We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Tuscany”
Review of Relais La Suvera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais La Suvera
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is charming, with the amazing services and friendly staff. Enjoy their pool and jacuzzi, especially spa is one of the best I have seen. Rooms are quiet and originally designed, restaurant serves delicious food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 328 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

The facilities and the setting of La Suvera are indeed as good as they look in the pictures: a "back-in-time" experience in a castle-like residence in the heart of Tuscany. This "back in time" experience however does unfortunately not only apply to the facility, but for everything that stands behind it as well:

1) Maintenance being overdue in some parts of the facility and rooms (e.g. our balcony was not accessible / usable due to a broken door). Also the rest of the room is somehow intented to be old-style, but really that old-style?

2) Quality of staff not meeting five-star-standards. As per the hotel, they were understaffed on the day of our visit and thus could not deliver everything as planned. Example: The pool should have been opened at 09.00, however when we arrived at 10.00, everything was still extremely dirty from the winds of the previous night and the matresses were not put-up. As per the staff it is just "not the time to be at the pool....". Is staff deciding what I should do??? The pool was somehow ready by 11.15 (water itself remained dirty).

3) Staff hardly consiting of locals. When visiting a real Tuscan-place, I somehow expect an Italian touch of that place, even if I do not speak Italian. This atmosphere was not created by the hotel as mainly foreign staff is employed.

4) Upon arrival we had to wait 10 minutes for the first words of the receptionist: "Arrival?". Until that moment another guest was advised on some extra information.

5) Internet being very unstable and slow. This problem is however known to the hotel.

All in all, it was a very disappointing experience and we can not understand the high ratings of this hotel. In total, we visited five hotels during our two-weeks vacation in Italy and although La Suvera was by far the most expensive one, it was at the same time by far the worst. In our eyes.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisLaSuvera, Proprietario at Relais La Suvera, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dearest Guest,

We would like to send our sincere apologies for what appears as a lack of service and a lack of care during your very brief stay at Relais La Suvera. For what concerns the mosquito net not opening well in your room, we immediately called maintenance to fix it and offered you a room change. We are again very sorry for the inconvenience.
Your complaints have been felt and heard by all the staff and once again we can only apologize and hope that someday you will return to our hotel for a longer stay so that you may have the opportunity to enjoy what all of our guests normally praise to the fullest: a unique, tranquil and exclusive relaxing experience. Concerning our staff, we prize ourselves in offering a multi-lingual group of employees that engaged in satisfying your every need with a sincere and warm smile. .
Once again we are extremely displeased that your brief stay was not perfect, and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to turn your not so perfect first memory and impression into a wonderful future experience.
Kind regards,

Elena Ricci
Partner
Relais La Suvera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Staying at La Suvera was just a perfect choice to our general lifestyle. We always feel not to be the child of the 21st century ( although we enjoy some comfortable parts of it...) We love walls full of history and endless time, old furnitures and objects, hardly closing doors, enormous bathrooms and beds.We enjoy the invisible but perfect service when you don't feel you are surrounded by servants but by friendly people who want to make your time easier and atmost comfortable. La Suvera was exactly this place. We have visited many many countries and properties throughout the world but La Suvera is for sure among for first 3 of all. Dining is a very special experiance as everything was prepared to our demands all the spceial requests were fulfilled. It is important to mention Paola and Emmanuela who made our 10 days even more special and happier there. La Suvera is a must to see... Thank you all! István and László

Room Tip: Suite della Volpe has the most beautiful view of all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IstvanLaszlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This year marks the third visit for us and this hotel offers us the perfect Tuscan getaway with pure countryside charm and class. If you are looking for tranquility, beauty, first rate service in a comfortable, relaxing, private setting this property delivers. From the excellent staff and service to the friendly welcoming you will receive from the proprietors one can step back in time during the day and dine elegantly in the evening. You will not be disappointed and find yourself planning your return before checkout.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountessaPievescola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

La Suvera has everything. It is an incredible building, with perfectly kept grounds and a commanding view out over the Tuscan countryside. The rooms are individually styled, ours made us feel like a 17th century monarch, it was so beautifully put together. The pool area is one of the nicest we have ever spent time in, and there is a hard-to-find hot bath in an ancient well under the main building, a really magical place.

The staff are friendly and welcoming, full of recommendations for Tuscan activities, not that you'll want to leave the grounds of La Suvera much! It's worth adding that the location is perfect for exploring the best Tuscany has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jomati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Staying here again, revisiting after a 3 year gap, La Suvera still the magical experience it was in 2009. Affording peace, tranquility, charm, and history, and being looked after by a very efficient and charming staff, made our week memorable. Our period room full of beautiful furniture and art a contrast to our previous stay in a farmhouse room. A basket of fresh fruit and bottle of wine in the room were very welcoming. We look forward to returning before too long to enjoy the wonderful feeling 'time does not matter' which La Suvera provides.We would not wish to visit Tuscany without staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnandAnneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel has some of the best service we've ever experienced. A nice welcome basket with fresh fruit and wine was a classy touch. The staff was warm and friendly. They provided great local knowledge of winerys, resturants and local sights. Each room provides a unique look and feel. We stayed in the Eleanor room. My wife loved the chandler in the room with the pink colored crystals and the canopy bed. The hotel grounds were exactly what you'd expect from the Italian country side. One thing that really stood out was the great service and dinning offered at the hotel restaurant. The chef even came out and had a chat with us about our dinner. The best locally sourced meats, seafood and produce. Simply delicious! We'd recommend Relais La Suvera to all.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the main castle on a higher floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pievescola
2.9 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
11.7 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
356 reviews
21.3 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
372 reviews
18 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Suvera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Suvera

Address: Via Capannina della Suvera 70, 53031 Pievescola, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pievescola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pievescola
Price Range: $336 - $734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais La Suvera 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato tra le dolci colline della Toscana, il Relais La Suvera offre un servizio di primissima qualità e un'esperienza unica in una straordinaria dimora storica a soli 30 minuti da Siena. Le 36 camere sono arredate con mobili d’epoca, garantendo al contempo i più moderni comfort e si trovano in tre diversi edifici, la Villa Papale, le Scuderie e la Fattoria, circondati da bellissimi giardini storici.Per il comfort dei suoi ospiti il Relais La Suvera mette a disposizione la piscina riscaldata con acqua mantenuta a temperatura costante di 25°C e la Spa con vasca idromassaggio ricavata da un'antica cisterna medioevale, bagno turco e zona fitness. Nestled among the rolling hills of Tuscany, Relais La Suvera offers you award winning service and a luxury experience in an extraordinary historical residence, a 30 minutes drive from Siena.The 36 rooms & suites are located in 3 different buildings, the Papal Villa, the Ancient Stables and the Farmhouse and are decorated with antique furnishings, combining history with all the modern comforts. For the comfort of Relais La Suvera’s guests the swimming pool is kept at a constant temperature of 25°C (77°F) and the Spa offers an array of massages and treatments, steam bath, fitness area and a Jacuzzi in the medieval cistern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais La Suvera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Suvera Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Hotel Pievescola
Relais La Suvera Italy/Pievescola, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing