We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“16 Motu-au-Close Top of the Line Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kepler Mountain View
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed four nights in February and arrived to a beautiful, new, well-appointed house a short walk from Lake Manapouri. This two bedroom, 1 ½ bathroom private house is located in a residential neighbourhood and has all the amenities one could ask for. Includes washing machine in the laundry room and dryer in the garage as well as an excellent barbecue. Jesse and Ray have gone out of their way to accommodate their guests including reading material, DVD’s, and games. This is an ideal location to access all that Fiordland has to offer—Te Anau, Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, Kepler Track etc. Spotless and attractive. You will need a mobile phone as there is no land line. The only detraction from a panoramic view of the mountains is a privacy fence. The upside is the privacy it offers! Excellent value.

Room Tip: If you decide on a cruise on Milford Sound ask for the stop at the Discovery Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navyman356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 42 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kepler Mountain View for 1 night as a stop off between Milford Sound and Queenstown.

Upon arrival we found our room to be very spacious and comfortable. The shared bathroom was very luxurious with a massive bath, heated lights and gorgeous shower gels, shampoos and soaps etc. The separate shower cubicle was big enough for two and the shower itself was very powerful.

We spent the evening watching the sun go down. The 360 degree views were just breathtaking. Even though the property is on the roadside we only heard one or two cars pass by. At night the room was dark, very peaceful and the bed was amazingly comfortable. I struggled to get up in the morning as it was so warm and comfy. However, when my husband drew the curtains to reveal the beautiful surronds I reminded myself of where I was and quickly got up to enjoy a lovely breakfast in the very modern and plush breakfast room.

All in all the property itself was very well looked after, modern, plush and very comfortable. The host was very friendly, helpful and laid back. The breakfast was very enjoyable particuarly given the views over the surronding countryside.

I would reccomend this B&B with a 5* rating! Excellent!

Room Tip: Both rooms have an outdoor seating area which was an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We chose Jessie's cottage for a rest after a busy few days hiking the Milford and exploring Doubtful Sound, and weren't disappointed. The ammenities were great, even down to fresh ground coffee. We like cooking, so after equipping ourselves with fresh venison (the butcher by the school in Te Anau) and fresh lobster (just a bit further along the road in Te Anau), we had a couple of memorable evening meals with the sun setting over the mountains. There is a resident cat and if you are a bit averse to moggies then you might be put off.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We chose Kepler Mountain View for its proximity to the Doubtful Sound cruise departure point. It was literally a 2 minute drive. The house is absolutely beautiful - it looks like a show home. The guest rooms are the smallest we've stayed in so far during our tour of NZ, but adequate. Huge bathroom, but shared with the other guest room (however was not a problem at all during our stay).
Continental breakfast was lovely, especially the croissants, but would have been nice to have the option of a cooked breakfast. 50mb of free internet was handy, but goes very quickly!
The alpaca pets are very cute!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneMonkeyNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at No. 18 Motu-Au Close. The location of this cottage is superb. It is walking distance to the launch point of the Doubtful Sound Cruises, so unlike the folks coming in from Queenstown (a 2+ hrs drive on coach bus) or even elsewhere in Te Anau or Manapouri, you can pretty much take your time, sleep in and head to the cruise (this was also our reason for booking here). It is also right near the beautiful lake where you can take walks or just go and enjoy the view.

Ours was a 3 BR cottage, even though there were just me and my husband. The $200 NZ per night rate is a bargain if you have a group staying here. Cottage is newly renovated, and interior decor and modern and tasteful. We've been traveling in NZ for 2 weeks now and this one has the best stocked kitchen: the only one with paper towels, variety condiments for cooking, really good quality kitchen and cook ware, teas and coffee (both instant and beans with grinder). It's more than most people's own home. Washer & Dryer (dryer is in garage). Great shower water pressure plus tub if you want to bathe. Love the powerful hair dryer. Bed was comfortable. A lot of attention to details in making guests feel very comfortable. Cottage also has books, some DVDs, and board games for entertainment. Unit is very clean but is not necessarily serviced daily, so talk to Jessie to make proper arrangements you need.

The cottage is obviously new money investment. The houses surrounding the cottage is not much to look at, but when sitting in the living room sofa you can get a panoramic view of the mountain sunset.

As mentioned in previous review, the owners are absentee, which is not necessarily a bad thing if you want privacy and independence. Jessie was out of town the day we checked in and just told us how to get the key and let ourselves in. We already been in Te Anau for 2 days before that and it was just fine with us to be left alone. Their B&B is about 5 minutes away and we stopped by the next day to say hi. She is super nice. She has pet farm animals and 4 very cute & funny looking alpacas and an adorable cat named Tiger. All in all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank probativev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed here last min without planning anything and were lucky enough to get the cottage part of this place. It had everything we needed (including a laundry machine - YEAH!! this proved to be very useful for the rest of the trip getting a load done). The area is very tidy and well kept. Comfortable bed. Nice shower, with seemingly endless hot water!

The views from here are great and if we had had more time would have been lovely to enjoy them outside in the garden (sadly the weather ruined this a bit).

Would recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbieTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We chose Kepler Mountain View B&B from reading the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious and very clean, and patio doors onto the deck was a bonus. Beautiful home with stunning views. The owners were very friendly and helpful during our stay. We were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiordland National Park
10.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
10.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
505 reviews
10.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 22 in Te Anau
271 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kepler Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kepler Mountain View

Address: 130 Hillside Manapouri Road | Lake Manapouri, Fiordland National Park 9643, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Fiordland National Park
Price Range: $105 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kepler Mountain View Cottage is a one bedroomed self contained cottage located on a rural property on the outskirts of Lake Manapouri on the edge of Fiordland National Park. Stunning mountain views of Fiordland National Park from every aspect of the cottage indoors and in the outdoor BBQ area. Located for easy access to Doubtful Sound departure point and for commencing the journey to Milford Sound or just hang out and enjoy the scenery and rural aspect. The little farm has friendly Alpacas which are only too happy to say hello to you. Great place to chill out and relax or be as busy enjoying the many activities in Fiordland such as hiking, kayaking, fishing, sight seeing, horse back riding ... The list goes on. Come and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kepler Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing