We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our Favorites in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Le Terme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo Le Terme
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bagno Vignoni
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of our Favorites in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here as a part of a Backroads cycling trip that was supposed to be "Casual Inns." This place is not "casual" -- it is a luxurious, beautiful hideaway in a beautiful little Tuscan village. The rooms (and bathrooms) were among the largest we had on a 16 day Italian vacation. The dinner in the restaurante was excellet, especially the Bistecca Fiorentina. The breakfast was fantastic, maybe the best we had in Italy. The thermal baths after a day of riding those challenging Tuscan hills was great. Only tiny complaint is that we could never access WiFi (and others were having trouble too), but really, this place makes you want to log out from the rest of the world anyway (except to post those stunning photos on Facebook).

Room Tip: Ask for bathroom with tub and shower combo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    245
    61
    23
    13
See reviews for
65
338
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wonderful hotel and great restaurant. The surrounding village is beautiful and its an ideal place for relaxation. We didnt spend time outside the village but there should be plenty of opportunities also.
Only thing I missed was a gym/fitness which for me is part of a wellness experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClausHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is at the top of a hill in a small town in Tuscany. The highlight of the hotel is the spa (located across a small lawn from the front of the hotel, but accessible without having to go outside because the elevator goes straight to an underground walkway). There's a sauna, a cold pool, and a warm pool. Seemed to be pretty popular with guests.

Tried the hotel restaurant once and found it to be pretty good.

The rooms are nice, though not spectacular. Bed was fairly comfortable, bathroom solid. Unlike many rooms in Italy there did not appear to be a line in the shower to dry clothes.

My biggest complaint with the hotel was this. It was October and warm in the rooms. When I asked about the air conditioning I was told that it was off for the season (though strangely the heat was already available) and that I could open the window. The problem with this is that some of the rooms (including mine) are above an outdoor area where people are standing and drinking. Thus, if you want to sleep, opening the window isn't an option. So if you're going to stay here during a shoulder season, beware that you may have to suffer some warm nights.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We came to Bagno Vignoni upon recommendation of a Roman friend. Picturesque location, very calm and quiet. Room was perfect, we planned to stay overnight, but extended 3 more nights. Familyrun hotel w enthusiastic staff. You feel like everybody wants to do their best to make you feel welcome. Great breakfast and food. Small café with light meals if you dont feel like having a large dinner. The hotwater-spa is excellent, with 2 pools of different temperature, resting area both in- and outdoors. As hotelguest you have complimentary use of the spa area, you can directly go by elevator from room to spa in your provided bathrobe and slippers. Even swimming cap is available. There is also a Tepidarium - roman type of steambath. Room rate reasonable. For touring nearby wine area a car is a must. I would agree with the reviewer who mentioned lack of calm in the spa area - there was a young girl with her mother and they chatted endlessly, while other guests tried to relax by the pool. Apart from that, my compliments to the owners for their management.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snövit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We also stayed here during a walking tour and so turned up looking as though pulled through a hedge backwards; however, we were warmly welcomed. Our room was quiet and comfortable - all we could ask for. Dinner was included and we had a splendid meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was also first class. Recommended. We enjoyed being in the village when day visitors had left.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel was on our itenary as part of a pre-booked walking holiday from Siena to Montepulciano. We arrived after a 21 kilometer walk. It was hot. I needed a bath. Guess what? The use of the thermal pools was included in our package. Happy days!. Excellent facilities, comfortable room, quiet and a splendid breakfast to see us on our way.

Room Tip: This is a very quiet spa. Ask for an east facing room to get he morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildwillie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during a walking holiday and this was the most relaxing and most comfortable we could hope for. Big room with very comfortable bed and proper duvet in crisp bedlinen, not just a blanket. One of the quietest rooms we stayed in Italy. We arrived late so could not try the facilities unfortunately. We also had our dinner in the restaurant. Arrived as soon as they opened so until the desert we got everything nicely spaced out and everything was delicious and nicely presented. However, after our main course we were made to wait for 45 minutes before they took our order for the dolci. The head waitress astonishingly and ashamedly ignored all non-Italians once the restaurant was full - she spoke good English, lack of understanding was not an issue. She chatted to a biggish Italian family next to our table, then looked over her shoulder to our empty table and walked away. Two German speaking ladies next to us were ignored exactly the same way. Another waitress finally took pity on us and served us within 10 minutes. Unfortunately the hotel missed out on the excellent marking thank to the head waitress.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_EB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagno Vignoni
2.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fonteverde
Fonteverde
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villa Armena Relais
Villa Armena Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Le Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Le Terme

Property: Albergo Le Terme
Address: Piazza delle Sorgenti, 13, 53100 Bagno Vignoni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Bagno Vignoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bagno Vignoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albergo Le Terme 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Terme is located in the palace designed by Rossellino in 1400 which was Pope Pio II Piccolomini’s summer residence. The Hotel overlooks the famous thermal water basin that features a unique square where for 2000 years the hot thermal water has gushed at a temperature of 49° from a depth of 1000 metres. The building has been recently renewed and it offers all the comforts to ensure travellers a memorable Tuscan experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Le Terme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Le Terme Hotel Bagno Vignoni
Albergo Le Terme Bagno Vignoni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing