We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”

Officina Della Cucina Popolare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $41
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on our last day in the area - and wished we'd found it earlier! It has a more modern feel to it than some of the more "traditional" places - and this is reflected in the food. Combining a light touch with fresh local ingredients and a good sense of heritage, we could have eaten everything on the menu. Service was friendly and very knowledgable and the experience was a real highlight of our Tuscan holiday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    458
    103
    37
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food is excellent”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This restaurant is busy in the summer and winter so best to book if possible. A varied and interesting healthy menu. The Tuscan plate of antipasti was huge and will possibly be enough !
In the summer there is seating outside in the street. Located at the top of the old town, " Colle Alto", is really special. Take the lift from lower Colle and walk the 1km approx through the ancient streets you will pass a small museum which is worth a look.
All the food is great and not a typical menu, which we liked. Wine range also good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
320 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Hearts, minds and tummies”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Thanks to our villa owner for recommending Officina della Cucina Poplare for a traditional Tuscan Sunday lunch. Everything I like one small restaurant .. emphasis on local ingredients, attention to presentation, traditional with a modern twist and excellent value. It was hard to imagine how things could get better after the great antipasti platters we shared, but my pasta pici with suckling pig ragu was superb too. If you're in the neighbourhood, make it your local. Wish it was mine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonKiwiJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pici Pasta”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in Colle d'Elsa for a 5 days for a wine tour. Our hotel was right across the street from the restaurant and it was highly recommended by the wine tour company. The service was excellent and the food was so good, we decided to eat there twice during our stay. The Pici pasta with pork was the best pasta I ever had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful honeymoon dinner!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Amazing service, delicious food (especially the home-made bread, the antipasti platter for 2 and the house wine) - the place is a real Tuscany gem!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasminAndSven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Officina Della Cucina Popolare also viewed

Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 

Been to Officina Della Cucina Popolare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing