We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great Hotel, Nice area in a quiet strategic place, near the state roads. A great base for exploring the Tuscan hill towns. Very helpful staff with great english, especially Alicia, who helped us picking out areas to see and thing to do around there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianSarwono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel just after Christmas. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We actually stayed in one of the nearby guest houses and not the hotel itself which was not a massive problem as the town is tiny and the distances are very short. The only downside was that we had to go to the hotel for every facility including breakfast, reception and even internet connection since the guest house didn't have a wireless network of its own. On the other hand if we were to stay in the main hotel we would have to pay double the price as the only rooms left were suite-like with jacuzzi and fireplace. The breakfast was by far the best we had throughout our trip around Tuscany which was a nice surprise. Not a very extensive variety, but everything there was made fresh every morning and the cured meats and cheese were the ones you would expect to have in an good enoteca or restaurant. There was a tea time (tea and cakes) in the evening which was a very nice touch. The toiletries in the bathroom were also very good and made of local ingredients (oil and wine). Overall we were happy with our stay and would recommend this to others especially given the limited options in the town. Not sure if we would happily pay the price charged during the high season, but since we went there off-season the value for money was quite good. By the way, San Quirico is a very good option if you want to visit all the towns and castles around Val d'Orcia without having to put up with the overcrowded and overpriced touristy places.

Room Tip: Rooms in the guest house might be a problem for some people as you have to climb up 3 flights of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is really what we are looking for country-style room in the tuscan hills. We stayed in a suite cancro, the suite was clean and equipped with nice toiletries and wine plastic-glasses (what we needed). The suite has a mezzanine level with chairs and table, so we did not waste anytime and relaxed on the mezzanine level with a glass of wine and some snack.

There was two problems though:
1. When we came back to our suite at night, the fan in the bathroom was making a lot of noise. We could not figure out how to switch it off, so we asked the staff who was quite unfriendly and kept saying "I dont know". But it was subsequently fixed as I was persistent to ask her to go to our room to fix it and she resolved it. Phew.. Note: the lady was still working in the reception the next morning, she was quite friendly the next day and greet us in the morning.
2. Telephone in the room was not working.

These two are really minor issues (the first one would have been a huge issue if not fixed).

Overall, the place is great and the staff is generally friendly. Breakfast buffet is the best (yes, the best of all places we visited in our trip to Europe in December 2011), amazing spreads - all kind of pies (fruit-base like apple pies etc), breads, yogurt, cereal, eggs, bruschetta, cheeses, cold-cut meats etc..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

It was our first night traveling through the Chianti region and we decided to stay at Palazzo del Capitano for the night. The hotel is in an ancient 'fort' accessible only by foot. Fairly quiet and small town..
We were upgraded to a duplex suite, but was informed that the jacuzzi cannot be used (not sure why bother with the upgrade). The room was country style but pretty average. The shower was not lit (yes, no lighting of any kind in the shower stall) and I nearly pulled the emergency bell twice by accident.
The internet connection was quite bad, but the fun part was when I was trying to connect to it. After calling the reception twice and still failing to connect, the receptionist showed her displeasure by sighing loudly over the phone. We had to go to the reception to ask. That's when we realized the last lady had been providing us wrong information all along. While at the reception, we overheard a couple of guests being told that the spa was not open - and even in-room massage services were not available. You can imagine the surprise since this is suppose to be a spa hotel.
The best part? The sound proofing (if any at all), was bad. We could hear neighbors walking about in their rooms, doors opening and closing..and believe it or, the church bell chimes every hour through the night. I guess you know by now we didn't get a lot of sleep.
In a nutshell, this spa hotel does not really operate the spa all year round (we were there early October), has no view of the tuscan hills, patchy service, and not too much peace. All in all, please don't bother.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily-vdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Based on the reviews and 4 star rating, I upgraded the room expecting exceptional accommodations. Unfortunately, the room lacked an appeal, furniture just seemed randomly placed, I killed a large bug in the room and we were awakened by street and interior hall noise around 6:30 AM. I had requested an early departure for personal reasons and was going to forego my review with any cooperation. However, for 210 euro/night and no cooperation in my early departure, I'm making my comments known. This is not a 4 star hotel by American standards. The restaurant, however, was exceptional!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We spent 4 nights in September at this interesting hotel in this lovely, quaint town and enjoyed it very much. The town is a great way to experience Tuscany as a local. We had visited San Quirico a few years ago and felt at that time that it would be a good place to stay on our next visit to this part of Tuscany and we were right. The cafes, shops, and restaurants are exactly what we were looking for when we researched a town to spend a few nights during our 5th trip to Italy. There are only a few places for tourists to stay, making the town a real living village. The hotel was pleasant. We stayed in a secondary building a short distance from the main hotel and felt like we were in a private home. Our room was on the top floor, with lots of steps. But, we had a nice view from our room and a cute, private terrace. It was worth the climb. The room was pleasant and the bathroom large. Breakfast in the hotel was typically Italian - had everything we wanted and more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in the main hotel building and loved this town and hotel. Rooms was large and the bathroom modern and roomy. Internet connection was the easiest we found on our trip. The "hotel restaurant" was especially interesting for us as it served Tuscan specialties and wines - all delicious and beautifully presented. The local soaps and sundries were so good - especially the olive oil soap - we purchased some at the hotel shop to take home.
Our favorite part was the large garden with hot tub, chaises, cats and warm sunshine in the middle of the Medieval town.
The breakfast had everything anyone would want, and people of several different nationalities were there and all happy.
Two young ladies at the front desk were a bit testy and unhelpful, but otherwise everyone was gracious and accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Quirico d'Orcia
0.3 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
430 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albergo Posta Marcucci
Albergo Posta Marcucci
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
494 reviews
2.3 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
434 reviews
6.4 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais

Address: Via Poliziano 18, 53027 San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Quirico d'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Quirico d'Orcia
Price Range: $75 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAPITANO LUXURY HOTEL COLLECTION A brand that for over than 20 years has expressed romanticism, wellness and a great passion for hospitality in Tuscany, gives you a warm welcome in the ancient village of San Quirico d'Orcia in the heart of the Val d'Orcia, declared in the year 2004 World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Breathtaking landscapes, historical towns and the worldwide most famous vineyards world and ... our Hotel Collection: Palazzo del Capitano Wellness&Relais,Historical Mansion of the XIV century Charming Mansion with furnishing that are inspired by the Tuscan tradition, where the modern comfort is perfectly integrated with the charm of the old one. Villa del Capitano Art&Relais, Neoclassical Villa Elegant Mansion located on the main street of San Quirico d'Orcia close to the Ancient Medieval Walls. The bright Suites will surprise you with lovely views of the Val d'Orcia and with its Made in Italy design masterpieces Capitano's Dwellings - Widespread Hotel The pretty double rooms with private bathroom in typical Tuscan style are dislocated in different buildings in the Historic Centre of San Quirico d'Orcia to let you enjoy your holiday as a guest of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness And Relais
Palazzo Del Capitano Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais San Quirico D'Orcia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing