We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Queen’s Bush Pub

Queen’s Bush Pub
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My first two choices for dinner were closed on a midweek spring night, so I settled for the Queen's Bush. The server was friendly, and the free wifi was appreciated. The menu specifically says that everything is made from scratch, but unfortunately, that's not the case. I couldn't get information on the ingredients / base for the two daily soups (because they aren't made in house). I had a veggie wrap, which was quite good, with a side of guacamole - which was definitely NOT freshly made, and was quite disappointing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheekywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stopped in for lunch and were pleasantly surprised. While it was described to us as a roadhouse, and it may very well be, the atmosphere and service were anything but. The staff was very attentive and answered all of our questions with a smile. The food was served in a timely manner without us feeling rushed. Portions were adequate without leaving one feeling stuffed and in need of a nap. And, the food was very good. If we pass through Hanover again, this will be our place to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good pub fare”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I've eaten at the Queen's Bush on several different trips to Hanover. The food is well prepared and served in a timely fashion, by friendly servers. Great spot!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not really fantastic”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The waitress was very nice, but what I ordered was definitely disappointing - there was a special of half Anjihito wrap (or similar name - it's a kind of chili) with soup for 13$, but in the menu, just the wrap itself was 6 or 7 dollars, under 'wraps'. So I just got the wrap itself.

unfortunately, it was basically spicey cream cheese spread on a wrap and rolled up.
not a LUNCH!!! Maybe appetizer - worthy, but you feel like you just ate a blob of butter for lunch. gross. So it is 'grilled' - who cares? there's nothing in it.

And no fries. why no fries? they're pretty standard at a pub.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank allicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful bar diner on main street”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I love the warm inviting feeling of this Canadian bar & diner.
The inside area is very comfortable with the usual Canadian paraphernalia decking the walls.
Outside there is a paved area with plenty of comfortable chairs around the tables.
You're right on the main street and as a lover of American muscle cars, I loved supping a cold beer while the cars rumbled up the strip on the summer evenings.
Being right on the intersection with traffic lights made it all the better.

The food is great, typical Canadian menu, and the waitresses are efficient and very polite.

All in all a great place to sit and relax, enjoy great ambiance, good food and beer.
I'll be back as soon as I can.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen’s Bush Pub also viewed

Hanover, Grey County
Hanover, Grey County
 
Hanover, Grey County
 

Been to Queen’s Bush Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing