We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chow's Garden

Chow's Garden
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Hanover
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Always fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have eaten at Chow's several times and we have found the food to be consistently fresh and tasty. We often order the "dinner for two" which is more than enough food for two of us. Portions are quite generous. Won Ton soup is delicious. Egg rolls are great. They offer take out which is quite handy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 114Rainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent szechuan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by the motel clerk where we stayed (The Travellers Inn). Glad we took her suggestion. The food was excellent, especially the Hot & Sour Soup, the best I have had in a long time. They also gave you a generous serving. Their Spring Rolls were delicious. We ordered white steamed rice, Hunan Style Chicken(spicy) and their Special Cantonese Chow Mein with noodles. Both dishes were delicious and again very goods portions. At first we didn't think we could eat it all but it was so good, we did. The service was very good. There was 1 waitress and she also took care of the cash register and take-out, Although there were 14 people in the restaurants nobody was kept waiting, she was extraordinary well organized. Even had time to give every table a jug of water. You don't see that too often. Usually you have to ask. Great restaurant, good location and extremely good food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MitsyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Pros: Great Food awesome taste. Best Egg rolls in the Area. Have eaten at this restaurant since 1977 when the parents owned it, now the son and his wife run it. have never had a bad eating experience there. Wish they still had the Buffet
Cons: $1.95 for a can of pop is a bit much

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Forest, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A seafood delight with perfect veggies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

To start,on a chilly spring evening, the won ton soup hit the spot..not too thin,with good flavours. Our entree was vegetable chow mien with the sea food delight. Lots of shrimp and scallops together with crab. Nothing to take home, because we cleaned our plates! The vegetables were to perfection...a tad crispy and very tasty. Perhaps more bok choy would have made them a ten!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lojlomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The food here is always fresh and flavourful! As good as any I have eaten in China. I have gotten both take out and eat in and both were equally hot and delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TessSeim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow's Garden also viewed

Hanover, Grey County
Hanover, Grey County
 

Been to Chow's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing