We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and friendly atmosphere”
Review of Villa Astreo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Astreo
Ranked #6 of 8 Vagliagli B&B and Inns
Prague
1 review
“Unique and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Villa Astreo is a unique place with unforgetable atmosphere and unforgetable owners. We spent a week in villa and had wonderfull time. Francesco and his family were treating us more like friends then guests, and were very helpfull in all aspects.
Villa itself has huge rooms and is a muzeum of this most interesting family. The view from the house is magnificent, you can overview the whole valley from Sienna to San Gimignano. We can truly recommend this place for the quiet vacation where you can enjoy the real tuscany spirit and the italian hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsedm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Ahhh! Astreo. My husband and I have just returned from a mini round the world trip. Astreo is top of our list of highlights.
Francesco, the owner of the villa is one of the nicest, most helpful people we met in Italy. He welcomed us with open arms, carried all our bags upstairs for us and then invited us for a welcoming glass of wine and chat. He showed us a number of places to visit, gave us restaurant recommendations and showed us around the villa, its views and its gardens. We were also introduced to his mother Rosanna, also a very hospitable and friendly lady. We could not have asked for a more in depth welcome! Both Rosanna and Francesco are passionate about their home and their history. We found out why late during our stay.
One afternoon, after spending many hours exploring the Tuscan Countryside, we came back to Astreo for some quiet time and some reading. Rosanna gave me a book to read and to my great joy it was all about her, an autobiography. I read it from cover to cover in one sitting. We were sharing a home with one famous lady and her charming children Francesca and Chiara. Rosanna (Il Rompocollo) is the only woman to have raced in The Palio.
The next day Francesco invited us into their private loungeroom to view a video about Sienna and the Palio where we learned more about his family and their part in the races as well as the true meaning of the Palio. It was a history lesson you could not learn anywhere else!
We stayed in the tower room with sweeping views over the Tuscan countryside and the breathtaking sunsets. The room itself was very spacious and although it did not have it's own ensuite, the bathroom was just for our use and across the hall. Some of the other rooms have their own bathrooms, but the view was worth the separate bathroom!
If you want to experience the best Italian hospitality and share part of the local history with a family who helped create it, you will love Villa Astreo (La Casa di Rompocollo). What a find, away from the busy tourist areas and set in the tiny picturesque village of Vagliagli. We will return soon.

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LovelyLinda51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Francesco, Chiarra and Rosanna were the perfect hosts ...Villa Astreo is rich in history, charm and warmth. They were able to give us all kinds of tips on places to go, great directions, what to do (and in our case, i was ill on arrival, where to get some medicine) ... the Villa is a family heritage property ... don;t expect things to be like at home, enjoy the ambiance. The little village close by has two restaurants, not always open and Siena is only 15 minutes away (if you want to drive the twisty road at night) .. if you don;t want isolation, this is not the place for you. But if you want to hear the grapes growing and enjoy stunning countryside, excellent hospitality, history and love for what Villa Astreo stands for ... this is the place for you. I hope to return some day.

  • Liked — the countryside, the ambiance and history of the villa and the fabulous hosts
  • Disliked — limited places to eat or rather the hours they were open, but great restaurant in local winery, Devoie
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pegletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst,NY
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2008

What a wonderful 5 nights my husband and I had here. Francesco and Chiara were SO friendly and helpful. When we arrived Francesco offered us wine and taralli as he mapped out routes and hill towns for us to visit. His directions made travelling throughout Tuscany enjoyable. Our room (green room) was comfortable and airy (the shower is slightly narrow) and it was delightful to be able to sleep with the windows wide open allowing a cool breeze into the room. The villa is close enough to Siena (30 min drive) so you can go there for dinner, but you should also dine at the taverna in Vagliagli (excellent meal) which Francesco will tell you about. Upon returning to the villa at night Francesco wanted to hear about the day's adventures- it was like coming home, someone wanted to hear about your day. The only thing that could be improved upon is the breakfast. However, the owner's warmth and the perfect surroundings more than compensate for it. We would return there tomorrow if we could!

  • Liked — friendliness of owners and scenery
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Villa Astreo is such a special place!!! The owners, Francesco, his sister Chiara and their mother welcome you into their home and hearts! They went out of their way to make our stay the most enjoyable we experienced on our vacation. We spent four weeks travelling to various parts of Italy and, without a doubt, Villa Astreo topped them all for the beauty of the surroundings and the warmth from everyone we met. There are five rooms available and when we were there they were all taken. Each morning we went down to the breakfast table and shared our experiences and recommendations with the people who were there. The conversations were stimulating and there was always extra coffee and food if anyone wanted more. One day my husband and I planned a picnic and never had the time to do it. Instead we took the food back to the villa and sat at the table next to the pool overlooking the Tuscan countryside. As soon as Chiara and Francesco saw what we were up to, they couldn't do enough to set us up with plates, linens and cutlery so we could really relax and be comfortable. When we left, I knew that we had found something special and it would a long time before we
would experience the wonderful aura of Villa Astreo and the delightful family who are perfect hosts.

  • Liked — The whole atmosphere!
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brokergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2008

The room in Astreo is very spacious. The bathroom is very comfortable especially the show water temperature come up fast. The owner Franseco and Chiara are very friendly and also informative. Base on their advice, we were able to visit Chianti area with great experience, find the great restaurant in both Vagliagli and Siena. In addition, they also give us good advice to visit some of the not so well known hill top towns like Volterra and Monteriggioni. Theses hill top town turned out to be a lovely experience.

The exchange during breakfast room with people from different parts of the world is particulate interesting. This made possible only because the ambient of free spirit created by Franseco

Astreo is not a hotel after all; do not expect the service level to be like a hotel. The physical comfort is similar to a hotel.

All and all stay in Astreo is a great experience; we will definitely come back to Astreo again.

  • Liked — Friendly services, great open views
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WWPEARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We absolutely loved staying here; the owners were quite hospitable and made you feel like you were their guests in their home. All previous comments are correct in that Astreo is not a 5 star hotel, but it has incredible charm and beauty.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. We do recommend that travelers should get a good map of the Siena and Tuscany area before traveling because the directions are confusing.

  • Liked — The beautiful surroundings, the location fro traveling in Tuscany, and the charm of the owners, Francheco, his sister, and his mother
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vagliagli hotels
1.8 mi away
B&B Casa Lucia
B&B Casa Lucia
#1 of 8 in Vagliagli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.2 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dievole
Dievole
#1 of 5 in Vagliagli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casale San Lorenzo
Casale San Lorenzo
#2 of 8 in Vagliagli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Selvole
2.5 mi away
La Pergola Del Chianti
La Pergola Del Chianti
#4 of 8 in Vagliagli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Astreo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Astreo

Property: Villa Astreo
Address: Via del Colombaino 4, 53019 Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Vagliagli
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Vagliagli
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Astreo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Astreo Vagliagli, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing