We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven”
Review of Villa Astreo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Astreo
Ranked #6 of 8 Vagliagli B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Francesco, Chiarra and Rosanna were the perfect hosts ...Villa Astreo is rich in history, charm and warmth. They were able to give us all kinds of tips on places to go, great directions, what to do (and in our case, i was ill on arrival, where to get some medicine) ... the Villa is a family heritage property ... don;t expect things to be like at home, enjoy the ambiance. The little village close by has two restaurants, not always open and Siena is only 15 minutes away (if you want to drive the twisty road at night) .. if you don;t want isolation, this is not the place for you. But if you want to hear the grapes growing and enjoy stunning countryside, excellent hospitality, history and love for what Villa Astreo stands for ... this is the place for you. I hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pegletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2008

What a wonderful 5 nights my husband and I had here. Francesco and Chiara were SO friendly and helpful. When we arrived Francesco offered us wine and taralli as he mapped out routes and hill towns for us to visit. His directions made travelling throughout Tuscany enjoyable. Our room (green room) was comfortable and airy (the shower is slightly narrow) and it was delightful to be able to sleep with the windows wide open allowing a cool breeze into the room. The villa is close enough to Siena (30 min drive) so you can go there for dinner, but you should also dine at the taverna in Vagliagli (excellent meal) which Francesco will tell you about. Upon returning to the villa at night Francesco wanted to hear about the day's adventures- it was like coming home, someone wanted to hear about your day. The only thing that could be improved upon is the breakfast. However, the owner's warmth and the perfect surroundings more than compensate for it. We would return there tomorrow if we could!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Villa Astreo is such a special place!!! The owners, Francesco, his sister Chiara and their mother welcome you into their home and hearts! They went out of their way to make our stay the most enjoyable we experienced on our vacation. We spent four weeks travelling to various parts of Italy and, without a doubt, Villa Astreo topped them all for the beauty of the surroundings and the warmth from everyone we met. There are five rooms available and when we were there they were all taken. Each morning we went down to the breakfast table and shared our experiences and recommendations with the people who were there. The conversations were stimulating and there was always extra coffee and food if anyone wanted more. One day my husband and I planned a picnic and never had the time to do it. Instead we took the food back to the villa and sat at the table next to the pool overlooking the Tuscan countryside. As soon as Chiara and Francesco saw what we were up to, they couldn't do enough to set us up with plates, linens and cutlery so we could really relax and be comfortable. When we left, I knew that we had found something special and it would a long time before we
would experience the wonderful aura of Villa Astreo and the delightful family who are perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brokergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

The room in Astreo is very spacious. The bathroom is very comfortable especially the show water temperature come up fast. The owner Franseco and Chiara are very friendly and also informative. Base on their advice, we were able to visit Chianti area with great experience, find the great restaurant in both Vagliagli and Siena. In addition, they also give us good advice to visit some of the not so well known hill top towns like Volterra and Monteriggioni. Theses hill top town turned out to be a lovely experience.

The exchange during breakfast room with people from different parts of the world is particulate interesting. This made possible only because the ambient of free spirit created by Franseco

Astreo is not a hotel after all; do not expect the service level to be like a hotel. The physical comfort is similar to a hotel.

All and all stay in Astreo is a great experience; we will definitely come back to Astreo again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WWPEARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We absolutely loved staying here; the owners were quite hospitable and made you feel like you were their guests in their home. All previous comments are correct in that Astreo is not a 5 star hotel, but it has incredible charm and beauty.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. We do recommend that travelers should get a good map of the Siena and Tuscany area before traveling because the directions are confusing.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

There were three of us checking into the Villa Astreo, with my sister and me sharing the Olive Room and my cousin in the Green Room.

We had a very hard time finding this B&B and it took us about 1 1/2 hours from Poncibongi, despite the detailed directions from the owner. We got lost again when we were returning in the dark from our first visit to Siena -which lost to us an additional hour. Next time, if I only have a brief time for Siena (we had allowed two days), I would want to be closer to town because too much time and energy was spent trying to find places.

The Villa itself is very interesting with loads of historical pictures and knickknacks displayed in every corner. The Olive room was large and we had our own bathroom and fridge. The water didn't work the first night, but owner Francesco fixed it in a hurry. The mattress was too soft for my taste, as I kept sinking down in it and the breakfast is nothing special. That's not the fault of the owners however, as some silly Italian law doesn't allow B&B owners to cook for their guests. It seems all they can put out is cereal and packaged breads/jam.

I liked the decor of our room and the "old, historical" feel it had, but my cousin didn't feel the same way. She felt the Green Room was too small and dark and didn't like the institutional colors on the walls. She had a very small bathroom and the cigarette smoke definitely infiltrated her room whereas we didn't notice in ours.

Francesco, his sister Chiara, and mom Roseanne lives here and they are fascinating. They'll tell you the whole story about how Roseanne was the first woman to ride in the Palio and they are all extremely helpful and super friendly.

There's a beautiful view over Tuscany from the poolside area at the back and a collection of adorable cats on the property. It's too bad they won't get them spayed because the group might get a little too large one of these days.

All in all I enjoyed the experience and enjoyed meeting the family. As said previously however, I'd stay closer town unless I had a lot more time.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
Thank Jurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Villa Astreo was our absolute favorite of all of the places we stayed in Italy . The reason I say to go here last is because every place we went after this paled by comparison. If you want your last taste of Italy to be a great one, you can’t go wrong by ending an amazing vacation here.

Overall, we felt like the family’s personal guests rather than customers, which we loved. The communication via email prior to our stay was always very good. As a result, Francesco knew we were coming for our honeymoon. When we arrived, he came outside to greet us, helped us with our luggage, and had wine and cookies for us 3 to enjoy together to toast our wedding. He asked us what types of things we wanted to see in Tuscany and then recommended specific places for us to go based on that. He gave us a map of Siena and drew directions on the map for us. As a result of our conversations with him and his guidance, we saw the least touristy and most beautiful parts of Tuscany .

It is true that you will not have your own key to the house. However, someone is always there and will kindly welcome you in no matter what time of day or night. The breakfast was more like a light snack, but considering the bargain price of the Villa, this did not bother us at all. Breakfast is served in the dining room, which is beautiful and lends itself to easy and friendly conversation with other guests.

We stayed in the Tower Room, which is very large and has a comfortable, soft bed and is the only one with the view of the valley. It is also the only room in which the bathroom is not connected, so that is the trade-off and the reason this room is the same price as the others, even with the amazing view. Yhe bathroom is your own private bathroom and is large enough to easily get ready in and therefore does not create an inconvenience. The bathroom is a short walk from the Tower Room past the hallway to the other rooms. However, we never ran into any other guests on our way to or from the bathroom and the hallway lights are easy to find. Also, since the other rooms are down a separate hall, this was not awkward at all. The view of the Tower Room makes the disconnected bathroom well worth it for a short stay. You will not get hotel quality towels, but you will get clean, residential towels, as if you were staying in a friend’s beautiful house.

Everything in the house was in very good condition and the grounds are beautiful. There are visual treasures around every corner. There is an area for a fire pit with rustic seating around it, a rustic gathering table with seating, a bocce ball court, a hammock, and a gazebo overlooking the valley. The swimming pool area is beautiful and also has seating for eating and lounging. Since the family lives there, I did wander into private areas of the house on accident and was never made to feel bad about that.

The family was very patient and friendly always and conversed with us as little or as often as we liked. We learned about Siena , the Palio, and the surrounding areas from people who have a great love and passion for it all.

Francesco will tell you about 2 dinner restaurants in the nearby town of Vagliagli. One is a steak place and the atmosphere is very stuffy, so is the service. I would not recommend it. The second one is a restaurant that Francesco will describe as having good, typical Tuscan food with very friendly service. This one is fantastic! The food is great, the atmosphere was fun, and the price was very good. If you go at 9pm, you will get several courses of food, water, bread, wine, and dessert for 25 euros per person. This is so much food that you will be eating for 3 ½ hours!

I would also think that this would be a good place to stay with children because the family mentioned that they love children and there is alot of outdoor space and I think at least one room has 2 double beds. We definately plan to come back when we have children.

One thing to note, the directions on their website are correct but confusing. The directions advise you to make a turn before arriving at the village of Vagliagli. You may mistake some condo/townhouse-looking housing that is before the village as being the village and therefore think that you have went too far. The village is actually a little bit past that. So Villa Astreo is between the housing and the village. You will be able to recognize this village because it is the only thing on that road that has some shops where the road splits and goes in a sort-of circle. There is another tiny section of shops on the way, but they are on only the left side of the road and the road does not split and circle around near those shops.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TwoPeasInAPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vagliagli hotels
2.2 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dievole
Dievole
#1 of 4 in Vagliagli
303 reviews
2 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Selvole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Casale San Lorenzo
Casale San Lorenzo
#1 of 8 in Vagliagli
49 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Pergola Del Chianti
La Pergola Del Chianti
#3 of 8 in Vagliagli
20 reviews
1.8 mi away
B&B Casa Lucia
B&B Casa Lucia
#2 of 8 in Vagliagli
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Astreo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Astreo

Address: Via del Colombaino 4, 53019 Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Vagliagli
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Vagliagli
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Astreo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Astreo Vagliagli, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing