We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is the most relaxing stay we have ever had anywhere.
The large apartment - La Nostra, is like a house! Huge rooms, rustic but very nicely appointed. Spotlessly clean and the BEST views of Tuscany!

Alberto and Camilla were amazing hosts, pretty much left us our privacy, but were there when we needed them....we ate their homemade pasta, fresh olives, and woodfired pizza. We ordered the most divine vegetables from their farm.( see photo).

The spa amenities were great, which we included as part of our payment. I had a lovely massage, turkish bath, sauna and spas. very clean and well serviced.

The kids played with the resident cats and dog, fed the pigs, rabbits and ducks and the rest of their time was spent playing in the gorgeous pool.

This is an idyliic getaway for couples, families, or more than one family. It's close to many great towns, about 45mins from Sienna and full of amazing places to eat, wonderful wineyards,

Room Tip: there are three different accomodation types. We stayed in the largest, but there were families stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    9
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Recently returned from a wonderful stay at Piaggione di Serravalle in May 2012. This was my 3rd and mostly rejuvinating holiday in Italy! Pulling into the winding path surrounded grape vines mixed in with the owners sculptures is quite an introduction. We opened the door to the first floor flat and the amazement continued. There are wonderful bedrooms, dining room, and living room. However, nothing compared to the view from the terrace…nothing but rolling hills ( except the beautiful pool just below)
This lovely residence is certainly off the path and requires a car. The views and atmosphere was well worth skipping public transportation! Highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSalter26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was an amazing place to stay. The view is breathtaking but also the quaintness and charm is lovely. This place has a hot tub and sauna along with the outside pool which was great since the weather ended up being a bit colder than expected and this was a great option.
The farm fresh eggs and wine were an added bonus. The place is clean which is top on my list of a must criteria and the whole atmosphere is so hospitable. I will definitely plan to go back again which for my part is the best recommendation!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa Ajoah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have stayed at Piaggione di Serravalle over the last 20 years. I first met Giovanni and Marisa in 1993 and became a part of their family. We became such good friends, they came to Portland, OR to visit us. I cannot recommend this home enough. You will forget your cares while out on any of the terraces; and hear the impossible: only birds to wake you in the morning. An hour to Florence; 20 minutes to Siena; you are within striking distance of the many small hilltop towns to be found in Tuscany. Marisa is gone now; Camilla is in charge; she will find a way into your heart if you will open it to the many possibilities of finding out who you are while you are in Italy.

Room Tip: A car is advisable, but train travel is possible. Take the train from Milan or Rome to Florence. Cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We traveled to the villa in Sienna twice, once in 2006 with the entire family and again in 2010. The first time we went we met Camilla and her mother and they greeted us in the downstairs villa. They had such warm hearts, open arms and of course brought out classic Italian dishes and wine that night. My daughters were all teenagers at the time and even they loved staying there. I drove up to the villa with my three daughters and we were all completely awestruck. The villa and the view was something out of a storybook. The brick home brought a feeling of old culture yet the updated appliances allowed us to feel comfortable. The villa was spotless, the rooms, kitchen, and living room were more than we could ask for. We loved to make our own Italian dinners with the help of Camilla. We would travel to the grocery store and come back to the villa and cook. We would open the large windows and have a beautiful dinner on the verandah watching the sunset over the vineyards. The girls liked to adventure on the land picking fruits and watching the animals. My husband and I relaxed poolside hoping we could prolong our stay. It was a great location in that it was quiet and absolutely breathtaking. When we wished to go into the city and do classic tourist things we just drove there (so you should rent a car) but it was always nice to come back to the villa. My family and I always think about the beautiful villa, the views and the large pool that overlooks the vineyards and would love to return again soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

I was a bit wary in booking La Capanna at Il Piaggione for a week on my first trip to Italy, because I could not find any recent English language reviews.

When I arrived with my partner, our jaws dropped at the beauty. It is on an east-facing hillside with views for kilometres over the Tuscan countryside. The bedroom windows open wide to the view and stream in the morning sun.

There is a patio in the back with shade trees and exposure to the setting sun, and the swimming pool in front has a huge deck and lounge chairs which seem to hang in the air with the gorgeous view. Close up there are trees down into the valley - I was surprised how much of Tuscany is still forested.

La Capanna is of traditional brick and stone construction, but was actually built in the early 1990s, so has modern appliances, kitchen, wiring and plumbing - dishwasher, smaller front loading washer, gas range and convection oven, nice shower. The kitchen is well equipped, everything worked, and the suite and the pool were spotless. The kitchen does have a few basics like salt, sugar, pepper.

The suite has heating and air coooling, but we had want of neither in mid-May.

At night, it is completely silent - no road or industrial noise at all - just an occasional dog bark in the far distance. In the day, it's a working hobby farm, with grapes, vegetables, olive trees, chickens, goats, a pig, and my favourites are the pair of white ducks who roam the grounds. During the day in May we heaerd cuckoos and lots of other songbirds. It's a working farming area, so we heard farm tractors but no other traffic. One day there were chemicals sprayed on the vines around us, so we kept the windows closed during that.

This is a small place, so you're on your own for food, entertainment and activities. We really enjoyed the quiet here as a contrast to the crowds in Siena.

There appear to be lots of small roads and trails in the area - even one that may go into Vagliagli, but we could not find a listing of them. We left a topo map in the villa which is helpful, but you need to be a good bush navigator. That would be a great project for someone to wander around, talk to people, and find them.

There are several ways in to Vagliagli, all of them unbearably scenic, but only the route from Siena (from the south) is completely on paved roads. If you rent a car to get here, the agreement probably forbids you to drive it on 'unsealed' (gravel) roads. This part of Chianti is criss-crossed with 'white roads' - gravel - in generally good condition when we were here.

Vagliagli is a very small town, so check if you need services. There are grocery stores and banks and all the rest within a half hour drive, and this is a good location between Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, and probably lots of other sights.

I was glad to be here with a car - it's a hilly 2km walk to Vagliagli, and anything else is a lot farther. There is bus service to Vagliagli, but only a few trips per day.

The wireless Internet was hooked up just before we arrived, and worked great for us. www.speedtest.net showed 2+Mbps download, and 42ms ping, but only 0.28Mbps upload, which rules out Skype video. It worked okay for Skype audio only though, which was a lot simpler for me than the ItalCom pay phones.

The owners have a great attitude and really want to make it comfortable, without intruding. We really like them.

I don't have much to compare La Campana at Il Piaggione with, but we couldn't have been more pleased with the setting, the building, the amenities, or the management. If there wasn't so much more world to see, I'd book here again.

Room Tip: There is also a larger unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoppaMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagliagli
2.8 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.2 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casale San Lorenzo
Casale San Lorenzo
#1 of 8 in Vagliagli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle

Property: Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle
Address: Strada Comunale Di Cignano, 53019 Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Vagliagli
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Vagliagli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Piaggione di Serravalle is one of those hidden jems in wine country one imagines all his life!Handed down from generations, the farmhouse has kept its simple country feel that makes you feel at ease the minute you arrive.Surrounded by vineyards, olive trees, roses and inhabited with Alberto Inglesi's sculptures, the house has a very special, unique feel.The high up position on the hills of Vagliagli offers open views over the castles in Chianti classico as far as San Polo in Rosso and Mount Amiata on the other side.The owners, Camilla and Alberto, are respectively the best Siena tour guide and the most famous contemporary Siena artist. They are very passionate, creative, generous people who love comfort and beauty. They have been restoring the property for the past 5 years and are turning it into a very fine yet rustic boutique spa retreat.The wellness room hosts a 4 seater Jacuzzi and an infrared sauna in the panoramic loggia which is completely glassed and kept to calidarium temperatures (25-32°). A charming stone staircase leads to the fascinating Turkish steam bath downstairs, elegantly painted by Alberto. The lower ground wellness area also hosts showers, bathroom and a marvellous massage room.La Nostra is the main and largest apartment at Piaggione and has exclusive access to the wellness area. The farm hosts one more large apartment sleeping up to 6 and an independent barn sleeping up to 4. These two apartments DO NOT have access to the wellness area.The large gardens and huge panoramic swimming pool ensures all guests have plenty of space to enjoy their privacy. The pool was recently newly paved and a new external hot tub was put in. It offers vertical and horizontal hydrojets as well as a waterfall. It was designed and built by Alberto himself with stone and marvellous new materials for top functionality and amazing pleasure!The property is on a farming estate producing fabulous Chianti wine, olive oil, fruit, veggies and cured meats. You can see the animals taking a lovely walk down the track in the woods below the property. There are goats, Cinta senese pigs, phaesants, ducks as well as plenty of wildlife!The house is just 1,5 kms from the village of Vagliagli where you have shops and amenieties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Agriturismo Piaggione di Serravalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Piaggione Di Serravalle Vagliagli, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing