We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful farmhouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agriturismo Il Rigo
Certificate of Excellence
SEA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“peaceful farmhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

It was a very peaceful farmhouse and the dinner is good. Very good selection of wines as well. It is very quiet and is good for the soul. The rooms have a great view. You will definitely need a car to get there and you will need to look out closely for the signs but the find is well worth it.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpledreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    36
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
101
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We loved our time at Il Rigo! The staff are exceptionally helpful and the location can't be beat. You are 3 miles from the closest town so you probably want to have a car. We didn't and we walked into town one day to catch the bus to the other local towns like Piensa and Montepulciano. Definitely recommend doing the cooking class! The rooms are simple but adorable. There is a hairdryer and lots of fresh towels. We really enjoyed the 700m walk from Casa Poggia to the main house for meals, so don't let that deter you. This is the perfect place to really BE in Tuscany. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALGleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

Il rigo is in a fantastic setting about an hour south of Siena, on top of a small hill. We stayed ina converted pigsty which was nicer than it sounds. The owner was very helpful and friendly. The food was not great if you don't like meat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkLucinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

il Rigo & San Quirico
June 2007
Elaine
Venice, FL

My dream of staying a month Tuscany came true when I stayed in San Quirico and iL Rigo. Lorenza and Vittorio are the kindest, hardest working couple I know. I loved staying at Cassabianca. I had a wonderful view from my bedroom window of the surrounding countryside. All the views from Cassabianca are breath taking. It is just the perfect place to stay and take day trips to the surrounding hill towns.The staff at il Rigo is very friendly. Lorenza takes great care in planning traditional Tuscan menus, all of them delicious. I took cooking classes with Lorenaza and I highly recommend taking a class with her if you want to learn more about preparing traditional Tuscan cuisine. She is an excellent instructor.

I also stayed a few days in the beautiful suite at Lorenza & Vittorio's main residence in San Quirico. I also enjoy their Caffè Enoteca Il Pozzo. I am looking forward to going back to San Quirico and try their new Ristorante degli Archi.

I was lucky enough to visit in June when San Quirico d'Orcia celebrates the Festival of Barbarossa. The festival is very colorful and should not be missed if you are in the area. San Quirico's quartiere dress in exquisitely constructed mediaeval costumes. It was just such a thrill being there and watching the events. I loved exploring this small hill town.

Overall, I highly recommend staying at Il Rigo and/or the suite in San Quirico. It is a trip I will never forget. The best summer vacation I ever had thanks to Lorenza and Vittorio. The perfect hosts.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank lightseeker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

Il Rigo Agriturismo is located on a breathtaking spot. My girlfriend and I didn't know what to expect first, but the experience was unforgettable. Unfortunately, we only had 1 night to stay there. The staff was friendly, the food great and the room lovely. Alicce (the dog) also contributed for a nice stay. Don't forget to ask to stay at the main house.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xanshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

This was our first stay in an agritourismo recommended in the Karen Brown guide. What we learned is that what Karen Brown seems to favor isn't quite right for us. (She seems to favor larger, more commercial, upscale places, that are more "American" feeling or "safe" (less culturally challenging), with owners who speak good English.)

On check-in, owner Lorenza was quite aloof and handed us off quickly to her husband Vittorio, who is much more pleasant, but speaks hardly any English, which was fine -- we managed. Our room was not in the main house, but in an out-building about a mile away, which left us feeling somewhat detached from things and having to drive or walk 20 minutes to breakfast and dinner. We ate dinner there two of our four nights and the food was quite average, actually some of the least memorable meals we had the entire trip.

Our room was fine except that the building we were in was very noisy -- thin walls, you could hear folks easily and the common room next to us was very loud.

It is a beautiful location, however, and very well situated for touring from Siena to Northern Umbria.

Note: we just got back from 23 nights in Liguria, Tuscany and Umbria and will write reviews on every place we stayed to help those going, just as this site helped us plan our trip.

  • Liked — Beautiful scenery in all directions!
  • Disliked — Palpable tension between the owners. Four eruos an hour for internet!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank gavilan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2006

My husband and I visited here for a day but should have stayed longer! If you want to see pics of this place, go to Sawdays where I found it in the first place. Its really in the midst of tuscan hills, off a dirt road near the famous via Cassia. It was just an hour or so from Siena, and would be an excellent base to see the nearby towns of Pienza, San Quirico, Montalcino, Bagni St Philippo, etc. Though it had no pool, the room was great and the sunny terrace with the views of the hills was fantastic. The dining room was so authentically preserved, really loved the atmostphere. The shaded parking area was helpful given the Tuscan heat too. Friendly cats roamed happpy too. A nice romantic geataway for a couple but also suitable for families and adventurers alike! Not the place if you want 5* pampering, TV and jacuzzis but visit if you want a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kuki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo La Buca
Agriturismo La Buca
#4 of 16 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.8 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#3 of 62 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palazzo Conti A
Palazzo Conti A
#3 of 16 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Rigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Rigo

Property: Agriturismo Il Rigo
Address: Loc. Casabianca | 4,5 km da san Quirico d'Orcia, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Agriturismo Il Rigo 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuscan paradise. An oasis in Val d'Orcia. A place where culinary enthusiasts, nature lovers, music fans, city outcasts, stray cats, porcupines, deer and rabbits meet .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Il Rigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Rigo San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing