We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most stunning places to stay in ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agriturismo Il Rigo
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the most stunning places to stay in ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you come here to find Tuscan magic, you'll find it here.

I have traveled the world and stayed in many places, but this one, in terms of beautiful location, ranks at the top. The views are breathtaking, all around. Just opening the window first thing in the morning, when you wake up, sets the tone of your mood right. It's impossible not feel infused by the beauty and calm of this ladscape inside and out.

The rooms are simple in their furnishings but delicately beautiful at the same time. You will not find anything not authentic, out of place, and without style here.

If you feel like it, just hanging around Rigo all day, writing, reading, talking to strangers and to the staff, will make for an unforgettable experience.

If you've come here to experience Tuscany, then Rigo is a great starting point for many lovely walks (to pienza, San Quirico d'Orcia, Bagno Vignoni, capella Vitaletta .. ) and cycling trips (Montichiello, Montalcino, Montepulciano ...). A few days is not enough to see all there is to see.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous in their own right - I've seen them all - just state clearly what is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    36
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
101
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We truly enjoyed our time at Il Rigo, from the sunrises and sunsets over the rolling hills of Tuscany, to the friendly and helpful staff. Our room was beautiful and the views were outstanding. The staff gave great recommendations on where to visit and genuinely cared about how our day was after visiting their recommendations. The one downfall, why I did not rate as "excellent" was that we were very much wanting to take a cooking class while there, however when mentioning this, there was no availability since we were there over a weekend. We were very disappointed at this news, as this was one of the reasons we chose Il Rigo in the first place. However, the time we spent doing other things, as well as the views, was well worth it. PS- there is no A/C, so depending on time of year, this may be a problem. The nights were perfect for sleeping with the windows open while we were there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chdthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We did not stay at Il Rigo, but rather came there for a family cooking lesson that turned out to be wonderful. It started by contacting Luisa via Email and getting detailed and quick replies. We were 10 people with kids of different ages and with some strange limitations and requirements that were met completely by Luisa. We got to Il Rigo at 10:30 in the morning and left around 14:30 after a fun and informative cooking lesson that included preparation of typical, regional dishes. Luisa's English is wonderful and she explained much about the life in the area and the local food. All the kids were included in the preparation of the food, even our 4 years old that doesn't understand English...
After the lesson, that took about 2 hours, we were shown to a dining room that had breathtaking views of the surrounding Val D'orcia hills. We ate what we cooked and drank 2 bottles of excellent wines recommended by Matthias. After lunch we just wondered around the house and even got Luisa to show us an available room at the B&B that looked amazing.
We reluctantly left (as we went to close by thermal baths) telling ourselves what a treat it would be to stay at Il Rigo for a few days.
Luisa is an incredible person, warm, smart, funny and really makes you feel at home in her family home. It is heart-warming to see a young couple working so hard and doing such a great job.
Well done Luisa and Matthias, we would love to come back and stay with you in the future!

Room Tip: We did not stay here but we did see one very nice room and I'm sure they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OritN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Location - We specifically chose Agriturismo Il Rigo because we wanted to wake up in the Val D'Orcia and be immersed in all of the region's unaltered beauty. Agriturismo Il Rigo provided the picturesque Tuscany we were looking for: beautiful rolling green hills, old farmhouses and cypress trees all around...a photographer's dream! Agriturismo Il Rigo's main farmhouse Casabianca (which we stayed in) is 500 years old and the detached farmhouse Poggio Bacoca is 100 years old which adds to the uniqueness of this place!

Customer Service - Hosts Luisa and Matthias were very sweet and accommodated our every need giving recommendations on vantage points for photos as well as sights to see during our 1 night/1 day stay there.

Atmosphere - Adorable! We would highly recommend eating dinner at Agriturismo Il Rigo at least one night as it is a home made pre-fixed meal (different every night) and is just delicious! We loved feeling like we were at home away from home eating in the dining room with all the other guests of Agriturismo Il Rigo.

Amenities - Keeping in mind that we were staying in a 500 year old farmhouse; the amenities were still very sufficient. Nice warm shower, clean comfy bed and wonderful Tuscan made soaps and shampoo! Il Rigo also provides a great laundry service for 15 euros per load (wash and dry) and will have it ready for you in just two hours time...we loved using this option so that our clothes were clean for the last week of our trip!

Would We Recommend? - Most Definitely! And next time we will make sure to stay for more than just 1 night!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night at this beautiful farmhouse. The hosts were amazing and accommodated our every need. One on one pasta lesson and thermal baths were the high points of a short stay! The views from the farmhouse take in many different towns and hills, plus the star gazing is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaCRigo, Owner at Agriturismo Il Rigo, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are really happy in reading your words.
We put all our effort to improve and make your stay the best!

Come back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

It is important to keep in mind that Il Rigo is a real farm out in the countryside...nothing like a Hilton or one of those too-perfect country houses you see in magazines like Southern Living. Il Rigo has no AC for instance, which in Italy in July will no doubt cause some anxiety among potential visitors, and there are some insects that are normal for contryside environs. But what Il Rigo does not have in spa treatments and a gym, it does have such gems as magnificent Tuscan views and vibe, simple and homey but refined style, and best of all Luisa and Mathias, who run Il Rigo. The farm has been owned by Luisa's family for generations and been an agriturismo for the last couple of decades. It reflects the personal interest she and her parents have taken to make the place delightful. And Luisa does the cooking, which is terrific. I urge you to stay at Il Rigo on half-board and enjoy her excellent dinners in addition to her cakes for breakfast. Also, do a cooking class with Luisa as we did...great fun and a feast at the end if it all. I am sure that many young men leave Il Rigo just a little bit in love with her. Not that it appears to bother Mathias, who keeps the place running smoothly and who insists that no reasonable request is too much.

Il Rigo is a great example of just what it is: a Tuscan countryside retreat with a sense of authenticity that the likes of Relais et Chateaux do not achieve. Absent Luisa and Mathias, it would still be a lovely spot to stop. They elevate the experience.

Room Tip: Luisa's mother has a restaurant in nearby San Quirico named Il Pozza....also well worth a visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RANDALL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We drove to Il Rigo from Roma, and the moment we reached the Tuscany region, the landscapes changed. We left the A1 quite early on our route and decided to take the alternative routes. The drive was beautiful, totally mindblowing. And then we reached our destination and had no words to say. It is a single farm, with only stunning views and gardens all around.

The 360 degree views were stunning, you can't just stop looking around. The accommodation is very beautifully made. They gave us a room towards the backside, which opened to a beautiful garden and never ending views of the valley and the hills. Mathias is an amazing host.
He sent us to a chapel closeby and the walk was heavenly. While driving around, it started to rain a bit and we saw 2 Rainbows together (we live in Dubai and for us, rains are a treat and to see rainbows, its like cherry on the cake).
We went to San Quirico d'Orcia in the evening, which is about 15 mins drive, a quaint very very small town with hardly any people. We went to a restaurant Il Pozzo that Mathias had suggested to us and had one of the most wonderful meal & win of our trip.
The resort has a dog and 3 cats as pets who are very playful. We had a great sleep. It was a very comfortable large room. The bathroom and the rooms were very clean and tidy.
Just remember, to close your windows when you sleep, their cat tends to enter your room at night :D
The breakfast was great and they offered us to serve it in the verandah outside with the views. We drove to Montacino after breakfast, which is more touristy and very beautiful and has amazing Brunelli wines and cafes.
We were there for just 1 night, but had one of the most amazing time ever.
The family runs the place and everyone was smiling and very helpful. Thanks for making our stay comfortable!


Had the most memorable time of our trip. Very beautiful. We are sure to return here for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Choose the one on the ground floor which opens towards the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namitbhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo La Buca
Agriturismo La Buca
#4 of 16 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#3 of 61 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palazzo Conti A
Palazzo Conti A
#3 of 16 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Rigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Rigo

Property: Agriturismo Il Rigo
Address: Loc. Casabianca | 4,5 km da san Quirico d'Orcia, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Agriturismo Il Rigo 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuscan paradise. An oasis in Val d'Orcia. A place where culinary enthusiasts, nature lovers, music fans, city outcasts, stray cats, porcupines, deer and rabbits meet .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Il Rigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Rigo San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing