We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful Hotel.......full Stop.”
Review of Relais La Suvera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais La Suvera
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Whilst we have stayed at La Suvera on a number of Previous occasions, every time we stay it just gets better, the sheer Beauty of the Hotel, The owning Family and "All" of the Staff are just so helpful and pleasant. We cant wait to go back next year. Tony and Felicity Fisher.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, I have been impressed with all of those I have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stokeabbott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

The BBC film A Trip to Italy http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b0406q2d starred Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon. In this film they stopped at this hotel and the sheer opulence of the hotel was what struck me. Our room was the same huge ground floor apartment which Rob had. This used to be the private rooms of a Pope when he stayed in the area.
The hotel is gorgeous and has a fabulous restaurant and huge wine choices.
Sheer opulence, extreme friendliness and a must to return to.
Visit the museum above us.... in the papal villa... unbelievable... and do avail yourself of the wellbeing and massages... Fantastic

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Zubo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed with one of our daughters and her husband and baby for just one night in early June on our way from Rome to Florence. Just a few other guests that night. It was all we expected. We had two suites in the Villa, which has large,comfortable and individually decorated, accommodations -- each a little quirky, but pleasantly so. It has a homey feel. Well-tended gardens; a small church or chapel on the grounds. Beautiful location; friendly staff. We had drinks in the garden, which has beautiful views of the countryside and moved on to dinner outside on the restaurant's front terrace. The dinner was first-rate and the service very professional and attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamB1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We just returned from a relaxing six night stay at La Suvera, where we were attending a nearby wedding. As other reviewers have said, this is a gem of a hotel with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, especially Angelo at the front desk, who provided us with excellent restaurant suggestions, tips on parking in Siena, etc. From the time of our arrival to our departure, we felt completely pampered and were always met with a ready smile.

The food at both restaurants was superb; we had lunch in the casual poolside restaurant nearly every day, becoming addicted to the pasta pomodoro (so simple yet deliciously prepared with the freshest ingredients!) and also enjoyed dinner a couple of evenings in the restaurant Olivo (Bistecca Florentine was a highlight, so juicy and tender.)

The location is convenient for visiting most of central Tuscany, roughly 30-40 min from Siena and 45 minutes to San Giminano, and the hotel itself is a romantic and peaceful respite away from the hustle and bustle of the big towns and villages.

We spent quite a bit of downtime around the beautiful pool area, which smells fragrantly of jasmine, and several people in our party had excellent sports massages from the extremely skilled woman in the spa (whose name I forget). All of us agreed she found knots we didn't even know existed! We also took advantage of the Jacuzzi and steam room facilities.

We are already looking forward to our next visit and hope to return next summer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We recently stayed at La Suvera during a two-week trip to Italy (Tuscany/Umbria regions) and our stay at La Suvera was a highlight. La Suvera is centrally located not far from Siena and is perfect for day trips and then coming "home" to the quiet and serenity of the countryside. While we were here, we made a day trip to Pisa, went to San Gimignano for dinner, and took a balloon ride over the Chianti wine region (from Siena). We also took the opportunity to enjoy just a peaceful day at La Suvera, reading in the garden overlooking the countryside and enjoying a rejuvenating massage in their Spa as well -- my advice is not to "over-plan" day trips and to really take the time to enjoy the tranquility of the property. Note that the hotel staff is EXCEPTIONAL and totally responsive to any needs or questions -- I was in contact with the Receptions staff prior to our visit to arrange for restaurant reservations and was totally impressed with the quality of their service. When we arrived, the great service continued and I looked forward to the genuine smile and greeting by Angelo every day! Although we ate dinner outside the hotel two nights (Ristorante alla Pieva Enoteca in Pievescola and Cum Quibus in San Gimignano - both very nice!), I would highly recommend a dinner at Oliviera on property -- there is a new chef at the restaurant who provides wonderful selections that are both rustic and creative and made with only the freshest ingredients, not to be missed! All in all, this is a gem of a hotel and I would recommend it highly to anyone who is visiting Tuscany!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the farmhouse suite with private garden - it was super quiet however we would definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildrice777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

It's been many years (1998) since I stayed (lived) at La Suvera, I actually lived there for two months during the summer along with my daughter and significant other. I can't say enough good things about La Suvera and their staff at the time. They treated us like royalty and made us feel like this was our home. We had many friends that came during that time who stayed and everyone had a beautiful time while there. We stayed above the Resturant at that time which was very much like a little suite and every morining would wake up to the smell of coffee. They didn't have the spa at that time but we never were bored always plenty to do. We had a car ventured out everyday the countryside was great any everyone we met we so polite and helpful when we got lost. If you ever have a chance to getaway and want a memorable time this is the place to go. Food was fabulous, service the best, the staff was like our family. I have not had the chance to ever go back but I will never forget those two months. We even had the opportunity to meet the people who owned the property they had come in from Rome on the last night we were there. They said that we were the only people that had stayed at their home longer than them. Wonderful people.

Debbie R

Room Tip: I really can't say which would be the best depends on what type of experience you are looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie102253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The beautiful former Papal Palace is now home to the Marchese Giuseppe Ricci Paracciani Bergamini and his wife, Principessa Eleanor Massimo, who have a most impressive family legacy to share with guests.
From the moment we arrived, and until we left four days later, we were surrounded by incredible history, beautiful architecture and lovely gardens. The view from our room was of a former aviary in the middle of a lovely courtyard surrounded by the palace, family chapel and farm buildings (where we stayed). This is no ordinary family, however, who graciously share their home and rich family history with their guests. Every room and space is filled with the family's treasures. Words cannot describe the statuary and works of art that are housed here. We were so grateful to have been given a special tour of the rooms in the palace by the charming Marquis who told us the stories behind the history. It was a delightful experience we will always treasure.
The entire staff here are VERY welcoming and accommodating, providing suggestions for dinner off site and possible day excursions, serving the restaurant's delicious meals and drinks and caring for the grounds and buildings. Please make sure to take at least a day to relax and explore La Suvera. We chose the Wellness Weekend package which included a chilling bottle of their own vino Bianco, fresh fruit and the most incredible relaxing massages by Silvia! Each room is unique unto itself but all offer antiques and artwork and family mementos. Ours had the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in and was housed under a red velvet canopy. Every evening we returned from dinner to find our room had been tidied and bottles of water and chocolates were left by our bedsdes ensuring we felt very pampered.
My only regrets were that the weather did not allow us to enjoy the gorgeous pool and I didn't make time to enjoy the spa's jacuzzi set in a stone enclosure.
We will look forward to returning to this unique and unsurpassed hideaway again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pievescola
2.9 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
18 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
708 reviews
11.7 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
374 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Suvera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Suvera

Address: Via Capannina della Suvera 70, 53031 Pievescola, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pievescola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Price Range: $367 - $1,320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais La Suvera 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato tra le dolci colline della Toscana, il Relais La Suvera offre un servizio di primissima qualità e un'esperienza unica in una straordinaria dimora storica a soli 30 minuti da Siena. Le 36 camere sono arredate con mobili d’epoca, garantendo al contempo i più moderni comfort e si trovano in tre diversi edifici, la Villa Papale, le Scuderie e la Fattoria, circondati da bellissimi giardini storici.Per il comfort dei suoi ospiti il Relais La Suvera mette a disposizione la piscina riscaldata con acqua mantenuta a temperatura costante di 25°C e la Spa con vasca idromassaggio ricavata da un'antica cisterna medioevale, bagno turco e zona fitness. Nestled among the rolling hills of Tuscany, Relais La Suvera offers you award winning service and a luxury experience in an extraordinary historical residence, a 30 minutes drive from Siena.The 36 rooms & suites are located in 3 different buildings, the Papal Villa, the Ancient Stables and the Farmhouse and are decorated with antique furnishings, combining history with all the modern comforts. For the comfort of Relais La Suvera’s guests the swimming pool is kept at a constant temperature of 25°C (77°F) and the Spa offers an array of massages and treatments, steam bath, fitness area and a Jacuzzi in the medieval cistern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais La Suvera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Suvera Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Hotel Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Italy/Pievescola, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing