We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife booked this place on our travels through Tuscany. What a surprise to find this hidden gem. Everything about this place, the hotel, the town, the food, the staff you name it was fantastic! After spending all day everyday for 2 weeks on my feet walking from one tourist attraction to another this was a welcome break to put my feet up out in the garden, indulge in a massage and eat some great meals! Thanks to all involved in making our short stay so enjoyable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    239
    45
    13
    13
See reviews for
93
786
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is situated in a lovely small town in Italy
Very quaint
They welcome you and are very attentive, afternoon tea/ snacks brilliant
Rooms are basic and the sheets and blankets perhaps not the best , a bit tired perhaps
The friendliness is the best part
Breakfast is excellent
I would stay here again because there is so much to do and they are nice folk but would like a bit better room with nice sheets and blankets and pillow

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent hotel, the service was oustanding, the staff is amazing and extremely supportive. We were there with my two and half months old son and we felt that all our needs were met. The room was excellent. The breackfast was very good with all selected local produces and an amazing home made jam tart. We will definitively return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attarico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had the opportunity to visit San Quirico again and stayed a second time at Palazzo del Capitano. This s a great hotel in a sleepy hill town and we love it. The rooms, gardens, hotel restaurant, staff and atmosphere are the best, in our opinion. My wife and I stayed in their large Tuscany style suite the first time and it was fabulous. My daughter and I each had a single room this visit and the rooms are obviously smaller but very comfortable with AC. The hotels restaurant , a short walk from the hotel, is the best on our trip and we would have eaten there a second time but they are closed on Wednesdays. The village is quite but charming and easily taken in on a cool morning stroll. I especially like the town's winery at the bottom of the main street where you can buy a bottle of good wine for 5-10 Euros. Being there on Market day is fun. No crowds in this place and a relaxing hotel to enjoy. Short day trips to Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano, and especially Monticchiello (a hidden gem) are great. The hotel's gardens behind the building are a place to sit back and enjoy the flowers, hot tub, birds, vine shaded seating areas. It doesn't get much better than this!

Room Tip: This is our favorite hotel in Tuscany!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sawmill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Absolutely lovely place. Particularly liked the calm garden and excellent breakfast. Bedrooms fashionable and comfortable. Will revisit in future thoroughly recommend this hotel. Book massages etc in advance. Attached restaurant was also great. Very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gethin683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very well located hotel in quaint town mid way down between Rome and Siena / Florence. Very convenient to travel around Southern Tuscan region with very good wine towns and farms nearby. Hotel was great, rooms large, big shower, could have slightly bigger windows. The staff were helpful and keen to recommend places to see and go. Didn't use the Spa at all but seems nice. The garden area is an excellent idea with benches and chairs around to relax and just soak in the atmosphere. Breakfast very tasty and well stocked with good quality food and more than ample food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank popLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for three nights just week before last. hotel is right in the middle of town and we used it as our base for exploring Tuscany. Staff just was wonderful and they attended to oour every need. Arranged winery tour and a winery Sunday lunch as well as pointing out sights to visit.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomethridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
2.3 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
6.4 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fonteverde
Fonteverde
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Property: Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Address: Via Poliziano 18, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAPITANO LUXURY HOTEL COLLECTION A brand that for over than 20 years has expressed romanticism, wellness and a great passion for hospitality in Tuscany, gives you a warm welcome in the ancient village of San Quirico d'Orcia in the heart of the Val d'Orcia, declared in the year 2004 World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Breathtaking landscapes, historical towns and the worldwide most famous vineyards world and ... our Hotel Collection: Palazzo del Capitano Wellness&Relais,Historical Mansion of the XIV century Charming Mansion with furnishing that are inspired by the Tuscan tradition, where the modern comfort is perfectly integrated with the charm of the old one. Villa del Capitano Art&Relais, Neoclassical Villa Elegant Mansion located on the main street of San Quirico d'Orcia close to the Ancient Medieval Walls. The bright Suites will surprise you with lovely views of the Val d'Orcia and with its Made in Italy design masterpieces Capitano's Dwellings - Widespread Hotel The pretty double rooms with private bathroom in typical Tuscan style are dislocated in different buildings in the Historic Centre of San Quirico d'Orcia to let you enjoy your holiday as a guest of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness And Relais
Palazzo Del Capitano Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing