We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“apologies for late review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria la Botte Vagliagli

Osteria la Botte Vagliagli
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Vagliagli
Price range: $27 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Small Osteria situated in the medieval village of Vagliagli, run by Laura the Chef and Salvatore.The Restaurant is very nice with a small terrace overview the Chianti Hills. Local and Italian cuisine ,with a creative touch. Well prepered with choice of Top quality food in market with a very good preparation and presentation.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“apologies for late review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went to la botte on the last day of our honeymoon last August. We stayed at a villa at the top of the hill above the village. La Botte is truly special. A small resturant off the beaten track with a great ambiance. The food was imaginative (e g pear risotto) and beautifully presented |(and even good for me as a vegetarian). The care with which the owners prepare the food is obvious. The presentation is so individual, the bread comes in a little hessian bag. Plus the homemade Limoncello is great. The owners make you feel relaxed, nothing is too much trouble, and their enjoyment of what they do is infectious. Thanks to Salvatore and Laura for a lovely last evening, wihich we still remember as one of the best nights of our honeymoon. On leaving we bought three bottles of lovely olive oil which we are still using.and remember as a little peice of Tuscany.
We thought we had made a posting last August but we were looking at the restaurant reviews ( to remember our visit) and saw our entry had not been posted. We will always remember this restaurant and hope to return sometime soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    48
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“La bottle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Sitting in London makes me look back very nostalgically to our last two summers in a villa just outside Viagliagli. I can only share in and endorse the comments made. This is one of those discoveries that you hesitate to pass on but... Most important is the welcome we (a family with three small children) received both years - the cooking is great as well.... enjoy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Keep walking til you get there...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Keep walking til you get there! La Botte is a quaint little restaurant in a small village 10 mts. from Siena, an easy drive and well worth it, we've been back twice! Run by a couple of ex-travellers, Salvatore and Laura have decided to do things 'their way' and they should cuz it works! Laura is the chef, she deserves more recognition for her wonderful dishes! This is the only restaurant that we've been to that I'm not afraid of what Salvatore brings me, EVERYTHIN G is wondrful!! Toscana used to have some good restaurants that served good food but they've become stale and too touristy,i.e. serving food that is hardly edible, no wonder tourists eat kebab! But Laura only makes what she would eat herself and she eats well!! Just the right combination of creativity and homecooked goodness. She cares about every ingredient and spice, very natural and organic, nothing from a package here! trust me, visit the Piazza del Campo and then get in
your car and go. You definitely won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cipolla747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StPaul Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing people amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

" The pasta with porcini and white truffle oil." this was the best pasta that I and everyone in our party of 18 ever had. It was a totally sensual experience .I remember I took smaller and smaller bites to prolong the pleasure. This was our wedding dinner at this out of the way small Tuscan mountain village restaurant that I found on Trip Advisor. Had great reviews ,with pictures of our hosts with big smiles welcoming . for some reason the faces impressed me with their genuine expressions. I E mailed them and we made plans 2 weeks ahead of time and showed up. I never have experienced such a welcome in my life. We settled into this small comfortable incredibly clean , warm place relaxed enjoyed great wine and great food. it took the first few bites for the wedding party joviality to become an experience of such pleasure that it got real quiet. than remarks of praise. this was followed by another exquisite experience of braised Veal cheeks ( the most luscious and tender meat I ever had) and very tender steak. Even my grand son who is 6 years old remarked that this food was something extra ordinary. this was not a meal but art performance .Our hosts were very gracious.When I come back to anywhere in Tuscany I will make my way back to Vagligli for this experience. Omer Sanan

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank omer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Botte rocks...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

well that's my opinion but in actual fact the atmosphere swayed rather than rocked. This cute little restaurant hidden away in the tiny mountain village of Vagliagli is well worth the detour not just for the cuisine but the hospitality and the added entertainment provided by local diva who regaled us with wonderful impromptu Italian arias. The food we ate at the evening before the wedding party was local, seasonal and cooked with love and passion. Never a great fan of gnocchi, Laura's gnocchitini in saffron sauce turned me into a total convert and I'd like to wish Salvatori's bambini (a giant grappa bottle in a cradle) Many Happy Returns! Exactly what one hopes to find and experience in a true Tuscan village - the real thing! We ate there every day of our stay...rock on La Botte!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susie398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria la Botte Vagliagli also viewed

Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga
 

Been to Osteria la Botte Vagliagli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing