We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stunning Rooms Beautiful Garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stunning Rooms Beautiful Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I traveled around Tuscany from June 20 – 28, 2014. Palazzo del Capitano was our second stop.

Stay: Nights of June 23, 24, and 25, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel.

Staff: Professional, helpful, friendly, and there was always someone at the front desk who could speak English.

Room: We stayed in the Capricorno room, which was palatial by European standards. I really loved this room. It was approximately 30 feet long by 19 feet wide and the decoration was beyond elegant. The room was very quiet, which is always important to me, because I have super hearing like a bat. Also, they had shutters you could close to block out the light if you wanted to sleep late.

Bathroom: Powerful hair dryer, toilet, bidet, no tub, but the shower is large enough for a big, tall, husky guy. The water pressure was great--the ancient Roman aqueduct builders would have been proud.

Grounds: A stunning garden with plenty of chairs and tables for sitting and lounging around! This garden was arranged in such a way as to provide little nooks of privacy. I wish I had a garden like this at home.

Breakfast: They had a nice spread; a good selection of pastries, cereals, egg dishes, cheeses, etc.; good cappuccino. The breakfast room was quaintly decorated and provided a pleasant eating experience.

Dinner: Somehow, instead of just booking the room, I booked a package deal online. Not exactly sure how I did it, but everything turned out well. Dinner actually came with the package. We ate in the same restaurant every night: Trattoria al Vecchio Forno. The restaurant was stunning. The area where we ate was open to the sky and decorated with lots of beautiful plants. The service was very good, and the food was good. They had a menu with several courses that went along with the hotel package, but you could veer from it and just pay the difference if needed, so don’t be afraid to ask for more choices. I don’t recommend the pan-seared duck, but the pasta with duck sauce was good.

Spa: That was actually part of my package too: two facials and two body rubs. It was relaxing.

Location: Right in the heart of San Quirico d’Orcia. We were able to walk all over town from the hotel. Also, from here we took day trips to Montalcino and Siena.

TIP: If you do take a side trip to Siena, go very early. We got there around 10:00AM and literally drove around for one hour looking for parking. We finally parked in the suburbs and caught a local bus. Thank heaven my husband was born with a GPS chip in his head, because without him I would never have made it back to where we parked the rental car. Siena was crazy crowded!

Room Tip: The Capricorno room is an excellent choice. It is beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mah1066ban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    239
    45
    13
    13
See reviews for
93
787
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful small Hotel in old town. Lovely garden with jacuzzi. Nice rooms with AC and friendly staff. I took a massage and really enjoyed it. Other services are also available. You need to leave your car outside the walls but it's near and hotel provide help with luggage. I really recommend this hotel and village to visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KimmoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Charming restored houses with lovely central garden in a quiet slightly off the tourist map little town near Pienza. Also has a spa. Excellent breakfast and associated restaurant was very good.
Town has a 15th century formal Italian garden worth seeing.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas c. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We travelled to Tuscany in June 2014 having spent three nights in Florence and San Quirico was the perfect opposite of the bustle and noise of the City.
The hotel is situated within the city walls in a beautiful, picturesque, quiet street not far from the main square.
The emphasis of the hotel is relaxed charm and it generally markets itself as a bed and breakfast.
Our room was not the most opulent that I have stayed in but was well appointed, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent and fairly extensive. In fact thinking about it is making me hungry now.
The staff were excellent, attentive, helpful and friendly.
There is a beautiful garden to the rear of the hotel and I am told that a swimming pool is due for 2015.
The hotel has a sister restaurant, which is accessed from the rear of the hotel, and this too was fantastic.
Lastly I thought that the hotel was excellent value for money and was an ideal location for exploring Tuscany, specifically the Chianti region.
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Booked a last minute room for the night and was hugely surprised at the standard of the room and setting.

Staff came down to show us where to park and they helped with the luggage. On check-in we were given discount cards for the hotel's boutiques across the road.

We were upgraded to a gorgeous suite on 2 levels with a sitting room, 2 bathrooms, 2 large televisions, bedroom and open staircase. The decoration was beautiful, unique and personal.

We used the jacuzzi outside in the garden which was lovely. The only disappointment for us was the food at the hotel's restaurant. Breakfast in the main hotel was great.

Staff were excellent and we'd happily return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank space4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

There truly isn't a more beautiful backdrop that this hotel with it's mountainous location, beautiful gardens and quaint rooms. We returned to this hotel after a fabulous experience 5 years ago. Sooo, I assumed it would be the same. Yes, it still had the beautiful atmosphere but I was disappointed with the air conditioning (or LACK OF IT). We visited in the beginning of June and did a lot of sight seeing in the day with the temperatures in the high 80's and low 90's . The nights were warm as well.Actually, it was hot!The front desk told us they do not put the air conditioning on until JULY!!! Seriously, what kind of answer is that. How can you put such a stipulation on when the air conditioning should or shouldn't be put on. So, to get some are circulating in our room, we tried to open the windows but there were no screens. And because of the gardens below, there were birds flying around. So we had to keep them closed to avoid anything flying in. We could never find a bartender in the garden bar to get a drink after we came back from touring all day. The restaurant atmosphere at the hotel still had the same charm except for the meals that we were served. There was 5 people in our party and 3 of the 5 meals were not up to par. I , myself, had to send my meal back twice. It was my least favorite dinning experience in the 10 days that we toured this Beautiful Country. I am quite disappointed because my last stay there was so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OIrlando, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here recently while doing a bicycle tour. The hotel is amazing with a great location and true Tuscany charm. The staff was extremely generous, friendly and hospitable. Each room has unique character (we saw 3 of them) without a typical hotel feel. The furniture was unique and like what you would find in a home vs a hotel. It felt special to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgebet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
2.3 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
6.4 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fonteverde
Fonteverde
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Property: Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Address: Via Poliziano 18, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAPITANO LUXURY HOTEL COLLECTION A brand that for over than 20 years has expressed romanticism, wellness and a great passion for hospitality in Tuscany, gives you a warm welcome in the ancient village of San Quirico d'Orcia in the heart of the Val d'Orcia, declared in the year 2004 World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Breathtaking landscapes, historical towns and the worldwide most famous vineyards world and ... our Hotel Collection: Palazzo del Capitano Wellness&Relais,Historical Mansion of the XIV century Charming Mansion with furnishing that are inspired by the Tuscan tradition, where the modern comfort is perfectly integrated with the charm of the old one. Villa del Capitano Art&Relais, Neoclassical Villa Elegant Mansion located on the main street of San Quirico d'Orcia close to the Ancient Medieval Walls. The bright Suites will surprise you with lovely views of the Val d'Orcia and with its Made in Italy design masterpieces Capitano's Dwellings - Widespread Hotel The pretty double rooms with private bathroom in typical Tuscan style are dislocated in different buildings in the Historic Centre of San Quirico d'Orcia to let you enjoy your holiday as a guest of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness And Relais
Palazzo Del Capitano Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing