We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Paridise steeped in history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda del Loggiato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our host Barbara & her sister were most gracious in making us feel at home and nothing was to much trouble. Our rooms were full of character, clean & comfortable. There is a beautiful sitting room with an open fire (just what we needed for the cold nights!), a grand piano and even a friendly cat (okay, he did sneak in just one night!).

This was our second stay here and it was even better than the first! Locanda del Loggiato is a charming 13th century villa in the (very small) village of Bagno Vignoni, which is an ancient spa town.

Breakfast is simple but very good, as is the local food. The local public spa is a great experience (we loved it!), but there is a more exclusive retreat if needed. Gentle walks in the surrounding countryside and some serious relaxation can be expected.

Room Tip: They are all great!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Locanda del Loggiato
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 231 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here with a family of friends during at the end of March. The B&B is amazing. The rooms are decorated with taste and style while respecting the nature of the old building. The real surprise is the atmosphere that Barbara and Sabrina have been able to create in their property. Candles welcome guests on the stairs. The spacious common living room is warmed by a fireplace and with cozy sofas. We spent many hours watching the fire, talking and drinking some good wine.
The kids loved the little "Alcova" and their princes bed.
This is a great location for few days in Tuscany, or a week of relax.
I have been living many years in Florence and in my opinion the area of Bagno Vignoni is superior to the Chianti and one of the most beautiful of central Italy.

Room Tip: The Fuoco room is great for families with kids since has a small separate room (the Alcova)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felizinRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Really had great stay. Room and whole place very charming. Breakfast was outstanding. Staff were so very helpful. Village very pretty and natural hot spring pool just neat. Also, we made several side trips, Bagno Vignoni located so that we could do that. Visited Piensa, Assisi, Perugia and the local area. Several restaurants in town too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had booked one night in Locanda del Loggiato, the second last night on our two week trip in Italy. It became one of the highlights! First of all, Bagno Vignoni is amazing to discover! And the Locanda is so romantic, beautiful and personal. We loved our large room with a wonderful bathroom. We wished we could have stayed on ...
I had seen on internet pictures that there was a grand piano in the room, and I wanted my husband to play for me there, and so he did :-)
I liked that you could take water from the fridge, make tea, eat the cake and fruit (agree that the fruit looked a bit old) when you liked, in the lounge room.

The only drawback was the family next door, with two boys aged around 5-7. They let them play quite loud so they woke us up at 7. Not want you want on your vacation!
The breakfast was across the little square, and it was a normal Italian breakfast with all the sweets.

We would love to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karinmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Barbara is the soul of the Loggiato. Very professional and very good hostess. We want to go back there and have the same room (aria). We loved it's darkness and the whole concept.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel was booked for us by a self-guided hiking tour company, so I do not know the price. I was very disappointed that we were placed here, rather than the adjacent larger classier Alberge Terme. The primary reason was that our room was not clean and was very dark. Dust was apparent on the fabric-covered chairs and bed headboard and all the dark wood surfaces. Too much dust-gathering, useless decor stuff on the desk.

We only saw the host on arrival and he was charming. Didn't seem to need him, however....not sure what we'd have done if so.

The lobby had a central table with fruit and snacks, but it all looked like it had been sitting there for days and was uninviting.

Good breakfast across the piazza.

Friends who stayed in other rooms thought it was a charming place (it is very old - 1700's ?), but I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Bagno Vignoni, where this small hotel is located, is a small village. The hotel itself is little more than half a dozen rooms over top of a couple of small eating places. Guests have to wait until 3:00pm before the doors are unlocked so you can check in. You are given a key to your room and a key to the front door. By early evening there are no staff on duty. Breakfast in the morning is at a small restaurant kitty corner from the hotel.

It has an excellent location, but of course the village is so small any place in the village would have an excellent location. As such, it is also close to the few restaurants. The room was small, but no smaller than other similar type accomodations in Tuscany, the shower was small but adequate, and the accomodation could probably be described as "nice". There is a large sitting area with couches and chairs in the central area and it was quite pleasant to sit there in the evening after dinner. They leave out a few munchies. Bagno Vignoni is strictly a tourist village for day trippers, so when the tour buses leave the village is quiet, but also the shops all close, so if we were looking to shop we were out of luck. We couldn't find a grocery store. Other than the restaurants there is no night life. The breakfast was o.k, but that was about all you could say about it.

In summary, a nice enough place to stay in a pleasant little village, but really only worth the stay if you are on a walking/hiking trip and this is the designated overnight stop.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dldcw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagno Vignoni
0.0 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Posta Marcucci
Albergo Posta Marcucci
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
478 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
254 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
422 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Loggiato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Loggiato

Address: Piazza del Moretto 30, 53027 Bagno Vignoni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Bagno Vignoni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bagno Vignoni
Price Range: $141 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda del Loggiato 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and romantic bed and breakfast in bagno vignoni. The only bed and breakfast with charm in the village with a particular breakfast with local products and a private garden with a big persimmon tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Locanda del Loggiato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Loggiato Bagno Vignoni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing