We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel in a glorious location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2008

I've stayed here a quite a few times since 1996 since when the hotel has grown a lot, and is now a sprawl of rooms at varying standards and prices clustered near a pool and other leisure/wellness facilities. I've always found it a perfectly satisfactory base and its good to start my days by photographing the Tuscany mists from the grounds of my hotel- something which possibly can't be done so well elsewhere. The breakfast buffet is satisfactory and has certainly improved over the years. I recall that some of the older rooms are fitted with very small showers to the extent that dropping the soap is an issue! The hotel is popular with photographic groups - for obvious reasons- and these are often critical of the "in -house " restaurant next door. My personal experience is that eating a la carte makes a big difference and I tend to alternate between the convenience of this and a couple of places in Pienza (9km).

For what is now quite a large hotel I can't understand why the bar is so often empty ( and unstaffed) and in truth the main building is a pretty quiet place at night when I've been there- largely in April/May.

But for me I come to the Casanova because of where it is , at least as much as for what it is. Getting around the "Crete" is easier from this base than from any other of similar quality IMO. I'm sure I'll go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 413 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2007

I was ambivilant about "spilling the beans" on a gem of a hotel as I didn't was to spread the word for fear I'd never get a reservation but decided to give something back to this website as I've gotten so much myself. I was part of a photo tour that used the hotel as a base of operations for 1 week in mid May.The most outstanding feature of our stay was the location of the somewhat plainly built and decorated units. It is the heart of Tuscany, within walking distance of the walled village of San Quirico d'Orcia. When we arried we realized we were not the only tour group there who found the hotel. Others realized its value (financially as well as geographically) too. Altough there were three tours staying, (two photo tours and a watercolor group) you never felt cramped as folks were busy doing there thing outside and never in your way. You are minutes away from other georgous, medieval villages and cities. There are landscapes within walking distance that appear regularly on commercial postcards and posters. Breathtaking. The staff who were multilingual, was friendly, helpful and eager to assist. I was especially pleased when the night manager realized many of our group members were out to shoot landscapes at 4:30 or 5:00 (AM) and asked us if we would like coffee to be served before we went on our way! The breakfasts, served European buffet style, sufficed. There is an upscale restaurant on the premises (I didn't have a meal there opting instead to dine at various very good outdoor cafes and restaurants in the village of San Quirico d.Orcia). Others in my group gave the onsite dining very mixed reviews, all agreed it was expensive. The outdoor pool is another advantage. It overlooks wonderful scenes, is very well maintained and very inviting. The guests at the time of my stay were from Britian and the continent , our group rounding out with Americans. All were respectful of each other so I will be happy to bring my family next time. The hotel also boasts of a Wellness Center with indoor pool and spa, but I never saw it in use during my stay. Perhaps it was off season? I will be returning next year and plan on making my reservation now.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lightcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2007

Wonderful location right next to a medieval walled village although it may be a little quiet for some. Nightlife revolves around dinner in the hotel or preferably at a restaurant in the village. The menu in the hotel is very limited although breakfast is quite adequate. Rooms are to a high standard especially the superior rooms. A car is an absolute must for those not on an escorted tour.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NYTRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kyyyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank massimo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ciro_Rosaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GIOVANNI A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
422 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Albergo Posta Marcucci
Albergo Posta Marcucci
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
478 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
666 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm

Address: Strada Statale 146 6C, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range: $133 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place to know Tuscany and its wonderful landscape On the Via Cassia, between Rome and Siena, there is Val d'Orcia valley. This valley is famous all over the world for its wines, its thermal water, history and for its landscape who was chosen as set of several films e.g.: English patient and The gladiator. Here, not far from the centre of San Quirico d'Orcia, a little medieval village, there is Wellness Center Casanova Hotel in a typical tuscany architecture building. From Wellness Center Casanova Hotel you can enjoy a wonderful view on all the surrounding valley. SPA A wellness area surrounded of nature The SPA of wellness centre casanova hotel was born to give attention to our clients. Here all is finalized to wellbeing. Our SPA is a place where you can take a relax break from your busy life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing