We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

WE LOVED this hotel! This was our 6th hotel on our honeymoon and what a lovely place!! It was quaint, very clean, quite, a decent price and had a great breakfast! What more could you want? They heard it was our honeymoon and upgraded us for free to a BEAUTIFUL suite! All of there rooms come with fabulous products that I just loved! We went across to the shop where they sell them and spent a pretty penny. The products rival any high - end luxury brand I would buy in NYC where we live. The staff was nice and our dinner was fabulous. We ate at the restaurant that they own behind the hotel. It has gotten some good ratings so we decided to try it. Im glad we did! The food was really great! Negatives: there is no elevator and getting our bags up the room was quite a challege. They don’t have helpers to do this for you. We were in luck that the owner was there that day and he helped us with the bags. Its very quite there at night. It’s a small village with no nightlife (which we found a great break from our busy lives). We would 100% stay at this hotel again!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    230
    45
    12
    13
See reviews for
91
768
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

We spent three nights at the Palazzo del Capitano, which is located in a small village, which is somewhat of a distance from shopping, wineries, and a good selection of restaurants. We choose one of the more expensive suites. It had an upstairs - where the bedroom was located - and a downstairs - which had a very small seating area. The stairs to the bedroom upstairs were quite steep, even if you are in shape. The room was nice, but fell below our expectations, as did the property at large.

There were several problems with the room, including the disturbing fact that the air conditioning unit did not function and a bird found its way into our room. Housekeeping was ok. Spa treatments in an adjacent building are expensive. The breakfast was adequate but without any selection of cooked to order items. Front desk staff, however, were excellent.

If you are seeking a real getaway in Tuscany there are clearly better alternatives at this price point, and so I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topaccommodations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Beware, the Palazzo del Capitano takes advantage of travelers when they have the opportunity.

I missed my first night of a three day stay this past Sept 2009. I was charged $750 for the full three night stay even though I could have made it to the hotel the last two nights. I was told they had re-booked my room to someone else the last two nights even though I responded within 18 hours to their email asking where I was. As is appropriate in every county I’ve traveled, I expected a credit for the last two nights since I could have made it and they had no empty rooms.

They said no way!

I wasted hours of my 30 year wedding anniversary trip wrestling with them and contesting their fee on my Master Charge. They pocketed my money as well as the money from the party they booked my room to.

Amazing isn’t it. Stay away from this hotel. They will take advantage of you if you inadvertently give them the chance. They are not the travel partners you are looking for.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ebahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

My husband and I felt like we went back in time when we spent 3 spectacular nights in the charming hotel. Upon check-in the staff put us in a room with no view, but we were able to switch to a room with the most fabulous view overlooking the gardens. We ate dinner in the hotel resturaunt that we by far one of the best meals we had eaten all week. The breakfasts every morning we wonderful with pleanty of items to choose from. The walled city that the hotel was set in was so charming !!! We enjoyed alot of quiet, romantic time here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntbunnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

What a fabulous stay we had at this hotel. It was a bit of a challenge to find the place but we were rewarded with a pleasantly quiet four-night stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the outside patio and garden area is extremely relaxing. We used this location as a base for exploring southern Tuscany by car and it was very convenient to get to other villages and wineries within 30 minutes or so. The village itself is small but has a several excellent restaurants one of which is affiliated with the hotel. We found the breakfast to be the best we sampled. Very generous portions of baked goods, meats and cheeses, fresh fruits and cereals, and excellent cappucino.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasMagyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

My Husband & I just spent 3 nights at the Palazzo del Capitano. It is a lovely hotel in a historic building with a lovely garden. It has been excellently renovated and beautifully decorated. The rooms are charming and spotless. The bathrooms looked new had great shower heads! We paid extra for a suite superior.
****I would recommend this hotel highly WITH ONE CAVEAT: the is no elevator and most rooms are up 3 flights of stairs. In our room there was also a flight of stairs between the bedroom and bathroom. This was very difficult for me as I have replaced knees & hips. The day staff was totally not helpful,rude and actually yelled at me . The desk clerk insisted there were no other rooms available, when an hour later a group of about 8 couples checked in.
If you are physically fit, I recommend this hotel as it really is lovely. If stairs are at all an issue for you, go elsewhere or in your communications with the hotel insist on one of the few rooms on the first level and hope that they give it to you.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyW1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We spent 4 nights in this hotel in May. We chose San Quirico as a base for touring the Val D'Orcia and this hotel because it is in the Michelin red guide and because of other reviews. The hotel is an old palazzo and has some beautiful features which include the vaulted breakfast room and the garden. However there are no lifts and as our room was on the top floor there was quite a bit of climbing to do.We booked a superior double room.Apparently there are 3 of this category in the hotel. Two overlook the garden the other the street. As our luck would have it we got the room overlooking the street or rather the roof of the house opposite. While the room was nice enough there was no view,the wardrobe was a period piece which was impracticable and the bathroom while well equipped had no room to leave anything down.We had to leave our soap bags in the bedroom. While the street outside was quiet during the night apart from the ringing of the 2 different church bells, delivery vans etc could be noisy from 7 onwards. If you are considering staying here get a room overlooking the garden and take into account that there are no lifts.
The garden is a lovely quiet spot where were able to relax after a day touring.
Breakfasts were very good with a wide selection which would suit anyone-one small niggle.When you order a caffe latte you are served a cup of coffee not a jug of coffee and a jug of hot milk which is common all over Italy and France. It seem to me llike a bit of 'penny pinching'.
The staff were very friendly and helpful though,unlike a previous reviewer, we did not find the owner all that friendly. When we arrived he was in the lobby but did not greet us.He runs the hotel efficiently but lacks friendliness .
San Quirco itself has not much to offer to the tourist. The hotel restaurant is by far the best in the town .We dined there twice and enjoyed the meal though we felt that the portions were very measured and the prices high. We also eat at il Tinao which we would not recommend..
We enjoyed our time in the Val d'Orcia .For me the highlights were the monastery of Sant Antimo, Bagno Vignioni and Pienza. We took our bathing costumes with us to experience the hot springs at Bagni San Filippo. It is a bit of a scramble to get to the public spring but well worth it(on the right just as you come into the village)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
2.3 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
6.4 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fonteverde
Fonteverde
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Property: Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Address: Via Poliziano 18, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAPITANO LUXURY HOTEL COLLECTION A brand that for over than 20 years has expressed romanticism, wellness and a great passion for hospitality in Tuscany, gives you a warm welcome in the ancient village of San Quirico d'Orcia in the heart of the Val d'Orcia, declared in the year 2004 World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Breathtaking landscapes, historical towns and the worldwide most famous vineyards world and ... our Hotel Collection: Palazzo del Capitano Wellness&Relais,Historical Mansion of the XIV century Charming Mansion with furnishing that are inspired by the Tuscan tradition, where the modern comfort is perfectly integrated with the charm of the old one. Villa del Capitano Art&Relais, Neoclassical Villa Elegant Mansion located on the main street of San Quirico d'Orcia close to the Ancient Medieval Walls. The bright Suites will surprise you with lovely views of the Val d'Orcia and with its Made in Italy design masterpieces Capitano's Dwellings - Widespread Hotel The pretty double rooms with private bathroom in typical Tuscan style are dislocated in different buildings in the Historic Centre of San Quirico d'Orcia to let you enjoy your holiday as a guest of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness And Relais
Palazzo Del Capitano Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing