We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More of a motel than a hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More of a motel than a hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

If it wasn't for its location, this 'hotel' would've gotten an absolute thumbs down. From the reception to the room's comfort, there wasn't anything impressive about this place. Having said that, it does spot a very nice view in the back that's lined with cypress trees.

The beds have probably seen better days, the ones we had sunk right in the middle! The room was comfortable enough, and credit goes to the housekeeping staff, but caution...the walls are very thin! [No...nothing x-rated, only some poor kid who kept crying the entire night!] The breakfast spread isn't anything to write home and if you get the deal with dinner included, the upside is you don't have to travel too far to hunt for food!

I think we were most disappointed with the reception staff. We had to wait for a few minutes for someone, anyone to check us out. And when they finally did, they immediately turned their backs on us...and completely ignored us even after we politely said 'Grazie.'

Bottom line, if you're looking for absolute no frill, then this is a place to consider.

Room Tip: There're only a couple of rooms which you can park your car right outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yiwen-sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    133
    58
    36
    13
See reviews for
51
211
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have stayed many times in the apartments in Casanova. The service from the friendly staff is excellent. The cleanliness of the rooms, pools, gym and communal areas are impeccable. The restaurant gets busy, so one needs to book in advance and the food truly is Tuscan specialities (large portions too) The village is within a 6 minute stroll. We enjoy best using their apartments where we prepare a lazy late brunch using fresh local produce from the village. The spa is relaxing and the countryside has breathtaking views, as do some of their apartments.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms or apartments have air conditioning, so if you are there in August, you may you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our second visit to Casanova. The first was while on a bike tour six years ago. We went back because of the great experience we had before. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, with an enormous pool outside. There is also a roman bath type spa pool inside. This time, the spa pool was only luke warm, not what we had before. We opted to get a massage this time, and I was a little disappointed that I was charged 10 Euros more for my "hot stone" massage, since the stones weren't even warm! All in all, though, this hotel is a great place to stay while travelling through Tuscany. We had a private patio, comfy beds, good pillows...what else do you need?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

The hotel is sprawling and spacious; rooms are lovely with their private settings. Service is good, but leisurely. The reason it does not rate higher is that the breakfasts were truly not good -- no fresh fruit, mundane pastries, bad coffee. The restaurant next door was accommdating for lunches and dinners, the food was plentiful and hearty, but in an area of wonderful cuisine, not impressive.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank menardjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

This was our second stay having been introduced to this hotel on a group photographic workshop trip. We booked a Junior Suite confort room. This has an upstairs mezzanine with large bed, very comfortable.Actually 2 single mattresses on one base. Massses of towels, dedicated pool towels. Depending on what tariff you pay sometimes are an extra charge of 10 euros, for a pair.The bathroom was very adequate, clean with a great power shower/ body spray cubicle. Ground floor lounge had small kitchen area , this was convenient for making snacks. Again depending on tariff, cooking facilities could be inclusive or extra. There was an extra bed/ sofa in the lounge. The rooms are motel style, seperate units , on ground floor, with small terrace , table, outside chairs, & sun brolly. The public reception area has nice airy lounges on 2 levels with a small bar, that I never saw anybody using it. Breakfast is continental, no eggs, but a good selection of pastries, croissants, & cold meat.This room has no windows & is not pleasing, you culdn't take your breakfast out from this room.The outdoor pool has masses of free sun loungers & was warm. There is a super vista from the rear of the hotel in this area. The hotel also has an indoor pool , plus beauty therapy " spa " area. Use of indoor pool may be inclusive, or extra depending again on your tariff.The hotel is about 750 yds from the old town of San Quirico d'Orcia, which is a gem. Lovely restuarants here & shops.We ate out every night in a week stay & although the hotel has an adjacent taverna we liked the stroll into the town to soak up the evening ambiance.In summary, the best bit about the hotel is it's location. It appeals to photographers & many Italians. If went again, I wouldn't opt for bed & breakfast as I would prefer to self cater for breakfast & eat it outside my room on the terrace.Very friendly staff, also Wi-Fi ( 5 Euros per stay ), no hotel internet public terminal. Difficult to set up Wi-Fi but staff incredibably helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
québec
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

It was late, and had previously stopped at another hotel, not sure of the name, but it was bad....we found the Casanova Hotel Residece. Last minute and the receptionist was fantastic! She gave us a good price, 110,00 euro for the night,(low season) and just looking at the lobby, didn't have to go visit the room. It was perfect for us, would have liked to stay longer. Big room, for tuscany, Therapeutic bath, bathroom amenitites and nice creams, this is a Spa...with a nice big terrace with a great view in the morning.

The restaurant next door was closed, it was appr 9h30pm. The young lady tried to get us some food from there, but to no avail...Nice try though, thank you..However, we told her we'd dine on our wine in the room. She offers to bring us wine glasses. But when she shows up, she put together this great little plate with cold cuts, cheeses and breads. Wow, that is service.

Here are pictures of the room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

This hotel is in a great location for touring around southern Tuscany. The rooms are large and quite plainly furnished and the atmosphere is comfortable. There's a good pool and small bar.

The best part of the stay for me was the helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuildfordJellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm

Property: Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Address: Loc.Casanova Strada Statale 146 6C, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place to know Tuscany and its wonderful landscape On the Via Cassia, between Rome and Siena, there is Val d'Orcia valley. This valley is famous all over the world for its wines, its thermal water, history and for its landscape who was chosen as set of several films e.g.: English patient and The gladiator. Here, not far from the centre of San Quirico d'Orcia, a little medieval village, there is Wellness Center Casanova Hotel in a typical tuscany architecture building. From Wellness Center Casanova Hotel you can enjoy a wonderful view on all the surrounding valley. SPA A wellness area surrounded of nature The SPA of wellness centre casanova hotel was born to give attention to our clients. Here all is finalized to wellbeing. Our SPA is a place where you can take a relax break from your busy life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing