We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Scopeto, Scopeto, Scopeto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Scopeto Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vagliagli
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Scopeto, Scopeto, Scopeto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I first saw the fabulous Borgo Scopeto in 2004 when it was being renovated from an ancient Sienese wine estate into a world class village hotel. Gone are the cranes and swirling construction dust of a five-year restoration.
Taking the bumpy 'strad bianca' from the village of Vagliagli we arrived at a long cypress-lined driveway which leads to a cluster of impeccably restored stone buildings and into a large arrival court where four bright red Vespas are artifully lined up near the entrance looking like a polished ad campaign. To complete the picture a group of perfectly restored Mercedes are lined up in the parking area above. It seems a German antique car club is making Borgo Scopeto their home base while touring the Tuscan countryside. Our room is elegantly, but sparely decorated, and service is precise but low-key. Coffered and decorated ceilings in public rooms have been restored, the bar is incidental in size, but has an adacent room of relaxing cushy sofas and arm chairs. This room was created from a tower (700 A.D.) where the stone ancient walls soar upward to a domed skylight. A sleek modern look is present everywhere with artful black and white photos.
The restaurant is elegant with an interesting menu and accomplished with pleasantly attentive service. Although we ate dinners with friends at local restaurants, the breakfast was vast with many delicious and healthy choices.
The hotel has 56 rooms, suites and guest houses; and the complex covers a large well-manicured area, with spectacular views of the Siena skyline; and a magical dinner in Siena is just a short ride away.
Scopeto is a bucolic oasis off y itself in the Chianti countryside, and well worth the visit.
It it seems familiar to you, Vanessa Redgrave's 'Letters to Juliet' was partially filmed at Scopeto.

Room Tip: Rooms within the main building with a view of the Siena skyline add to the charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    75
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
77
139
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Mrs Gnudi i would like to thank you for the hospitality at the Relais hotel on our visit in September!We had a fantastic stay at Borgo Scopeto.We enjoy every thing.The food was fantastic including the service and the wine selection.Me and my wife : had the time of our LIFE!Well be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CETATUIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reb6234
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

One of the loveliest aspects of our stay was a walk through the vineyard. We wouldn't have known about it had we not asked, so do try to check it out.

The longitude and latitude navigation instructions did not work for our navigation unit. However the driving directions on the website were excellent.

Lovely pools and grounds, and a romantic setting. Late afternoon snacks and drinks were very nice and lovely addition.

The gym was just OK and in our opinion the bed was a bit too hard, but this of course is a personal preference.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reb6234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for three nights in May 2011. The hotel was very nice with scenic views of the Tuscan countryside. The restaurant was very good, but expensive. If you're looking for a peaceful retreat, this is a great place to stay. Just keep in mind that you'll need a car to travel from the hotel to Siena.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mzyjewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Borgo Scopeto. We had no trouble finding it - but do recommend typing the provided coordinates into your GPS, as we did. From the drive up to the Hotel - lined by beautiful tall cypress trees, the reception, the room, it was all top quality.

We were there for a blessing ceremony, and within minutes of arriving, we were sent a complimentary bottle of prosecco. The staff helped everything for the ceremony run smoothly and we received the best wishes of the managers. Before our arrival, all liaising with them was helpful and professional. It really was the perfect day for us!

There are two separate swimming pools, one tended to be a little quieter, the other had more families, which was great as you were able to choose. The Spa is very reasonably priced and the services provided very relaxing. In addition to treatments, there is a whirl pool, sauna, steam room and "emotional showers" (showers with different coloured lights).
Food and service at dinner again are outstanding - we especially recommend the home made Piri pasta for a primo piatti!
With many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngharadM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed two nights at the hotel as part of a driving adventure tour. The arrival for all our cars was well organised and a special area set aside. The staff were great and saw to our every need. A special wine tasting was arranged for the group in the oldest part of the relais, that we relished heartily. We had a variety of rooms and ours wall very smart and looked south over the other buildings and the property. The morning sunrise was spectacular. The restaurant is first class in both food quality and service. and one of the highlights of this 21 day adventure. The grounds are elegant and well maintained and it is a wonderfully restful place to spend a couple of days off the road. Sienna is not far away adds to the hotel charm even if the road to and from Borgo Scopeto is narrow, requiring a good level of concentration. Overall Borgo Scopeto received a big thumbs up from our group and well worth consideration if you are looking for a more up market Italian hotel experience.

Room Tip: There are a number of different buildings in the complex joined by a gravel court which may be an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Firstly, the hotel is very hard to find, and even more dangerous to drive to at night. Make sure you get VERY detailed directions before going.

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. We were upgraded to a spacious Suite, however, still the place is rather dull. Not much decoration, spacious but very basic room setup and clay tiled flooring.

We found out that the hotel has many group events/meetings, so we always end up sitting next to/running into people who are taking a break from their meetings. It makes us feel like we are staying in a business/conference hotel. The Staff also act like in business hotel - very cool, matter of fact like.

The breakfast and dinner was average. The Reception/Concierge area is very small and there is only space for 1 staff to help at the desk, hence there are always a few guests waiting for their turn to check-in/out/ask for assistance.

There is really not much to do within the property so we are glad we planned our days outside of the hotel.

Most likely will not return as the place is neither luxurious nor historic nor scenic nor charming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trendspott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagliagli
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
5.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
10.0 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 11 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 11 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
14.3 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Scopeto Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Scopeto Relais

Property: Borgo Scopeto Relais
Address: Strada Comunale n. 14 di Borgo Scopeto, 53019 Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Vagliagli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vagliagli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Scopeto Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Prestigia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Borgo Scopeto Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo Scopeto Hotel Vagliagli
Relais Borgo Scopeto Castelnuovo Berardenga
Borgo Scopeto Relais Vagliagli, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing