Florence - San Gimignano & Chianti. Is a perfect mix between ancient charme and modern comfort. 48 Rooms furnished in a warm contemporary style with wood floors, comfortable beds and marble bathrooms. Palazzo San Lorenzo offers a restaurant in the ancient chapel of the building, a wellness centre with heated jacuzzi pool. For business offers also 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel Colle Di Val d`Elsa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa Italy/Colle Di Val D'Elsa, Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing