We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to remember”
Review of Relais La Suvera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais La Suvera
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
1 review
“A place to remember”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had an amazing time at La Suvera. We even cut short the last week we spent in a villa, to return to the hotel for the last couple of days of our holiday. The staff were very friendly, except for the pool attendant, who to be honest was pretty miserable and had no idea of how to interact with children, who were enjoying the pool. We particularly liked Giorgio, who made us feel very welcome. The food was amazing and the rooms we stayed in were immaculate and sumptuous. Our children loved the cats and dogs, although it made us miss our own pets even more! Having stayed in many hotels of the same ilk, we would recommend this hotel to anyone and we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    43
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
186
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What an amazing hotel. Everything about it was perfect. The staff were extremely friendly and very efficient whilst creating a relaxed atmosphere. Our room was Elena on the third floor. It was just beautiful and it felt a privilege to be somewhere so historic and well renovated. The random cats and dogs gave the place a real family feel. I would love to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Our stay in La Suvera was wonderful. The place is beautiful, filled with history and the opportunity to visit the collection of the Marchess and Marchesa. We were fortunate to have the Marchess himself give us a tour of the castle, with an explanation of the paintings, sculptures, books, etc. It is amazing!
The most outstanding part of La Suvera is the staff. The concierge staff was extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Probably the best team at any hotel we have stayed at. We enjoyed the food, the area and also the other guests. I've noticed that two of them have recently written reviews as well. Our only complaint is that the shower in the Junior Suite that we were upgraded to, was very small. It was within the bathtub, and was such a tiny area that we could barely move. In our opinion, a 5 star hotel should have a larger and more accommodating shower area. Other than that, our stay was perfect and we would recommend La Suvera and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLaSuvera, Proprietario at Relais La Suvera, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our Relais La Suvera. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your Museum tour with the Marquese. He is always very enthusiastic to share his home and history with our guests. We will make sure that our entire staff read your very motivating and inspirational comments. It is very rewarding to know that your stay was so pleasant .
We have taken note of your bathroom observations and when you return to visit us we will make certain to accommodate your every need.
With kind and warm wishes,

Elena Ricci
Partner
Relais La Suvera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We now travel with a 6 months old baby but we still love old, charming, luxurious destinations wih a 'real' feeling - not necessarily an easy combination.... we booked La Suvera at the last minute, aware that we might not exactly be what you are looking for when aiming to attract new hotel guests...

From actually booking our room and then from the moment we arrived until our departure, we absolutely loved this place! It was exactly us -what we like and appreciate, where we can relax, where we feel spoilt while it's not pretentious or uncomfortable. Shortly: a beautiful, friendly little place with heart, soul, history and a view.

Staff met us immediately upon arrival, took over our car, parked it and arranged for the luggage to be taken to our room while we were welcomed by the receptionist, checked-in and shown around and to our room.
We were upgraded to a generous and beautifully furnitured suite in the fattoria building where a cot for our baby had already carefully been set up.

Everything at this hotel is done with love and care. The renovations and decorations are experly and tastefully done and there are stunning details to be found everywhere...
There are lovely gardens to stroll around and different spots to enjoy breathtaking views. The pool is perfect and both the bar and the restaurant are beautiful and classy while comfortable and inviting.

We enjoyed the breakfasts outside, in the lovely courtyard of the restaurant, the lunches outside the bar and dinners either there or in the restaurant and all the staff was absolutely lovely accommodating us and our baby, smiling at her and playing with her -making us feel at ease rather than a burden. We had been worried upfront, going to such an upscale place with a baby and did not want to ruin the holidays of other guests. At the same time were in desperate need of some relaxation and pampering... The staff of La Suvera went out of their way to find the perfect solution for this. They seated us a bit apart from other guests, put extra mats on the floor so the baby could lie there, etc etc

I also had a very good and expert massage at the lovely spa of La Suvera and couldn't recommend it more (and I am very picky if it gets to Spa treatments -especially massages..!)

There is a general,friendly and unpretentious feeling about La Suvera, that extends from staff, over the owners, to guests and visitors and I'm sure that's another reason why the majority of the other guests while we were there, were on their return visit..

This is definitely not the place for people who prefer modern, designer and chain hotels and/or look for entertainment at the pool, in the evenings.

I'd recommend La Suvera both as a perfect place to base yourself at in Tuscany to do day trips in that area, or to simply stay there for a week or two and relax and enjoy.

Grazie mille to all the staff and to the Marquee and Marchioness for their hospitality and our lovely stay.

Room Tip: We stayed at the fattoria building and loved it. It is no problem to visit the 'real' Papal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrimroseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLaSuvera, Proprietario at Relais La Suvera, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for expressing your enthusiasm for our Relais La Suvera. It warms our hearts to know that this experience has proven to be exactly what you were looking for and that you would so highly recommend it to others! We take great pride in our historic structure and it is wonderful to know that our guests appreciate it and that our staff’s efforts to make your stay relaxing and comfortable have succeeded.
We look forward to welcoming you once again, hoping that we can always meet your expectations.
With warmest wishes to you and your family,

Elena Ricci
Relais La Suvera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pievescola, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I are enjoying a return trip to La Suvera in Pievescola, Italy. We were here 6 years ago and have been talking about and planning our return visit since then. It is by far our favorite place anywhere! The beauty of the property, nestled into the Tuscan countryside, the quiet and peacefulness, the gorgeous rooms filled with antiques from the owner's private collection, and the impeccable yet very friendly service is beyond compare. Tonight we enjoyed a fabulous meal prepared for us by special request to the chef. An entire seabass roasted in a salt crust and then opened and served tableside. Unbelievable! Then we had the pleasure of being ushered into the kitchen to thank him personally. He was so charming and gracious and we so appreciated his generosity to take the time to fulfill this wish of ours. Make your reservations immediately--it will become your dream destination, too!
Rick and Suzanne Teaberry

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the palace for a very special experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLaSuvera, Proprietario at Relais La Suvera, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Suzanne and Rick,
thank you so much for your enthusiastic review about Relais La Suvera and our staff. Your comments are very rewarding. We find great comfort in knowing that our efforts are appreciated and your words inspire a continual desire to help your stay be perfect.
We look forward to when you can come back and visit us once again. On behalf of the staff and the owner we thank you very very much!
Kindest regards,

Elena Ricci

Partner
Relais La Suvera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is charming, with the amazing services and friendly staff. Enjoy their pool and jacuzzi, especially spa is one of the best I have seen. Rooms are quiet and originally designed, restaurant serves delicious food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The facilities and the setting of La Suvera are indeed as good as they look in the pictures: a "back-in-time" experience in a castle-like residence in the heart of Tuscany. This "back in time" experience however does unfortunately not only apply to the facility, but for everything that stands behind it as well:

1) Maintenance being overdue in some parts of the facility and rooms (e.g. our balcony was not accessible / usable due to a broken door). Also the rest of the room is somehow intented to be old-style, but really that old-style?

2) Quality of staff not meeting five-star-standards. As per the hotel, they were understaffed on the day of our visit and thus could not deliver everything as planned. Example: The pool should have been opened at 09.00, however when we arrived at 10.00, everything was still extremely dirty from the winds of the previous night and the matresses were not put-up. As per the staff it is just "not the time to be at the pool....". Is staff deciding what I should do??? The pool was somehow ready by 11.15 (water itself remained dirty).

3) Staff hardly consiting of locals. When visiting a real Tuscan-place, I somehow expect an Italian touch of that place, even if I do not speak Italian. This atmosphere was not created by the hotel as mainly foreign staff is employed.

4) Upon arrival we had to wait 10 minutes for the first words of the receptionist: "Arrival?". Until that moment another guest was advised on some extra information.

5) Internet being very unstable and slow. This problem is however known to the hotel.

All in all, it was a very disappointing experience and we can not understand the high ratings of this hotel. In total, we visited five hotels during our two-weeks vacation in Italy and although La Suvera was by far the most expensive one, it was at the same time by far the worst. In our eyes.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLaSuvera, Proprietario at Relais La Suvera, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dearest Guest,

We would like to send our sincere apologies for what appears as a lack of service and a lack of care during your very brief stay at Relais La Suvera. For what concerns the mosquito net not opening well in your room, we immediately called maintenance to fix it and offered you a room change. We are again very sorry for the inconvenience.
Your complaints have been felt and heard by all the staff and once again we can only apologize and hope that someday you will return to our hotel for a longer stay so that you may have the opportunity to enjoy what all of our guests normally praise to the fullest: a unique, tranquil and exclusive relaxing experience. Concerning our staff, we prize ourselves in offering a multi-lingual group of employees that engaged in satisfying your every need with a sincere and warm smile. .
Once again we are extremely displeased that your brief stay was not perfect, and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to turn your not so perfect first memory and impression into a wonderful future experience.
Kind regards,

Elena Ricci
Partner
Relais La Suvera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pievescola
18.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
9.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
11.7 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Suvera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Suvera

Property: Relais La Suvera
Address: Via Capannina della Suvera 70, 53031 Pievescola, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pievescola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais La Suvera 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato tra le dolci colline della Toscana, il Relais La Suvera offre un servizio di primissima qualità e un'esperienza unica in una straordinaria dimora storica a soli 30 minuti da Siena. Le 36 camere sono arredate con mobili d’epoca, garantendo al contempo i più moderni comfort e si trovano in tre diversi edifici, la Villa Papale, le Scuderie e la Fattoria, circondati da bellissimi giardini storici.Per il comfort dei suoi ospiti il Relais La Suvera mette a disposizione la piscina riscaldata con acqua mantenuta a temperatura costante di 25°C e la Spa con vasca idromassaggio ricavata da un'antica cisterna medioevale, bagno turco e zona fitness. Nestled among the rolling hills of Tuscany, Relais La Suvera offers you award winning service and a luxury experience in an extraordinary historical residence, a 30 minutes drive from Siena.The 36 rooms & suites are located in 3 different buildings, the Papal Villa, the Ancient Stables and the Farmhouse and are decorated with antique furnishings, combining history with all the modern comforts. For the comfort of Relais La Suvera’s guests the swimming pool is kept at a constant temperature of 25°C (77°F) and the Spa offers an array of massages and treatments, steam bath, fitness area and a Jacuzzi in the medieval cistern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais La Suvera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Suvera Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Hotel Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Italy/Pievescola, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing