We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Reviewed May 6, 2009

What a wonderful surprise in this great little town that is centrally located. The junior suite was the best room of the trip and cost much less than other hotels where we stayed. Their restaurant was the best of our 2 weeks in Tuscany with good value. The hotel is perfect for couples traveling together wanting to see the hill towns and the village is perfect with a small shops, cafes and an inexpensive winery right in town.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawmill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2009

The website overpromises. Stayed there for 3 nights. The service was ok - staff could not really be described as friendly. The first thing we were told, before we were even welcomed to the hotel, was that we had to use the back door via the gardens because reception was not manned all day. The doors between the rooms are really thin so noise travels. The TV was on in the room next door and we could hear every sound. Their restuarant is really, really good. The town itself is a bit dead - Montalchino, Sienza or Montalpuciano would have been a better choice and all are within minutes. Facilities for guests are limited - no lounge or seating area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveGoodHotels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

A very nice place; we were at the top of an ancient house of the medieval little town, with private terrace on the roofs and on the gorgeous panorama of Val d'Orcia.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VeniceLalla76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We had a short cycle from Siena on our way to Rome on the Via Francigena and were glad to pull into San Quirico d'Orcia at the top of a long hill.

The first hotel we saw in the street leading into the old town was the Palazzo del Capitano and it looked pretty. It is a very good boutique hotel with a lovely garden and well decorated rooms in the Tuscan style. The associated restaurant is pretty good too.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank culverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

We stayed from 23-27 April in the Virgo suite......absolutely perfect! Planned to stay in Scorpio and it was a lovely room but when we saw the view of the garden and village rooftops, we decided to splurge and we are glad we did. The jacuzzi bath was enjoyable after a day in the car and the fireplace must be wonderul in the winter.

Roberto Genovese is a great host....we appreciated the terrific complimentary bottle of wine given to us on our last afternoon. We sat in the lovely garden with some newly made friends from South Africa and enjoyed our bottle on our last evening at the hotel Palazzo del Capitano.

Ariana is such a wonderful asset to the hotel. She speaks fluent English and gave us perfect directions to Assisi, Chianti, and other suggestions for day trips. Laura was very helpful as well.

Breakfasts were delicious and bountiful with pastries, meats and cheese, fresh fruits, jams, breads, cereals, and fresh juices.

We truly enjoyed our dinners at Il Forno Vecchio. Pasta with Duck and Pasta with Wild Boar Sauce were two of our favorites. The restaurant has seating in the garden or downstairs (my favorite for cools nights......very fun atmosphere). Again, Roberto Genovese can be found working in his restaurant nightly.....does this man ever sleep? Waiters Michael and Mike were knowledgeable and helpful with menu and wine selections. Nothing seemed too much for them...and they had senses of humor which made the meals even more entertaining! Grazie for the limoncello!!

When we moved to Northern Tuscany for our second week in Italy, we met several couples who were tired of the city scene. We directed them to Palazzo del Capitano and the lovely village of San Quirico d' Orcia. I certainly hope they were able to obtain rooms there......what a find!!!

Thank you everyone at Palazzo del Capitano and Il Forno Vecchio.....we have many fond memories of you and your hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

This is a nice hotel if you can book either of these rooms - Virgo, Toro, Gemini or Sagitarius. All the other rooms are on a narrow lane that one would never think of as being noisy but there is a lot of noise on this little lane and it starts very early and unless you are a very SOUND sleeper you will not be happy.

The rooms are nicely furnished and clean. The breakfast is pretty standard, but not minimal. It is a great location between Pienza and Montalcino. The town is nice but not really touristy.

It is a walk to the parking lot below the town, especially in the rain.

Most of the staff is quite friendly with the exception of one.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeabeckTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2007

This was a wonderful destination after a day of driving in Tuscany. As we drove down the lovely narrow streets of San Quirico d'Orca to find the hotel, we didn't know what to expect. What an absolutely beautiful place in the heart of the town! If you love quint elegance, beautiful antiques with lots of tile and stone you will enjoy the hotel. A breakfast with fresh fruit, breads, cheeses, meats, eggs, tarts etc. in the beautiful breakfast room was included. Prepare to relax. Wish we had had time for a massage!. Lovely walled garden. Very sweet staff.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smmtst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
0.3 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
422 reviews
2.3 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Albergo Posta Marcucci
Albergo Posta Marcucci
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
479 reviews
6.4 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
666 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Address: Via Poliziano 18, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range: $100 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAPITANO LUXURY HOTEL COLLECTION A brand that for over than 20 years has expressed romanticism, wellness and a great passion for hospitality in Tuscany, gives you a warm welcome in the ancient village of San Quirico d'Orcia in the heart of the Val d'Orcia, declared in the year 2004 World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Breathtaking landscapes, historical towns and the worldwide most famous vineyards world and ... our Hotel Collection: Palazzo del Capitano Wellness&Relais,Historical Mansion of the XIV century Charming Mansion with furnishing that are inspired by the Tuscan tradition, where the modern comfort is perfectly integrated with the charm of the old one. Villa del Capitano Art&Relais, Neoclassical Villa Elegant Mansion located on the main street of San Quirico d'Orcia close to the Ancient Medieval Walls. The bright Suites will surprise you with lovely views of the Val d'Orcia and with its Made in Italy design masterpieces Capitano's Dwellings - Widespread Hotel The pretty double rooms with private bathroom in typical Tuscan style are dislocated in different buildings in the Historic Centre of San Quirico d'Orcia to let you enjoy your holiday as a guest of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness And Relais
Palazzo Del Capitano Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing