We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well looked after in a beautiful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzuolo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palazzuolo
Certificate of Excellence
Luton UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well looked after in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Palazzuolo in San Quirico on a walking holiday in May 2012. The hotel is just a ten minute walk away from the beautiful mediaeval centre of San Quirico, but feels as though it is out in the country. The views from the terrace over the swimming pool to the hill top town of Montalcino are superb.

The rooms are not spectacular, but they are comfortable and the bathrooms have been upgraded since I was last there. I slept well although some lighter sleeping companions were disturbed by local dogs barking into the night.

The food previously was OK, but with a new chef in place things were really good, with authentic Tuscan fare, nicely presented. The wine list is lengthy, but you can't do better than the local Orcia DOC wines produced by the family that own the hotel - the Simonelli's. There is a decent choice at the buffet breakfast, including fresh fruit, but some real fruit juice rather than diluted concentrate would have been welcomed.

Claudia and Anna on reception were really efficient and did all they could to look after the group I was with. Things in the restaurant sometimes got a bit busy when there were other groups staying, but service was always cheerful.

All in all, a comfortable relaxing stay - and the walking in the area is brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLutonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    194
    69
    21
    3
See reviews for
90
162
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

I felt moved to write this review, my first on TA, after reading the negative reviews for this hotel. My husband and I were booked to stay here on a walking tour through Tuscany, which has been one of the best weeks of my life! This hotel was really quite nice: clean, comfortable rooms, gorgeous swimming pool with a view over the countryside and good wifi connection. Breakfast was your typical Italian hotel breakfast with cakes featuring heavily, but also cereal and fruit and fresh coffee, I had a really nice Americano. The location was fine, 5 minutes walk from the centre of the charming old town. The best feature of the hotel was the staff! We were stranded at checkout as, being a Sunday, there was no bus service and no taxis to be found in the region!! The fantastic reception staff member tried everything for us, and when that failed and her replacement for the morning shift arrived, arranged for her to give us a lift to the next town with a train station!! Above and beyond. I think the previous critical reviews were overly harsh, and would stay at this hotel again. Great value for money.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank COLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in early October 2011 as part of a walking group. I can say that the staff were all very friendly and helpful. I do not speak Italian but we had no problems with the staff. The young man behind the bar even remembered my pre dinner drink. Yes the furnishings are a little tired but the bathroom was superb and the cleanliness was good. The bed was comfortable. We had the annoyance of a neighbours dogs barking but how can you blame the hotel for it's neighbours pets? The swimming pool was cold but as the weather was very hot, it was very refreshing and no colder than swimming in the sea.We have no complaints regarding the food. You must remember that this is a budget priced hotel. If you want more, stay somewhere else and pay the price. I will stay at this hotel again when next in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Arrived hot (October was hot in Tuscany) and tired on 10/6/11 after 12 hours of hiking and bus riding needing a nap badly only to find the AC not working in our very hot room (interesting that a post on 9/10 indicated that the AC was also not working). When I asked the gentleman at the desk, he reported that it had been closed in October. When I asked that it be put back on he replied that it was impossible. There was no sign anywhere explaining that.the AC was turned off nor was there any prior warning that it would be turned off in October.. The hotel "Welcome Booklet" proudly claims: "Air conditioning: All our bedrooms are equipped with an individual thermostat in-room control system" and a similar statement can be found on the web site. Don't believe it. How about some truth in advertising here? So, despite my allergies (AC would have helped) we opened the door to our balcony (no windows) to let some air into the suffocating room and tried to take our nap. Not meant to be. We were kept up by a pack of dogs in a farm house across from the pool that barked loudly all night and the next day. If we had the drone of an AC, we might have been able to catch some zzzz's even though the walls are paper thin and one can hear your neighbor's sneezing and talking and heaven knows what else if they are up to it. Add to this that our towels were not changed from the previous day (we had to request fresh ones), the hotel is far from Siena, the rooms had no room safes, they supplied no tissues ("We don't have them here," the lady at the desk replied), the dinner we had in the restaurant was very poor and the breakfasts were not much better, the pool was too cold, and the toilet paper supply was not replenished -- we ran out. This hotel management is cutting back on toilet paper too -- too much!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in the spring and was very disappointed, as reflected in my review of June 16, 2011. I appeared to be the 6th person to review this hotel since 2006. The posts were "very mixed". Since June of this year there has been a plethora of posts for this hotel, many of them in Italian and most of them highly complimentary. It is surely very unusual for a hotel that has averaged just over one review a year to suddenly get so many in just three months!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank backhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Great pool, nice restaurant, friendly service and a great deal to boot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Good place for a family holiday. Good ambience and service. Staff very friendly and hospitable. Looking forward for my next holidays.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank konknnimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.2 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
6.0 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzuolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzuolo

Property: Hotel Palazzuolo
Address: Via Santa Caterina 43, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzuolo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzuolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzuolo San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing